7 Steps for Handling Customer Complaints

Updated on October 4, 2017
Anthony Altorenna profile image

I enjoy writing about topics of personal interest, and I have extensive experience delivering customer service in the high tech industry.

Marx Brothers Movie Poster
Marx Brothers Movie Poster | Source

How to Deal with an Angry Customer

In today's services oriented industries, it is extremely important for employees to demonstrate a consistently high level of customer satisfaction skills. An important element of achieving this goal is the ability for every employee to handle and resolve customer complaints efficiently and effectively. Addressing client satisfaction issues and providing exemplary customer service is critical in every business environment from local restaurants and small companies to large corporations with extended call centers, customer service agents and support staff.

A customer complaint often provides an opportunity for a company to learn about deficiencies in their product, process or service delivery -- and to take steps towards improvement. Handling consumer complaints properly and effectively, either in person, on the phone or via email, often results in a happy client who will use your products or services again. A satisfied customer is also likely to share their positive experience with others.

Likewise, a dissatisfied customer is highly likely to share their negative experience with friends, colleagues and business associates. And in today's environment of social media outlets such as Facebook, Twitter and a seemingly endless variety of online forums and blogs for sharing common complaints, barrage of public criticism can quickly impact a company's image and bottom line.

Here are seven tips to help you increase your skills for improving customer service.

The Most Important Step towards Handling Customer Complaints: Listen to Your Customer!

Step 1: Allow The Customer To Speak, And Listen To Their Complaints

After asking the customer to explain the nature of their complain, do not interrupt them, which can increase their anger further and lead to additional conflict. Allowing the customer to fully describe the reasons for their dissatisfaction is key to deflating and ultimately resolving their issues.

Even if the person is irate and yelling, do not take their comments personally. Try to remember that the customer is angry at the situation -- not at you personally -- and you are there to help address their concerns and to resolve the problem.

If angry customer is not clearly describing their problem, try asking open ended questions to draw out more usable information. Asking qualifying questions can have a calming effect as the irate person begins to understand that you are truly interested in their problem -- and in trying to find a solution.

Step 2: Ask If You Can Repeat The Complaints Using Your Own Words

Asking for permission is a subtle but important step towards gaining the customer's trust in your willingness to address their concerns, and helps to ensure that they are now listening to you. Do not include their terms of frustration in your response, but summarize the list of problems including any specific details.

If you are not completely sure that you fully understand the customer's complaints, ask probing questions that invite the customer to expand the explanation of their issue. Be careful not to sound like you are challenging the customer or refuting the information that they have given you already; the goal is to gain more information so that you can better help the customer to resolve the problem.

Step 3: Speak Calmly and Clearly

When dealing with a customer over the phone, it is especially important to demonstrate your capability and professionalism, and your voice and demeanor are your best tools. Do not exhibit signs of uncertainty or nervousness. Even if the person is very irate, responding in a cool and collected manner is essential to defusing the situation.

Step 4: Look At The Situation From The Customer's Perspective

Put yourself in your customer's position, and try to empathize with their situation and their frustrations. Then, respond appropriately to their concerns. In many situations, an apology is appropriate on behalf of your company - even if you did not have any personal involvement in the issue.

Step 5: Take Responsibility For The Situation

An angry customer is looking to you for resolution to their issues, and it is important to show them that you can assist them quickly and effectively. Unless it is absolutely unavoidable, do not infuriate the client further by transferring the call to another person in a different department.

If a call must be transferred, stay on the call until the other party answers, introduce the caller and transition the situation. Do not just blindly transfer an angry caller -- if the call is forwarded to a voicemail box or gets disconnected, the customer will be even more irate when they call back.

Step 6: Take Action

Find out from the customer what they feel is an appropriate resolution to their problem. If their request is reasonable and within your area of authority, then provide a prompt solution for the customer. If the request is unreasonable, calmly explain your company's position and offer an alternative solution. In many instances, a credit, refund, or discount on a future purchase may satisfactorily resolve the issue for both parties.

If the request is reasonable but beyond your level of authority to approve, explain the approval process to the customer including the expected timeframe for a response. Be sure to gather the customer's contact information and their preferred method of communication (telephone number or email).

Step 7: Follow Up!

After reaching a resolution, follow up afterwards with the customer to ensure that the issue was resolved to their satisfaction. This small step is essential to verify that the issue is truly resolved, and often makes a huge difference in how the client feels about how their issue was addressed. This small step is worth the extra effort, and can often lead to repeat business and a loyal customer who will recommend your business to others.

Required Reading for Everyone in Customer Service

Perfect Phrases for Customer Service, Second Edition (Perfect Phrases Series)
Perfect Phrases for Customer Service, Second Edition (Perfect Phrases Series)

Master the most effective words and phrases for defusing bad situations before they get worse, satisfying customers and increasing sales while building long-term relationships with important customers.

 

Is the Customer Always Right?

See results

A Satisfied Customer Will Tell Their Friends. A Dissatisfied Client Will Tell Everyone!

Three More Tips for Handling Customer Complaints

Customer Loyalty is Priceless!

Just For Fun - And to make a point, too.

Questions & Answers

    © 2011 Anthony Altorenna

    Tell Us About Your Experiences with Customer Complaints

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Invoiceberry Team profile image

        Invoiceberry 

        4 years ago from London

        I think nowadays when there are so many products to choose from, customer service is extremely important. No matter if it's online or offline. People want to be treated nicely and with respect.

      • Whistleman profile image

        Whistleman 

        5 years ago

        These are some good tips. Sure seems like almost everything applies to so many communications questions, not just customer complaints.

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        5 years ago

        Great points!

      • profile image

        CalobrenaOmai 

        5 years ago

        There are some businesses out there that could use this lens as a reference. A business can advertise wonderful things however at times they have individuals that work in their customer service department that can make them look bad. It would be nice if all CS were helpful and polite.

      • youthministry profile image

        Paul Turner 

        5 years ago from Birmingham, Al.

        Lots of great info. I will have to check out some of books when I have time.

      • profile image

        abouthealthtips 

        5 years ago

        Nice detailed lens. Sometimes, customers can be difficult and there are times even if you are right, its better to just see if you can accommodate the customers problem. That includes giving a refund outside the normal refund period.

      • profile image

        spartucusjones 

        5 years ago

        Great lens! Extra props for including the Dead Parrot sketch. Pure comic gold!

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        5 years ago

        Yes, I love the article on customer service.

      • Deadicated LM profile image

        Deadicated LM 

        5 years ago

        Great informative Lens. I was an overnight hospital operator and their was no administration present during the hours I worked (it wasn't fun); I always tried to keep in mind that the person I was talking to could be talking to you on the worst day of their life.

      • takkhisa profile image

        Takkhis 

        5 years ago

        Thanks for the tips and i can imagine it.

      • profile image

        julieannbrady 

        6 years ago

        Oh my! I was dreading a phone call I had to make to Comcast Customer Service this past week ... I first tried calling at 3:15pm one day and was told they couldn't help me -- a recording -- that they were too busy!! So, bright and early the next morning I called. I was a bit testy and I told the young man so. Long story short, he ruled in my favor and gave me the credit on my bill. I see that Comcast now is trying to make it easier for the customer to be "right" ... and I appreciate that.

      • Lady Lorelei profile image

        Lorelei Cohen 

        6 years ago from Canada

        Lol...ah how I remember. I used to manager a store quite a long time ago. I love the Monty Python video. Now that is a very realistic complaint lol.

      • maryLuu profile image

        maryLuu 

        6 years ago

        Nice lens!

      • FB-Explorer profile image

        FB-Explorer 

        6 years ago

        Exceptional!

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        6 years ago

        Your guidance here is top notch...returning with fresh angel dust!

      • jadehorseshoe profile image

        jadehorseshoe 

        6 years ago

        Useful Lens.

      • missyc2112 profile image

        missyc2112 

        6 years ago

        Great tips! I really enjoyed reading this. Customers are the bread and butter of our businesses and if they're not happy, neither is our business

      • missyc2112 profile image

        missyc2112 

        6 years ago

        Great tips! I really enjoyed reading this. Customers are the bread and butter of our businesses and if they're not happy, neither is our business

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        7 years ago

        An excellent 7 step guideline to follow to assure customer service that will keep customers returning happily even after there has been an issue because its been resolved in a manner that is satisfactory to them. Now this is a customer that will provide good word of mouth advertising.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)