Doba Review After a Full Year of Use

Looking for a Comprehensive Doba Review?

I work for an internet retailer that uses Doba to add to their available products. I am in charge of all sales that use it. I have been working with this company for about a year now. Over the course of one year, I have processed over 300 orders involving this product. This is my experience with them, you can decide for yourself if your $50 is worth it for you and your company.


Even though there are a lot of products (over 2 million claimed) at great prices, most of them have a drop ship and shipping fee. Here are two real examples:

1. Let's Tackle the ABCs (a toy for kids.):
Doba price: $35.01
Shipping: $9.58
Drop ship fee: $0
Total: $44.59

Amazon price shipped: $40.77

2. Garmin 205w Navigation
Doba price: $120.23
Shipping: $8.16
Drop ship fee: $0
Total: $128.39

Amazon price shipped: $91.98

These are just two random items that I pulled out from their front page featuring items. I have also searched almost every working day to find cheaper items. While there are some that are cheaper than Amazon, there are also some that aren't available. However most of the ones that are cheaper are only cheaper by minuscule amounts.

Here is one we have sold on our site:
Timex Ironman T5J721
Doba price: $27.09
Shipping: $0
Drop ship fee: $0
Total: $27.09

Amazon: $29.99
Your profit: $2.90

Keep in mind, this is only if you can sell it for $29.99. Most retailers try to beat that price which lowers the profits a bit. Please don't forget that you have to pay your credit card processor, which can cost anywhere from 50¢ up to even $1.75 depending on who you use.

You'd have to sell 20 or 30 of them to make up the monthly fee.


Shipping Time:

Most items ship out somewhere between 2-5 days, in which your customer will receive the product at the door in in 5-15 days, depending on where they live. This will vary greatly. For example, I have had two different orders take up two weeks to ship out!

Another note: I'm also going to add that magazine subscriptions take up three months!

Shipping Accuracy and the Internal Customer Service:

Of the 300+ orders I've processed, more than 30 of them have had problems, in which I had to contact Doba for help with the issue. The issues can include delayed shipment, wrong items, broken items, etc. Here is an example of the process of the order:

A customer ordered an ice cream maker for the site. The profit on this item was approximately $2 for us—we sold three that week. The customer received the item in seven business days (a week and a half,) then contacted us, saying item was broken. We attempted to request a new item sent to customer via website. Website says: "This supplier does not accept returns or refunds."

We then contact Doba immediately using their chat system for them to ship out a new order. The operator tells us that she placed a request for us and that they will contact us back in 1-3 business days to give us instructions. We relay this information to the customer. Then, we don't hear from Doba after a whole week (meaning there's been no contact between us and the customer, either.) The customer complains, naturally.

We contact Doba again. The same operator says she'll look into the issue. We relay this information back to the customer. We eventually had to order the item again from Doba to make sure the customer got the ice cream maker. He gets it a week and a half later. At this point, it had been two and a half weeks with no initial instructions from Doba. I contact them again via chat to request my money back . . . and they don't contact me for three months!

Finally, however, they credited me the refund.

This is only one example of 30 that have come with similar issues, I accurately document each one of them. There are many more where I haven't even gotten my money back and I presume Doba thinks I've forgotten about them. There are no similar transactions involving refunds that have actually gone smoothly.

Return Policy

Not all of their suppliers take returns. The ones that do charge a restocking fee that can take up to 20%. I have had one successful return. But the steps required to return are long:

  1. Request a return.
  2. Wait 1-3 business days for the return number and instructions.
  3. Then, you have to send that to the customer.
  4. The customer will have to send you a tracking number. If they don't, you don't get your refund.
  5. Once Doba receives the item, they will process it and credit your money.

This successful process took a total of two weeks.

In Conclusion

My company uses Doba and I'm sure they're not making any money off of it. Especially after paying the $50 monthly fee and for an employee (me) to manage the account and put out the fires.

If you Google this, you may find that many people who say that Doba is the only good source for drop shipping. However, bear in mind that they may be part of a referral program where they are given $20 for each person who signs up. You should ask them directly if they even use it.

Please leave any comments.

Comments 38 comments

ruperi profile image

ruperi 6 years ago from India

We are doing same business with Doba, and facing lot of problem. As whatever we download inventory there are 33% items are stock '0'. Suppler don't update inventory, even Doba also not update inventory, when you purchase any item on doba it will show same quantity till supplier don't update from his end. 20% products are discontinued and out of stock. 50% don't have UPC. there are lot of duplicate UPC. More than 30% which are less than 2 quantity. How to list doba items in bulk we don't understand?

Tony 4 years ago

I'm glad to see an honest review on Doba.

Jakk 2 years ago

I have researched this company over the past 5 years and they have never seen anything different from what this article claims. I cannot believe they are still in business and that people fall for their crap! Wow...

Max Pow 2 years ago

This was so helpful.. I research, well "google" everything before I try it out. Thanks a lot this was very informative.

Garcello 2 years ago

Thanks for the review man.

Amir 2 years ago

Great review well written. It is amazing how they are still working.

JacketHut 2 years ago

We have a great product that we drop ship check us out

vic 2 years ago

Thank you, I was about to register with them but decided to do some digging first. I'm glad I did. Doba just lost 1 potential customer

thank you

Eileen 2 years ago

I was going to sign up with Doba as well. Glad I read this article. Does anyone have a company that they drop ship with that they can recommend?

Kim O’Bryant 2 years ago

I just signed up with Albany Distributing after trying out doba which is nothing but a HUGE scam. Prices off the bat are great, but waiting almost 8 minutes on hold to get instructions for accessing the data feed wasn’t too appealing but otherwise I am happy. No drop ship fee or handling helps tremendously especially when most of my sales are on ebay. I’ll report back on these guys as I start placing orders.

Greg Peterson 2 years ago

I too signed up with Doba. They would not offer me a refund unless I use their program for an entire year and make at least one purchase a month, and that's impossible to do with the prices they are charging. I called my credit card company and disputted them and got nearly $2000 back. Shortly after I found Albany Distributing and been using them since. I don't have a single complaint about them. Great services and prices. A++++++++

Almost tried 2 years ago

Thanks for saving me !

Paul 2 years ago

Excellent review! Thank you so much.

Vit Alog 2 years ago

please advise good dropship company / not china

Myron 2 years ago

THANKS GUYS! no Doba for me. Wheww.....I will research Albany Distributing now.

Saeed 2 years ago

Than you, Excellent Review, I just signed up for their service but after signup somebody from doba called me and offered me to switch to annual payment for 399$ and I refused his offer and the guy was pissed off why I am not accepting their offer !!!

Happy to see this review. and going to cancel my trial membership

reviewraters profile image

reviewraters 2 years ago

I love the fact that you shared your experience with Doba. Like you, I joined Doba looking to start an online business that requires little to no start up cost.

When I joined Doba, I was amazed by the amount of products that they had. There is tons of products that have a high profit margin, but there is also products that are not worth drop shipping at all.

I guess it is a research game that requires a ton of patience. Here is one more Doba review that I read before joining them:

Mads 2 years ago

Thanks for an honest review. Rarity these days...!

disappointed_guy 2 years ago

Doba's prices are about as high as (sometimes higher than) retail! Signed up for a month and found it impossible to sell anything on Ebay, let alone my personal business site. The prices are just too high to compete. And they do not refund membership fees. So you have to join in order to view the millions of products and then your fee cannot be refunded. No wonder they charge membership fees. It's probably the only way that company can make money. Their ads say "lowest price GUARANTEED", yet i don't think anyone from that company understands what the term "guarantee" means. They have the HIGHEST prices, the exact opposite of lowest and so their ads are false. Horrible source for a supplier.

Health Reports profile image

Health Reports 2 years ago from North America

Thanks for your review. I saw an ad for them and was curious, but also leery. No need to waste my money now. Thumbs up and useful!

Yovel Hadad 2 years ago

Thanks so much for this nice review helped me understand not bear such excellent as they say

oa 24 months ago

Thank man. Nice review

Ellen 23 months ago

I really appreciate your review. I was very interested in learning more about DOBA before signing up and I found it VERY helpful. Thanks again!

Pman 23 months ago

Thanks for the honest reviews

Zalman 23 months ago

If you are planning on trying DOBA

Sign up for a 7 day trial

when your on step 3 of creating an account, where they ask for your CC number...

Try closing the window and a popup will appear offering you a 14 day trial instead.

More time to see if it is usefull for you.

Stephen 22 months ago

I considered using Doba, then found a much better option at that teaches how to do Ebay and Amazon sales.

Chris Barmby profile image

Chris Barmby 22 months ago

Thank you so much for this review. I also checked out doba and found the prices to be higher in most cases than amazon. I personally use and the monthly cost is only a fraction of what doba charges.

reviewraters profile image

reviewraters 22 months ago

Doba is not a scam but making a profit using their drop shipping services is hard. Most of the people make a mistake by trying to sell popular products other sellers are selling on eBay and Amazon. These are highly competitive niches and its hard to make a profit like that.

What you have to do is find your unique niche and work from there. Yes, popular products sell fast but your profit margins will be extremely low. This is the main reason people call Doba a big scam.

Do your research in the beginning and you can start a profitable business.

Here is an updated Doba review:

Jen 19 months ago

Thank you for confirming my initial thoughts on Doba. I only researched for 3 hours on their site, and cancelled the trial. Doba is absolutely a joke. There is no way to make a profit. I was totally prepared to make only a few dollars, not much on any product. That's not even possible. I can purchase retail from Amazon on 50+ products I checked, for less than wholesale on Doba. How are Earth are they still in biz. Thanks for helping save me. Great article!

Johne978 19 months ago

I do consider all the ideas you've presented on your post. They're really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very brief for novices. May just you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post. daffeecadekg

Chris M 19 months ago

Thanks for this review. It backs up the experiencing I am currently having with them. I have signed up with them now for a week, and no sales yet, even though that is not saying much, but even if I made some sales, it would not be worth the time I have wasted so far. I am logging into my Doba account now and cutting my losses.

Jim T 19 months ago

100% rip off. I ran a test on several thousands items scanning for competitor pricing across major marketplaces and found maybe 4 or 5 total products that had any room for profit. I’ve tried to call twice to cancel my account and BOTH times waited for over an hour before the call was disconnected. Stay far away from Doba.

Neil 17 months ago

THIS COMPANY IS A FRAUD!! The prices on all items are almost retail and there customer service is terrible. I was on a 14 day trial and when i try to cancel it is an automated message with no option to cancel. If they do not refund my money I will be doing everything possible to inform anyone looking into doba to stay far away this fraudulent company!

Sammy 16 months ago

Looks like this was posted from over 4 years ago. Although it sounds like some of you may have been challenged having success selling products online... from your comments, it sounds like you are not very experienced. I have been using Doba now successfully for over 10 months. And, although I'm not a big box retailer, I am fairly experienced with selling on my own ecommerce site and on various online marketplaces like Amazon, Ebay, and Rakuten. You need to be smart in which products you decide to sell and which suppliers you decide to work with. Doba provides a good service to not only show you suppliers who will dropship for you, but also give you the information to know whether it is a supplier you want to work with based on the supplier's performance scorecard,which is independent performance data from Doba that suppliers don't provide you. Then their platform helps you manage all your orders from hundreds of suppliers in one place so you don't need to add staff.

reviewraters profile image

reviewraters 16 months ago

Here is an updated review of Doba:

Robb 14 months ago

^^^I'm pretty sure the "updated review" was written by a Doba employee.

will 5 months ago

thanks i was just about to sign up smh thanks guys

Carmen Burds 5 weeks ago

I was sent an email by by Doba. I had already signed with Worldwidebrands which is a clearing house for real businesses who are factory authorized dropshipper/light shipper/ and wholesalers. Doba charges a monthly fee for their services, a real factory authorized dealer usually does not charge you a monthly fee. The difference is that Doba makes their money off your monthly fees. I don't think they really care if you sell anything or not. They get their fees anyway. I canceled my trial membership the first day because I recognized that they are not a legitimate wholesaler. I never gave them a credit card number and have deleted any further communications from them. Don't waste your money on a service that acts as a middleman. They are making the buy from the wholesaler, and charging you fees and a monthly subscription.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article