Can You Trust Online Reviews?

Updated on June 4, 2018
Rupert Taylor profile image

I've spent half a century writing for radio and print—mostly print. I hope to be still tapping the keys as I take my last breath.

It was going to be your great weekend getaway; stay in a nice hotel and have a romantic dinner with your sweetie. You checked recommendations on the Internet before making your choices. But the restaurant that got the rave reviews served up a plate of inedible swill with a side order of food poisoning. And, the “cozy boutique hotel with the fantastic staff” was right next to the railroad tracks and sent you home with bed bugs in your luggage. What went wrong?

Source

The Fake Review Industry

Some unscrupulous businesses game the system by organizing fake reviews.

In February 2012, Brad Tuttle wrote for Time Magazine that “Online reviews are so important that businesses have been known to plant reviews by employees, pay strangers who have never been customers to write five-star reviews, and even sabotage their competitors by the posting of harsh, negative reviews.”

Driving customers to a store, hotel, restaurant, or whatever through the Internet has given rise to a whole new industry called reputation management. Some of its practitioners are ethical; a lot are not.

At a website called fiverr.com people offer to write glowing reports on whatever a business is selling for five bucks. Freelancer.com offers a similar service where people, probably desperate for a writing gig, are happy to churn out bright, shiny testimonials for anything from old folk’s homes to barber shops.

SearchManipulator is software that its developer promises any negative comment “will not just be suppressed, it will be off of Google, Yahoo, and Bing completely, never to be found again. We know our industry is shady and you may be skeptical, so you only pay once we are successful.” That’s kind of a damning admission.

And Guaranteed Removals promises “We will permanently remove content affecting your reputation, guaranteed.”

Cornell University’s Jeff Hancock studies online language and behaviour. He told the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation “I think it’s really amazing how easy it is to purchase deception now on the Internet. You can get fake likes, you can get fake comments, fake reviews, fake everything.”

The Freebie to Induce Good Coverage

“No charge. We’d just like you to write an objective review. Nudge, nudge. Wink, wink.”

One way to encourage a favourable report is to provide the reviewer with a free item. Who is going to trash a restaurant when their Chateaubriand and bottle of Nuits-Saint-Georges has been comped? Actually, a stellar judgement could probably be had for the price of a complimentary appetizer.

A company called VIP Deals was selling black leather cases for Kindle e-readers. It was also offering to rebate the cost of the product if people wrote reviews of it on Amazon, and spelled this out in a letter. Well, what do you know? As The New York Times reported “310 out of 335 … were five stars and nearly all the rest were four stars.”

Once tipped off to the scam by the newspaper, Amazon took down the VIP Deals product page. But, while it was getting lustrous ratings for its e-reader case VIP Deals was massively outselling its competitors. Don’t think other retailers didn’t notice that.

Amazon has since cracked down on the “incentivized reviews.” This has had the effect of driving the trade underground. Chat rooms and Facebook pages are places where people can find offers of free products in exchange for positive reviews.

Source

Protecting Online Review Honesty

Companies that run review sites have a vested interest in removing false endorsements.

Obviously, the integrity of a website’s reviews is important to its continued existence. According to Time’s Brad Tuttle, “Yelp actually has a reputation for aggressively filtering out all sorts of suspicious reviews.” It uses sophisticated algorithms to purge the phony recommendations among the more than 155 million that had been submitted by spring 2018 since its launch in 2004. The site gets 145 million unique visitors a month so its reach is huge.

In May 2011, David Segal wrote about how Yelp had deleted 22 reviews of a Sherman Oaks, California dental clinic as bogus. Digging further, Segal found the dentists had hired a company to improve its public reputation. As part of its remit Softline Solutions posted this breathless five-star comment on Yelp: “I was in need of teeth whitening and my friend referred me to Southland Dental … Pain or no pain, it was very much worth it. I can’t stop staring at my bright smile in the mirror.”

According to the BBC, “Yelp … says a quarter of the reviews it receives could be fake, as businesses increasingly attempt to skew consumers’ opinions.”

But, it seems you can’t even trust the integrity of some of the review sites, let alone the reviews that appear on them. The Telegraph in the U.K. reported on an investigation that found that “some review websites were hiding negative reviews because they had commercial arrangements with the companies facing criticism.”

Source

Fighting Back for Consumers

Authorities are starting to crack down on review scammers.

In March 2011, the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC) clamped down on Legacy Learning Systems of Nashville, Tennessee. The FTC said the “company selling a popular series of guitar-lesson DVDs will pay $250,000 to settle Federal Trade Commission charges that it deceptively advertised its products through online affiliate marketers who falsely posed as ordinary consumers or independent reviewers.”

In September 2013, a New York state attorney general’s office sting netted 19 companies that were monkeying around with the review system. Agence France-Press noted that “officials created a fake yogurt shop in Brooklyn and sought help in marketing from so-called ‘search engine optimization’ firms that work to boost a company’s online presence.”

They found businesses that were happy to supply the needed Web puffery by hiring “writers” from the Philippines, Bangladesh, and Eastern Europe. A typical company offering the service advertised online: “Hello … We need someone to post 1-2 reviews daily on sites like: Yelp, Google reviews, Citysearch, and any other similar sites. We will supply the text/review … We are offering $1.00 for every post.”

The 19 outfits scooped up in the undercover operation agreed to pay fines totalling $350,000 to settle the charges.

Between the start of 2015 and October 2016, Amazon filed lawsuits against at 1,000 people; some were sellers of fake reviews and some were buyers. But, it’s a real cat and mouse game. To smoke out the tricksters some sites have resorted to going undercover. They set up a fake business and go looking for the rascals offering sham reviews; they are not hard to find.

How to Spot the Frauds

Consumerist has a list of things to look for in a review that make it suspicious.

The online consumer advocacy group asked readers for tips on how to “ferret out the shills, sockpuppets, and charlatans when cruising online reviews of products and services.”

Overly effusive praise and the use of “marketing speak” are giveaways.

The use of the same or similar wording in multiple reports usually signals bogus opinions.

Reviewers who repeat the name and model of a product frequently are probably trying to trick a search engine into a higher ranking.

“They give a discount code or tell you where to go to buy the product.”

There are many more ways to spot the phonies.

And, an academic paper published in May 2013 (Deceptive Reviews: The Influential Tail) identifies linguistic clues to trickery: “deceptive messages tend to be longer. They are also more likely to contain details unrelated to the product (‘I also remember when everything was made in America’) and these details often mention the reviewer’s family (‘My dad used to take me when we were young to the original store down the hill’). Other indicators of deception include the use of shorter words and multiple exclamation points.”

Gut reaction is often a good guide. After four or more decades on this planet people develop a nose for horsefeathers. If you haven’t reached that state of maturity yet, seek out someone who has.

Source

Bonus Factoids

The U.K.’s Competition and Markets Authority estimates that online reviews have an influence on buying decisions valued at £23 billion a year in that country alone.

According to the BBC (April 2018) “Some U.S. analysts estimate as many as half of the reviews for certain products posted on international websites such as Amazon are potentially unreliable.”

  • “9 Reasons Why You Shouldn’t Trust Online Reviews.” Brad Tuttle, Time Magazine, February 3, 2012.
  • “Fake Online Reviews: 4 Ways Companies Can Deceive you.” Megan Griffith-Greene, CBC News, November 6, 2014.
  • “A Rave, a Pan, or Just a Fake?” David Segal, New York Times, May 21, 2011.
  • “For $2 a Star, an Online Retailer Gets 5-Star Product Reviews.” David Streitfield, New York Times, January 26, 2012.
  • VIP Deals letter.
  • “Yelp Admits a Quarter of Submitted Reviews Could Be Fake.” BBC News, September 27, 2013.
  • “Shoppers ‘Duped’ By Millions of Fake Online Reviews.” Dan Hyde, The Telegraph, June 19, 2015.
  • “Firm to Pay FTC $250,000 to Settle Charges That It Used Misleading Online ‘Consumer’ and ‘Independent’ Reviews.” Federal Trade Commission, March 15, 2011.
  • “Fake Online Reviews Get Reality Check.” Agence France-Press, September 29, 2013.
  • “30 Ways You Can Spot Fake Online Reviews.” Ben Popken, Consumerist, April 14, 2010.
  • “Deceptive Reviews: The Influential Tail.” Eric Anderson (Northwestern University),
  • Duncan Simester (MIT), May 2013.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Miebakagh57 profile image

        Miebakagh Fiberesima 2 weeks ago from Port Harcourt, Rivers State, NIGERIA.

        @Dredcuan & Mother of Movies and Series Review, thanks for all your feedbacks. The online world is parallel to the offline. You get swindler in both. However, the essence of Rupert's hub is for visitors shopping online to be careful.

        In the real world, we see, felt and observe products before buying, right? Photos and words online do mislead. Scammers are everywhere. Care is the need.

        Thank you all.

      • dredcuan profile image

        Dred Cuan 2 weeks ago from California

        There are some websites who pay somebody just to give positive reviews about their products or services. However, there are also websites who already established their credibility when it comes to online reviews.

        One great example is Tripadvisor, a popular travel website intended for reviews. For me, I could say that they can be trusted since members are from different places all over the world. Most of them really travel. I think that made them credible because their reviews were produced not only by few people, but millions of people all throughout the globe.

        On the other hand, I'm a bit more hesitant with the product reviews. Since reviews can be done by using different dummy accounts. On the part of the buyer or consumer, it is better to visit different websites before making a decision to buy a particular product or service.

      • Miebakagh57 profile image

        Miebakagh Fiberesima 2 weeks ago from Port Harcourt, Rivers State, NIGERIA.

        Hi Rupert,

        Thanks. It is very interesting to realize that all online reviews are not real. I remember once I was at Fiverr, but I do not pay attention to ad relating to a product I want. I just press the back button.

        I think many of your readers will now be much aware of this misleading reviews.

        Happy hubbing!

      • NessMovieReviews profile image

        Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 2 weeks ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

        Absolutely not Rupert. Not bleating at all. I’m just over 40 and it applies to many things now. Signed my first born’s school enrolment yesterday and had to point out how complicated it was in a world online. It wasn’t applicable to worry whether he may have a photo put online that could result in bullying put there by my permissions (which I decided not to do) We didn’t have such things when I was at school. Can you trust people to do the right thing? Nope.

        I read online reviews ALOT to gauge things but with a skeptic eye. I know too many ppl who’ve been had by unscrupulous ratings. The things people will do for a $1 per 250 words is astounding. I prefer to keep my morals in tact.

      • Rupert Taylor profile image
        Author

        Rupert Taylor 2 weeks ago from Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

        Thanks Mother of Movies. It all goes to the erosion of trust, or is that just the bleating of an old fart who looks back on a past that wasn't that different?

      • NessMovieReviews profile image

        Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 2 weeks ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

        Great hub Rupert! This is on my radar all the time. I recently joined sites called UpWorks and Freelancer to try and get a bit of pocket money in my spare time. I was astounded to see the ads on there wanting writers for either positive or negative reviews and comments.

        I found it quite disparaging. I find that I write heaps of reviews myself on products and services with counteracting these people in the back of my mind.

        They aren’t doing anyone any favours — you can spot most a mile away. I especially hate reviews from people who are “looking forward to using the product” extremely helpful (not)

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)