Amazon Review Groups: Legal Ways to Review Free and Deeply Discounted Products

Amazon Review Groups: get free or discounted products in exchange for fair, unbiased and honest reviews.
Amazon Review Groups: get free or discounted products in exchange for fair, unbiased and honest reviews. | Source

**Update October 2016**

As of October 3, 2016, Amazon is no longer allowing reviews to be run through outside review groups and is instead requiring all reviews be run through their vine program. Many of the sites listed below are likely to transform their business models to become coupon and discount sites - but not review sites.

It's been headline news. Amazon is going after fraudulent reviewers and filing thousands of lawsuits. They are doing so to keep reviews on Amazon honest which is a good thing. This keeps people from writing and profiting from fraudulent reviews about products they have never even laid eyes on. Of course not every reviewer participates in willful fraud.

Did you know there are several places where you can sign up to receive free and deeply discounted products in exchange for an honest, detailed Amazon review? These sites are legal, free and ethical. There are many legitimate opportunities for reviewers who conduct themselves professionally. You can register for free and validate your Amazon account and off you go.

Keep in mind there are rules you MUST follow.

Mandatory Rules for Reviewing Discounted Amazon Products

The most important is that your reviews must be honest and you must state in the review that you received the product at a discount in exchange for a fair and honest review. Not doing so is against the law and will get you kicked off of these groups. It may even cost you your Amazon account. It's always a good idea to stay current with the FTC rules of endorsement.

You actually have to do the reviews. Many sellers who participate in this are just getting their businesses started. They are taking a loss to provide you a product and if you are going to take advantage of a freebie or deep discount; you owe that seller a thorough, well-thought out review. Those who take items and don't review risk losing their accounts with the review sites and that's as it should be.

Many of these programs also require or strongly encourage you to be a member of Amazon Prime. If you do not have prime, you must pay shipping for your products. It can be worth it for some bigger ticket items, but if you have Prime most items you try are shipped free!

Hint: I often opt for the "no rush shipping" option. Amazon then gives me a $1.00 free credit that I can put towards my book addiction, music and other fun things. Many times I've tried a product free and received the $1.00 credit - sweet deal. Only do this if your item doesn't have a strict time limit for placing the review.

Products I've Reviewed

A weeks worth of products I reviewed free or deeply discounted.
A weeks worth of products I reviewed free or deeply discounted. | Source

Everyone has different tastes. The image above was last weeks products I tested and reviewed. I love natural beauty products and supplements. I only take offers for products I am genuinely interested in and have experience with. This allows me to give these companies excellent, professional reviews and good advice on ways they can improve on their product. Educated consumers provide the best reviews.

I've tested various serums, shampoos, anti-aging products, lotions, conditioners, hair masks, mud facials, headbands, craft supplies, electronics and kitchen gadgets. I am looking forward this week to testing out a pair of heat resistant gloves and a self-healing cutting board mat!

So, what are you interested in?

Update (12/16/2015): The longer you do high-quality reviews, the better the items that will be offered to you. Since I wrote this; I've increased in rank on Amazon so much that I am now receiving offers for much higher-end items. Some of my latest items: a set of bamboo cutting boards, bamboo pillows, essential oil set, atomizer, grill mats, silicone baking sheets, a magnetic knife rack, a wool scarf/wrap, headbands, a yoga mat and three sets of solar Christmas/garden lights.

Amazon Review Websites - Reviewed! This one is just out of beta, but they have a wide variety of items at great prices. It takes a while to move through everything as their sort and search capabilities are still under development, but it's super easy to use and I see a lot of promise with this site.

You can search by percent off, or between price ranges making browsing the site fun. Some deals are definitely better than others here so make good use of the search functionality and set it to deliver results from "newest to oldest" for the best chance at getting selected.

Elite Deal Club: Each day they send you an email with the daily deals listed. Deals go live on the site at 10AM and 2PM Eastern. You have to be quick for a lot of them, but I have received many fantastic free and nearly free products from this site. If you love natural beauty products, supplements, essential oils and kitchen gadgets - this is a great place to get high quality products to review.

They have tightened up some rules lately in order to protect their site and its users. You must now link your account with a Facebook account to improve verification that you are an actual human and not gaming the system. Don't worry, they don't post on your wall or anything. I've been using them for awhile now and have never had a problem and love their variety of products.

Amazon Review Trader: This is far and away the most well established and diverse review site. It offers easy sign up and a LOT of variety. This site runs a bit differently. Unlike Elite Deal Club; here you have to apply to sample the products you would like to try.

You request to review the items and then wait to see if your request is accepted. If so, you will receive an email with your voucher code to use upon checkout. It is only good for 48 hours from when it's issued, and ART does not take kindly to those who apply and then don't review. You risk your account if you don't follow through with reviews - and that's as it should be.

To help increase your likelihood of getting picked; be sure to see my Amazon Review Tips below!

Snag Shout: This review site works a little differently. I like that it is set up to ensure that people are actually getting the products they choose to review and that they must complete the review before ordering another item. You are allowed so many "shouts", up to five once you have established yourself. Once you receive and review your item, the shouts you spent are replaced up to your limit.

They have a wide variety of products. You can sort by type and also price ranges which is very useful. If you ever have a problem with one of their voucher codes not working they are very quick to respond and have excellent customer service.

Amazing Deals Group: This is a much smaller site - a new up and comer. Their selection is quite small, but sometimes you find something new and exciting on there and the signup is simple. With this site, you are issued "deal coins". Purchasing an item costs you one coin, which you then earn back by having your reviews verified.

I Love to Review: Sign up for free to review. If you are approved; you will start receiving offers in your email 6 to 10 days after acceptance. This site offers some nice, higher end items, but you are not obligated to accept the offers sent to you. They are also pretty picky about who they accept, so be sure you have some great reviews on your profile already!

UberZon: This site also sends daily offers via email. Unlike Elite Deals, this site will mail out several offers per day most days. If you see something you want, you need to act quickly as there is a limited number of items and thousands of subscribers. Still, they do offer some very nice products if you can get them and their rules are less stringent than other clubs.

I like them, but they do tend to fill your email and they repeat offers a lot, and most of the time you will miss the offers unless you happen to click on right when the mail comes through. I have received a few VERY nice items here though when I happened to get lucky!

ReviewLoop: This one is by invitation only and is more exclusive. You can receive an invite from a member you know or you can fill out the form to request an invitation. You must have a strong review history and excellent profile to be considered.

All Star Reviewers: You can sign up for free and if you qualify for the deals they are offering that day they will email you an offer. They are looking for top notch reviewers.

Amazon Review Tips

So, you want to become a product reviewer in exchange for great products and opportunities? Wonderful, but don't forge ahead blindly. If you really want to get the most out of it, keep the following tips in mind.

  • Get the length right and break up your text. Sellers aren't paying for a 2 sentence review. You need to be detailed and thorough, but you also don't want to write the next great American novel either. Ideal reviews are somewhere between 100 to 500 words. (a couple of paragraphs to one page roughly)
  • Your review must have the disclaimer "I received this product at a discount in exchange for a fair and honest review, all opinions stated are my own" or something to this effect. Try to place it near the bottom of your review.
  • Your review should explain why you like or dislike the product. Feel free to compare it to similar products you've used and to share information about how it feels, how it works, how sturdy it is etc. The more descriptive you can be the better.
  • Be sincere and honest. It will be blatantly apparent if you haven't actually used the product you are supposed to be reviewing. That helps no one. Also, if a product breaks in the mail - don't give the seller a negative review. They don't control the disbursement center or post office. Instead, contact Amazon for a replacement.
  • Like video? Consider adding photographs or video to your reviews - it will make you more desirable to sellers and you may find yourself getting offers directly from merchants! I have :) and I didn't even use video, but my reviews were professional and they enjoyed them.
  • Use complete sentences and employ your spell check. If your reviews are sloppy and unprofessional; you'll be passed over for further reviews. Many reviewers use incomplete sentences or have reviews so full of spelling errors it's laughable. While I see no need to be a grammar Nazi, for the sake of professionalism; it is highly important to make your best effort. I look at this hobby as a professional service. I am exchanging a service for a product.
  • Use your public profile judiciously. Include right away that you are a member of Prime and what your hobbies, talents and interests are. This way, when you apply for items that cater to these interests, sellers can see that you are a good fit to review their product. A great profile combined with professional reviews guarantees you a better chance of being selected to review products!

How to Write an Amazon Review

This quick video takes beginners through the process of writing a review for a product on Amazon. This is a good place to start if you have not written reviews yet and need to know the basics! Remember, it takes several high quality reviews to qualify to receive discount products to review for many of the nicer review sites.

Have you participated in product review sites or groups?

  • Yes and I love it. I have received many nice things in exchange for fair and honest reviews.
  • I've picked up an item or two here or there, but find it too time consuming to keep up with a lot of products and reviews
  • I think sites like this are dishonest and encourage dishonest reviews and I will never use them
  • I have not tried this - but I sure am interested in trying!
  • I'm unsure whether this is a good idea or whether I'll try it or not.
See results without voting

© 2015 Christin Sander

More by this Author

Comments 40 comments

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 4 days ago from Midwest Author

Hence the update at the top of my article Gra - thanks for commenting.

Gra 5 days ago

I've read that with the new TOS of Amazon, they do not allow anymore to disclose in your reviews that you got the product at a discounted price in exchange for an honest review.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 3 weeks ago from Midwest Author

You're welcome STL88 - Just read over Amazon's TOS and follow them and you should be just fine :)

STL88 3 weeks ago

Thank you! I definitely don't want to be doing anything wrong.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 3 weeks ago from Midwest Author

If you are following Amazon's Terms of Service then no you are fine. You can be fined by Amazon for doing reviews that you are paid to do without actually owning the product. For example, several people were sued for listing Gigs on Fiverr where they would create fake positive Amazon reviews - that IS illegal and will get you sued and shut down. If you are following the rules and only reviewing products you actually have in your possession (photos on your reviews help with this) and you are HONEST and not doing anything against the TOS you'll be just fine. People who violate the rules do routinely get their Amazon accounts suspended, typically because they are ignorant of the rules, unprofessional, just want free stuff and break the rules.

STL88 3 weeks ago

I have a quick question. I keep getting threats from others that my Amazon account is going to get shut down or Amazon is going to sue me. I followed all the rules. My reviews are honest and I always have the disclosure on them. Should I be worried? Should I stop reviewing?

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 4 weeks ago from Midwest Author

It is my understanding that any item worth 600 or more is taxable as income, other than that, unless you are reviewing hundreds of dollars of items from the same seller, I doubt there would be income tax for it. Sales tax laws would vary by state so I would check with your state for those regulations.

FoozNinja 4 weeks ago

I started reviewing this year, and I have received hundreds of awesome things in exchange, I just fear I will get hit with something on my taxes. Anyone here been doing it for more than a year here know the answer?

Chris 5 weeks ago

Hello, nice to meet you Christin :) Recently I've tried a new review site called Dollar Review Club which has clear interface and many great products. Just complete 4,5 reviewes there and it is easy to understand and their customer service are nice to answer any questions! Suggest you can try it :)

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 5 weeks ago from Midwest Author

It doesn't work that way Alison, they do the inviting not their members :)

Alison 5 weeks ago

So do you have a invitation you'd like to share for review loop? ;)

Jessica 2 months ago

I find a good new reviewer site. maybe you can add to your list. it's not all free. but always have a highly discount.

Vivian 2 months ago

Hi Christin, this is Vivian. I really like your article and your suggestion of reviews. Can you add another new Amazon product review site to your review list? It is called ProductPilots, you can enter to try it out! I have used it for three times! Very useful~ If you need more informaiton about it, please let me know~ You can reach me at: Thank you! Hope for your reply!

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 2 months ago from Midwest Author

Thanks Joanne, if you want to share them with me I'd be happy to check them out and then review/post them.

Joanne 2 months ago

Thanks for showing us such an extensive network of reviewers. I just find out some new review sites, besides those you have listed in the blog.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 2 months ago from Midwest Author

You jump to a whole lot of conclusions about me and about people in general it would appear there Zarf who uses a fake name and taunts me like a troll. These programs do not pay reviewers to do reviews. You are required to disclose it's a review, that you got it at a discount and they follow Amazon's terms of service. Reviewers who dont' follow terms of service get their accounts wiped. Sellers who ask reviewers to do unethical things or demand high reviews also will have their sellers privleges revoked. I think you are angry about a whole lot of things you don't understand fully. You don't have to like it, but it's not in violation of Amazon's Terms of Service and is therefore legal. Do some people abuse it? probably, but MOST of us who have been at it a long time do our reviews in an ethical manner. Have a nice day and thanks for stopping by.

zarf 2 months ago

Also..i am sure my post will not make it to your page as it disagreed with you.

I dare you to post my comments.


It's a crooked practice that needs to stop.

Once again I know you wont post are scared.

zarf 2 months ago

You were BRIBED for a review and that is unethical.

YOU are ruining amazon.

When I see comments on how people got discounts or free products for their biased review I do not purchase said item or anything from that seller.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 3 months ago from Midwest Author

Ann P that's your opinion, but the groups I use and follow do indeed follow the Amazon's Terms of Service and require their reviewers to do the same. There is no law against sellers promoting their products by allowing people to test and review them so long as it is done honestly. None of these sites require a "positive" review - they require an HONEST review and you must leave full disclosure on every review that you received the item at a discount for that purpose. It is legal, it is fair and it is within Amazon's rules. Do some people break the rules? Yes, but most of us are doing it honestly and with good intentions. I've left reviews from 1 to 5 stars on item's I've received and I treat it as though I had purchased the item at full price.

Ann P 3 months ago

All of these sites require that the seller pay a fee from $30 to $2000 or more, so its not a good deal for the seller. When money changes hands, regardless of the language on the site, you are buying a review. According to what I have read on the message boards about these sites, most of them give the seller some measure of control about which reviews are allowed to be posted. Allowing the seller that kind of input - is obviously a conflict of interest. The reviews are neither fair, or honest.

David 4 months ago


Thank you for this article, have you website for Amazon seller to find reviewer ?

All website are paying ?

Kind regard

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 4 months ago from Midwest Author

Excellent Simon, thanks for that.

Simon 4 months ago

Alternatively, if you are based in the UK, try out

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 5 months ago from Midwest Author

Hi Daanish,

I am really not sure. The best bet would be to go to each site and look at their FAQ or ask them directly.



Daanish Rashid 5 months ago

Do you know which of these sites would work with For us canadians would have to pay shipping.

I know amzreviewtrader works, not sure if there's anything else?

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 6 months ago from Midwest Author

you're very welcome puter_dr glad you are getting something enjoyable from the experience. Since writing this I have really climbed in the ranks (in the top 5,000) and I have a ten year old Amazon account, so sellers often contact me directly now with very nice items to review. For those who are extremely professional and work it as such; it can be a great way to get a lot of nice products free or nearly free. Like anything, it takes time and patience to get there :) but it's a very nice sideline hobby for me now that saves me money.

puter_dr profile image

puter_dr 6 months ago from Midwest USA

Thanks, after reading your hub a few weeks ago, I started out with Amazon Review Trader. I look forward to getting a package every few days from Amazon. Some of the stuff is great, and some not, but the anticipation is there every time I open my browser and shop.

Thanks for your valuable hub.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 7 months ago from Midwest Author

I believe amazon review trader may have a canadian site as well, not positive. The best bet would be to contact the administrators of those sites and check.

Candice 7 months ago

Are there any review sites for Canada

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 7 months ago from Midwest Author

Thanks N.

I would suggest you contact each of these sites as a seller. Review Kick is a good one as is Amazon Review Trader. On those sites, reviews apply to review your products and then you can approve them or not based on the quality of their other reviews etc. I know I have seen some products for pregnant women here and there.

N Kabani 7 months ago

Christin, the information presented in your article about review groups is very helpful.

I am in the process of launching a product on Amazon that is geared towards pregnant women, and am wondering if the above groups mentioned in your article would also review pregnant women products, or you know of any other groups that may do that.

Thanks for the great information in your article, and look forward to your response.

N. Kabani

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 9 months ago from Midwest Author

Thanks Carolyn I'll have a look at them as well.

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 11 months ago from Midwest Author

You're welcome Alex, hope you get some good deals.

Planet Alex profile image

Planet Alex 11 months ago from Madrid, Spain

Very informative. I had no idea about this and am intrigued. Thank you!

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 11 months ago from Midwest Author

Thanks for the read and comment Flourish. Reviewing can be a fun and rewarding hobby for those who do it for the right reasons :)

FlourishAnyway profile image

FlourishAnyway 11 months ago from USA

Very interesting. I didn't know that there was such an extensive network of reviewers out there. It makes sense!

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 12 months ago from Midwest Author

Thank you drbj - so glad you found it useful enough to bookmark and refer back to. I hope you find some great opportunities for reviews.

drbj profile image

drbj 12 months ago from south Florida

Excellent review on reviewing, Christin. I have bookmarked it for further perusal. And I don't say that to every pretty face. :)

ChristinS profile image

ChristinS 12 months ago from Midwest Author

Thanks for reading and commenting B. Leekley. It's a good way to get some great deals on products for sure. I hope you enjoy it.

B. Leekley profile image

B. Leekley 12 months ago from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

I might give reviewing Amazon products a try.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    ChristinS profile image

    Christin Sander (ChristinS)1,262 Followers
    114 Articles

    Christin has been successfully self-employed for 16 years. Her passion is helping others hone their skills and find good opportunities.

    Click to Rate This Article