How to Write a Complaint Letter to AT&T

Updated on May 12, 2016
AT&T stands for American Telephone & Telegraph
AT&T stands for American Telephone & Telegraph | Source

So you're ready to take on AT&T...

AT&T is a huge, profitable company. Personally, I can't stand AT&T, as you will read later in the example letter. I was so frustrated after talking to so many people on the phone, I finally sent a letter straight to the CEO. In the end, his secretary called me and informed me that they took my letter to heart and would be working on strategies to better train employees. They also waived all of the late fees and comped my account for one month. Below are the steps I took to ensure my voice and opinion were heard. After all, we are the customers that keep AT&T in business. How can we expect change if we do not make them accountable?


RESEARCH

  1. Go to the AT&T website to find the current CEO of the company. I found out that as of today, March 28, 2016, the CEO is Randall L. Stephenson. You can find his bio HERE.
  2. You can also find a list of all the other important people at AT&T if you really want to make a big stink. (Look at the bottom of Randall's bio page.)
  3. Also, I hope you kept track of who you spoke to, where they were located, and when you made the calls. This makes your complaint more credible.


WRITING THE LETTER

  1. At the top of the letter write the date, skip a line and write, "Attention: [First Last], CEO". Skip a line or two. Then write "Dear Mr. [CEO's Name]," or any other greeting you are comfortable with.
  2. The first paragraph should outline what services you have with AT&T and how you use it. For example, if you own a small business with a website you may write "Mrs BKay Solutions is a small business that depends heavily on internet sales and leads through the online store on our website. We came to AT&T for it's wireless internet speed and easy network set-up in October 2015."
  3. The next paragraph(s) should detail the problems you are having. Try to include dates, who you spoke with, what was agreed upon, etc. To continue with the example above, you may write, “On October 2nd, 2015, Jimmy Jimenez came to our office to set up the equipment. Mr. Jimenez arrived three hours late and took an hour and a half lunch. When it was time for my employees and me to lock up, Mr. Jimenez said he was not finished and he would return in the morning. Mr. Jimenez never returned. I called Judy Judd in the Barstow customer service center at 8:35am on October 4th, 2015. Ms. Judd informed me that …” and so on.
  4. The last paragraph is where you state your demands. Request that late fees be removed, that services be comped, or that equipment be replaced at no charge- whatever you feel you deserve. Remember to be fair and honest. Also, tell them what you are prepared to do should they not fix their error, “If AT&T fails to correct this error, I will be forced to take my business elsewhere and contact a lawyer or attorney.”
  5. Sign a cordial closing and leave a few blank lines before you type your name. When you print your letter you will sign your name in this spot.


SENDING THE LETTER

  1. You may want to fax the letter so you can have the confirmation with the date and time stamp on it. The fax number is: 210-351-2071. Be sure to include a cover letter. For information on how to write a fax cover sheet see my Hub, How To Make A Fax Cover Page.

  2. Below is the physical address to send your letter (which is the way I sent mine):

    Randall L. Stephenson, CEO

    AT&T Inc.

    208 S. Akard Street
    Dallas, TX 75202

AT&T Custoomer Satisfaction Poll

If you are an AT&T customer, please rate your overall service- customer service, ease of use, and selection::

See results

Sample Letter

December 9th, 2012

Attention: Randall Stephenson, CEO

Dear Randall Stephenson,

To start, my family and I have been loyal Verizon customers for years. I was first introduced to AT&T’s incompetence through all of the dropped calls between my husband and I. I moved to go to school in LA and Verizon could no longer cover my area and I was forced to sign up with AT&T.

On September 28th, 2009 I spoke with Deana in the Bakersfield office. She set me up on automatic withdrawal for both a Go-Phone and High Speed Internet Access because AT&T could not approve me for a regular account without automatic withdrawal. I was then told that I was ALREADY ENROLLED in automatic payments of $40 every thirty days. I was also told that my phone would arrive in a couple of weeks. After numerous phone calls to the AT&T office (some of which transferred me to disconnected numbers or hung up on me), UPS, and about ten of your employees, I was finally able to speak to someone who knew what they were doing. Stella was wonderful. But once I received my phone it was no longer activated. So I had to call, once again, and have my number changed THREE times before my service could begin. That is all over but it was only the beginning of my problems.

On my initial call in September I was informed that automatic payments of $45 (every month starting on October 16th) were set up and that the $100+ for the equipment would be billed immediately and it would be shipped in 3-5 days. It arrived on time and the money was taken. I received a bill of $153.49 due by November 19th, 2009. Thinking it was strange that I was receiving a bill, I called in. Again, my call was transferred to a disconnected number. I did not have the time to call back. I called again on November 29th, 2009 after a disconnection notice was sent. I explained that I was under the impression that I was enrolled in automatic payments and the employee informed me that I was not. She set me up in automatic payments and waived the late fees.

I then received a letter stating that I owed $148 or my service would be cancelled on December 9th, 2009!!! I called on December 8th, 2009 and spoke to someone. She said the automatic payment would not come out until December 22nd, 2009 and that my service would be disconnected until then. I explained that I felt it was AT&T’s fault and I expected them to fix it. She said there was nothing she could do. I spoke with her supervisor who did not give her name when answering the phone and was incredibly rude to me. She did not offer any solutions and would not work with me on any level.

I did pay my overdue balance because I am willing to pay for services that I receive. I am requesting that I am reimbursed or that any late or disconnection fees be waived from my account over the past three months. I am also requesting that your employees be better trained in respect and quality costumer service. Not only does the customer service fall under par, but the service itself is poor as well. My calls are constantly dropped, my voicemail does not work, and my calls are broken and filled with static. The internet service is slow, disruptive, and the box often malfunctions, taking over a half hour to recalibrate. I do not recommend AT&T to any of my friends, family members, or customers because of this.

Thank you for your time.



Mrs. Britney Kay Sinclair

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Elmtree 

      4 weeks ago

      I reported them to the FCC, the FTC and the BBB. I had a resolution within 48 hours after spending six months trying to get my credits due to me. I wish I would have contacted those agencies sooner. I also record my calls. I tell the AT&T rep I am recording and I haven't ever had one refuse to talk to me. I am in the process of switching to T-mobile.

    • profile image

      JASMINE W 

      4 weeks ago

      AT&T IS HORRIBLE... I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYONE!!!

    • profile image

      Karen Witt 

      4 weeks ago

      We need to all stand together and looking into maybe a petition or something . They should not be able to get by with how they treat people and lie constantly. I have taken off work four times for them and left work early for no shows calls. I have wasted so much time, lost a good bit of money. I have cried and been stressed. They do not care . Everyone's name seems to be the same most of the time in tech support with no last name or ext. They are global and have no records of the phone call you had earlier that day telling you they were coming to install. I do though I recorded my phone calls and started on 9-6. below this is just a little bit of what I have been through. Trust me if we had anyone else here and it wasnt a bigger joke like getting the satellite and it not work kind of thing; we would.

      I have had multiple appointments for no shows to take off work them days, or even told yesterday they were coming to install and left work. This makes the fifth time. This has started before august 31 which i have pics of them apts and recorded most of my calls if not all after 9/6. then last night when I called and having a hard time finding the person Gary over tech to ask where tech was ; he called me by mistake last night asking for someone else. Yes I have had choice words I have cried and stressed and now they are saying i cant get this at house number Road Coldwater Ms 38618, when clearly the address of same street and city at #house number next door, and at another house number in front of my home cable runs longer to there house than to mine from the cable they use. one to right other to the left and my neighbor to the left gets it and his address is house #. I have almost lost my job and may have after yesterday for nothing. This is upsetting and all I get is i apologize or we are over booked or you have multiple accounts and I have verified address and all every time. and now they are saying I cant get it is insane. I disconnected the one at house number road I had that for my dad, but If you all cant provide me with service this is all upsetting and insane. I do not feel that BArb Longhorn cares or anyone else i have talked to . I have been on phone hours at a time for no one to know whats going on or the right department. My account number for this just disappeared. Oh so they never called last night , but by accident and then they said well they dropped your work order because of the address after I come home and waiting all day. The box is already set by a previous tech that did my sons house for me a year ago.

    • profile image

      Russ 

      7 weeks ago

      I'm deaf and use TTY text machine to make phone call. I'm unable to find AT&T's TTY phone number to call AT&T for service change. I can't use relay service because my eyesight is very bad and can't see the text on my TTY display. Also using relay service to call AT&T would take hours to talk to AT&T. I was moving and had my sister call AT&&T to cancel my phone & DSL service on my old home address. I would prefer to contact AT&T by e-mail message. I also would prefer AT&T's TTY phone number for the deaf to contact them.

    • profile image

      Steve Ownby 

      3 months ago

      On the early morning of 24 June 2018 Memphis Tennessee was hit with tremendous thunder storms. These storms knocked out power and services for days before being restored. On the same morning my U-verse router was knocked out. My electrical circuits in the home were not affected and my home PC was not affected, only my router.

      I did an online check using my mobile phone as a hotspot to check the internet connection. The online AT&T test said my router was unserviceable and needed to be replaced. I called AT&T around noon on the 24th. After discussing the issue with the customer service rep, it was decided that it was the router. He said the next available appointment was the 30th. I asked, “can you not just send me the router and I’ll put it in?” He stated that he could do that, and it would take 2 or 3 days.

      On Wednesday 27 June, using my hotspot again, I engaged with a customer service rep using chat. She stated that the order was completed, and it should be here the next day. She also stated that she would make an adjustment to my billing.

      Today is 30 June and I still have no router. I have been without critical needed internet for 7 days now. I called again around 1830, 29 June and it was a mess. I had to wait a lengthy time to get to talk to a customer service rep. After explaining the issue and asking about the router I was redirected to a technical service technician somewhere in India (I assume) because I couldn’t understand the person I was talking to very well.

      After almost 30 minutes on the phone the only thing I got was an empty suggestion that my order was on the truck and was assured it would be delivered tonight by 2000. I explain that the US mail, UPS and Fedex had finished their daily runs through the neighborhood, she insisted that it would arrive by 2000. It was already 1900 by this time. She further stated that if it was not delivered tonight, it would be here tomorrow morning. This confirms that no one knows or cares about the router in question.

      As much as I hate Comcast, today I have learned to despise ATT more. All I wanted was a new router. I went to Best Buy and they stated the didn’t carry anything compatible with ATT. I went to the ATT store and they said I would have to order it online through the AT&T website. Is there no way to get my internet restored and get a new router? It hasn’t shown up yet and it has been 7 days. I would assume you are going to adjust my bill appropriately. Any apology would only be an empty, politically correct corporate business band aid. This is absolutely the worst experience I have ever had. I am sure it is multiplied everyday with no one giving a flip as along as the paycheck hits the banks. I really would like to know you care and that this problem will be fixed at every level to ensure no one else has to go through this situation.

    • profile image

      Dora. Mosley 

      3 months ago

      I do not like my. Cellphone service when I tried to make payment arrangements They would not take it they wanted there money in full I will not work with them ever again. They need to get better people working for. Them the. Workers was rude and disrespectful And I will let everyone know not to go to this. Company for any thing

    • profile image

      Tammy j 

      4 months ago

      My husband became disabled because of stage 4 cancer so I have been paying bill when he gets his cheak from ssi never have we missed a payment and we use our cell phone for home phone to and told us who he our payment is not past due tbat atat can no longer due a payment arrangement on us till he gets his cheak like we have been doing for a year. And never missed a payment. So they are going to cut our phones off because they can't wait 2 weeks for his check I think it is right sorry. How could a company as big as atat do people like tbatbby not waiting 2 weeks I would not recommend them to no one

    • profile image

      Angel Diaz 

      4 months ago

      I transferred my account July 2017 to a new address and At&T representatives told me that was the best way to this. But what happened was that they were charging me the two invoices for months until I was able, first to realize what was going on, and second cancel the old account. Tried to call customer services many times to explain that they charged a service that did not exist for several months The only that I achieved was wasting many hours waiting without never getting any formal answer.

    • profile image

      Madelyn Knopf 

      5 months ago

      Since you changed you screen and program list you took off the Date. Can you put the date back on it? Other than that all is fine. Maybe the Temperature would be nice too. Thanks,

    • profile image

      Joel Nelson 

      5 months ago

      AT&T is totally unreliable and unresponsive. My 101 year old, blind Mother needed to have her line moved from her old room at the nursing home to a new room closer to the nurse's station. AT&T missed 3 promised dates to do the line moved. I finally called the President's office to try to get a straight answer as to what the problem was and when we could really expect the line to be moved. I was promised a call back which I never got. I finally gave up and cancelled their "service'. It took them 37 minutes on the phone to fix their own systems so that I could cancel the line and get a cancellation confirmation number.

    • profile image

      Apple 

      6 months ago

      I hate people costumer service At&t at store the lie to you,I was just trade in my iPhone 7 for iPhone 8 for buy one get one free and I told them make sure I got my unlimited plan, yes you have unlimited everything so you can sharing data for you iPad and bla bla bla.and then I got settle everything done,,,and when get home I try to sharing my WiFi for my son iPad and won’t work,won’t connect for hot spot usually when you get unlimited data is outomatically connects you...I been 10years loyal costumer for them but this is second time the fool me...anyway so when back to store At&t I told them why it doesn’t connect me for hot spot..I had unlimited data usually when you have unlimited data it we’ll connect you right away but this iPhone 8 it won’t because the said i have to pay another $30 for using hot spot,I said ur you kidding me no the said...this to much you guys charger me for almost $200 a month changer me another $30 back no we....so I said all company for phone always have unlimited data the always using hotspot sharing date for any gadgets always works connect right away...the never changer for xtract for them...that’s why I don’t wanna change the company coz I been 10years service for them...now the fool I don’t have reason to stay for them,And one thing try to refund the said I have to pay $45 to and I trade my iPhone7 because I still one years to pay this phone...so I trade the took my old phone and I got the buy one get one,so I had it already,it’s bcoz I can’t share my WiFi,I told I wanna refund I don’t want this iPhone I move to different company.i need to get back for my iPhone 7 but the said I can’t get back my old iPhone7 bcoz i trade it...I can’t believe it the did this to me,,,after 10years services to for them,,,yes At&t it suck is full of craft...I’m very very disappointed this At&t.i just can’t believe that word come out there mouth but after the telling..everything after done your deal ...and everything change rules...first of all At&t bfore costumer buying your phone or any phone need to tell them or explain what is the rule and agreement....how do we know what rules you guys have and agreement...and you guys tell the costumer when we sign up... already it’s to late,we don’t know what kind of agreement you guys have...have we sign up...

    • profile image

      Holly Collins 

      7 months ago

      ATT cell phone company is one BIG scam, they change the rules as they go along.. I had a GREAT solution to our problem and they do not care to listen.. Better Business Bureau here I come. the still & rip off customers and yes tranfer you all over the place then when I go to speak with someone in person they can not or will not do anything !!!!!!

    • profile image

      Beata S 

      7 months ago

      at@t try to charge me for returning phone which they have for over a month,, within 3 days a made like 20 phone calls to att they just transferring me from one to another meanwhile they suspend my service. they are the biggest losers ever. soon I paid off my phones they not going to see my name again ever.

    • profile image

      Lonna trudell 

      7 months ago

      I have sat, signed in at AT&T in Eugene on W 11 th for over an hour. There is only 2 people taking care of customers. A third person went to lunch. Horrible customer service, especially on a weekend.. good grief!!!!!

    • profile image

      Ashutosh Tripathi 4043240181 

      7 months ago

      I'm ATT wireless customer for last 10 years and recently ordered Internet service. Technician was scheduled to come on Tuesday 02/27/2018. No one showed up on 27th and when i called ATT they said technician will come on 28th. I took off from work and waited whole day but no one showed up. I called ATT again on 28th and i was told that technician will come on 29th. When i called on 29th they told me that i need to reschedule and next available schedule is on Next thursday March 8th. I had never experienced this kind of service in past. In the process i not only lost more than 2 days of holidays but also will have to live without internet for 10 days. There is no reliability and no one is ready to take responsibly. Also customer service call goes to some offshore location. They don't try to understand your problem and don't care about customers.

    • profile image

      gilbert marek 979-421-8052 

      8 months ago

      You know I have never been so ran around in all my life with your sorry AT&T am going to the Phone the telephone commission in Austin Texas and file on you all. You got to big for what you do a now your people don't know what to do in any case given to them.

      Thank You for a very sorry meeting with you people also.

      Gilbert Marek Brenham Tx.

    • profile image

      Frustrated 

      8 months ago

      I got in on a deal for a cell phone plan a little over two years ago. Didn't have any issues until this past September when I went into a At&T store and upgraded my phone. The girl who helped said she could also the change the data plan I had so that the following month, my bill would go down quite a bit which sounded good to me! Next month however, I receive a bill that is MUCH higher than what I already was paying. I got a hold of a AT&T rep who told me that there was prorated charges, something that had never been explained in the store(otherwise I would've waited to change my plan) , rep told me that she and her manager were taking care of it and to wait to pay anything for about 7 business days so they could "regenerate" another bill with the adjusted charges.... never happened. Jump to a month later , I'm still trying to find someone who could help me while paying a much higher bill and the rep who I talk to tells me to call their "specialist" department and they would help me with an arrangement, I do so and make payment arrangements for December and January. Just last week I paid January's bill on time and today they shut off my service. Get a hold of them on chat and I'm told "Oh well you needed to pay more" to which I explain that had never been mentioned to me when making the arrangements. AT&T's solution? Too bad I had pay to get my phones turned back on but hey, they would make sure to make what happened to me a part of their future training!! When I asked, how that would help me now or why I should care about that.... Funnily enough never got an answer.

    • profile image

      Giz 

      9 months ago

      I went to the store at 14401 e Bayaud ave, in Aurora. I have an appointment. The person who would assumed to help me was very rude and unfriendly. I'm just swapped from Sprint to At&T , I thought I' m making a mistake to swapped. If a person who would help the customers acting like they are superior than you instead of trying to help you , that is not acceptable ... His name is Jose. If this personis still workingvhere, you will lose your customers!!

    • profile image

      JERRY MORROW FOR MORROW MOTORS,INC 

      10 months ago

      OUR 800 NUMBER HAS BEEN DOWN FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. OUR SALES HAVE BEEN DOWN OVER 70% AND AT&T WILL NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WE HAVE CALLED OVER 60 TIMES AND NO ONE SEEMS TO EVER CARE. WE HAVE HAD 800-333-7202 FOR 35 YEARS. NEXT STEP, I WILL TALK TO A LAWYER. JERRY MORROW

    • profile image

      Thanh trao 

      10 months ago

      Never again I will do business with att.

    • profile image

      jores baghoomian 

      10 months ago

      Am trying to in role new line with At&t over in Pasadena on Colorado blvd ,this person Martte her name was calling a security because i asked her how many people helping customers in that store ,this was my second attempt in that store after 1 hour wait in first time , she is calling security to kick me out from the store ? what a crazy way of conducting a business.

    • profile image

      Judge Judy 

      11 months ago

      Absolutely no contact at all from AT&T,you will stop calling. Prohibition already in full effect.Ban also into full effect;any unauthorized caller subject fine of $5,000,000.already have caller Id,a.c.rejection,nationwide don't call list,registered with FCC.Condemnation into law,condemning companies that allows these scammers for harassment no longer accept.

    • profile image

      410-235-3759 

      12 months ago

      Dear AT&T CEO,

      Greetings.

      I have not had a dial tone in three (3) months ...and I contacted Customer Service thirteen (13) times ,,,and nothing happens, except that you keep billing me monthly for service that I never used.

      I have been an AT&T customer for over forty years and

      have AT&T stock. What is the problem?....why can't you fix

      a simple land line? Nobody wants to climb the pole anymore ....and the CEO of AT&T can't be bothered?

      Seniors need land lines.....

      Please look into this service problem.

      Good luck.

      You will need it.

      Respectfully,

      Mr. J.J.Kropfeld

    • profile image

      Amy 

      12 months ago

      Send a certified letter to the CEO. It worked for us! Ahhh, finally. AT&T, never again!

    • profile image

      Rimma 

      13 months ago

      I cancelled my business phone service on July 10. My contract expired in June and I notified AT&T about non renewal. I received a final bill and paid it in full. I month later I received another bill with early termination charges and usage charges from July 29- August 28 though all lines were d/c on July 11.

      I opened a dispute which has not been resolved yet.

    • profile image

      Daniel Brown 

      17 months ago

      I canceled my service to ATT&T and they continue to bill me. I still owe them for the phones I transfered, but I am uable to get the correct price. They said there was no record of me calling to cancel when I told them that everything was being canceled the day I switched to Consumer Celluar.

    • profile image

      William Yoshida at 3333 Rose of Sharon Rd 

      18 months ago

      A retauk sales consultant Hunter Ball Ph8002095618 had ordered

      Direct TV in march for my house in Durham, NC. He made up a package to his liking. I was still in Ar in march and did not arrive until April. I did not arrive in Durham until April. Now I am having a hard time getting an Direct Tv installation. I have tried three times in April. I do have an appointment for an intallation in may 2. I hat ordered Direct tv 3 times in April, I have an appointment on may 2. I hope I do not have any more problems.

    • profile image

      Sharon Andrews 

      18 months ago

      I have been an AT&T phone customer for at least 15 years. I decided to upgrade--Internet, phone and TV. I was happily sold a package. The direct TV guy has been here twice--I took two frigging days off work--only to be told AT&T has to come first and they have no work order for wireless TV. I have spend a total of 7 hours on the phone and talked with 6 different people only to have them to fail to get a correct work order to the Direct TV install people. Everyone I have talked to has been rude and says it's Direct TV or AT&T who is letting the ball drop. I will tell everyone I know not to deal with AT&T. They are big on sales, but horrible on everything else!!!

    • profile image

      I hateATT 

      18 months ago

      This company has taken my money for years giving me nothing but slow internet uploads and downloads, horrid customer service from third world countries that do not listen or understand. Why should I pay to be abused.why should I pay for bad service. Why should I pay to get nothing

    • profile image

      Service is horrible 

      19 months ago

      I have been waiting the hours that att said their tech would be here, my day off...waiting...so I call and there is no report of a tech coming, they were going to mail me a modem..why would they set up a time if they were going to mail something. I had to talk to 4 different people, that I could barely understand, and received no service. It was horrible..waste of my day...

    • profile image

      Denise matthews 

      19 months ago

      I was told the price I was quoted was for a year of service but they went up on the price before the year was up . When I complain to customer service they said the company raise the prices .which is not fear to the consumer you should go up on the price after the year is up. And give the customers a choice to stay or go!!!

    • profile image

      June Hayagood-Pembroke Pines, FL 33026 

      20 months ago

      I have been without the use of my telephone for the past week because of AT&T's incompetence. They send me notices on my computer to call them immediately but when I dial their number, my AT&T serviced telephone refuses to put my calls thru. My neighbor warned me years ago not to use this company and I am sorry that I did not heed her advice.

    • profile image

      Patricia 

      20 months ago

      Thanks so much for that wonderful information. Britney! I wrote a lengthy letter with my complaint, but had not sent it yet. I just signed up for the bundle package in November of 2016. All my bill are for different amounts. I regret switching from Charter/Spectrum that I had for decades. I never had this kind of problem! I will send my letter to the chairman/CEO, Mr. Stephenson! Thanks again, loads!

    • profile image

      Maureen 

      21 months ago

      Well, I will say one thing....At&T has the best cell phone reception of the other companies...because I've used the others. Nothing like paying your entire phone bill month after month (which is supposed to include unlimited calls, unlimited minutes, unlimited texting and unlimited photo texts) only to experience 10 dropped calls per day, no ability to send text photos anywhere, or no ability to send text from your home, and then half the other places you have to send them through 5 times before they go). I've had that experience with TMobil a few years back. So, yeah...I may have some small complaints, but I had to FIGHT tTMobile to let me out of my contract when I WAS THE ONLY ONE HONORING IT!!!

    • profile image

      Karen 

      22 months ago

      Att used to be a good company years ago . I have had them for 25years but who ever run it now doesnt care about the poor folk. A repair comes to work at the neighbor and somehow cuts off our phone. I am waiting almost a day with nothing wrong with our phone but the guy shut off the wrong phone.

    • profile image

      marge 

      23 months ago

      I signed up with ATT on... Nov.1 for $99. package...told me I had to use wireless landline but did not tell me I could not fax or forward calls to

      cell phone. For 18 days I begged for service. Internet line is laying on top of ground for 1200 feet across neighbors property. I called ATT and was on the line for 96 minutes and switched to 9 different people. Most outside of US...Why the H would a American Company switch their jobs outside of this county doing people out of jobs here....GO TRUMP GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • profile image

      LCM 

      23 months ago

      AT&T has been the biggest nightmare I have ever had to deal with. This started out by my cable freezing my TV and then just stopped working. So I called, a tech came out by the name of Patrick Reagan, While he stated he fixed the initial problem, I have a new problem, he dropped my 50 inch TV shattering the screen and breaking the TV stand it was on. He treated me like this was a joke, and then stated he would not talk to me about this and walked out. And of course, this all happened after 5pm California time, so all offices were closed. So I got up early this morning, spoke to a very rude, not so nice and very un-accommodating women who gave me a claim number and said this will have to be investigated. Gave me a phone number to Sedgwick, who handles their claims. She treated me like I was in the wrong, and because I am upset and very angry, said that if I she was the tech, she would have walked out. No "I'm sorry", no "don't worry, we'll replace this", just this has to be investigated. Someone might call me back in 48 to 72 hours and this is a long process. We have been with AT&T for 10 years and this is by far the worst in customer service ever. What happened to old fashioned customer services. This incompetent idiot broke my brand new 50 inch TV, and the stand it was on, and not even "I'm sorry" we'll replace this..NO...I get I'm not talking to you and walks out. I'm a switching to another provider...FAST...AT&T sucks. They are a $147 Billion dollar a year in revenue company and they treat customers this poorly.

      Very angry and disgusted.

      LCM

    • profile image

      M. Hatch 

      23 months ago

      We changed from DSL and Direct TV on September 9th 2016. Since then, we have received bills for early termination fees with Direct TV, continuous billing for DSL and billed for local line which we do not have. We have made numerous payments and contacted customer services 21 times. These people are either very incompetent or a bunch of crooks. When I return to our home in FL, I will go door to door and tell my neighbors what a misery this has been with AT&T. Your departments do not communicate with each other, so when we result one issue with one, the problem pops up again at a different time. We are very tired of this, please We have been paying hundred of the dollars and still no resolution to this crazy AT&T billing.

      Thank you

      Maria Silva-Hatch

      1333d Tralee Bay Ave, Melbourne, FL 32940

    • profile image

      Renee wright 

      23 months ago

      Hey I just want to say your company SUCKS because out of no where u guys just cut my internet off without any letter or any other statement. How could u do that to a paying customer and invent such a criminal thing called Uverse. U want to know what I think what your company stands for Assholes today and tomorrow (AT&T) that is actually what your company means

    • profile image

      RobertBurton 

      23 months ago

      I have been on phone month and half trying to get my bill what told me. I have been put on hold so many times. Finally got hold of person who me told .if i send certain amount of money i would be fine until i got my paper bill . Because i kept getting different amounts. I come yesterday no tv and have not recieved a bill. On phone again trying to fine out something again. For two and half hours was on phone.Talk to five different people with different quotes Still know nothing. If your thinging about going with this company please read reviews. I had Direct TV i had no problems but sense AT&T came in its been all messed up.I hate it in a few words I'm thought withAT&T.

    • profile image

      Paula 

      23 months ago

      I have been on the phone with AT&T for the past few months. Today I was on the phone for 2hr and 49 min. Then I was put on hold so they could review notes. I was on hold 2 more hours and did not hear a word from anyone. Do I merged that call and called AT&T and again was put on hold for another 30 min. I need to speak with a manager of unified accounts!

    • profile image

      Ellen Arcadi 

      24 months ago

      I hate ATT the worse customer service ever. this last time ( and there have been many times before) I had to call 6 times with being on the phone up to 1 hr. test 1 hr. each time I am told the problem is fixed and each time I find out after that it has not been fixed.

    • profile image

      Frank 

      2 years ago

      AT&T is, by a comfortable light year, the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I lived for a year in Cleveland, and I got their u-verse Internet service because it was the only choice I had. The service kept going in and out for the first few months, and I had techs over no fewer than 4 times to get it fixed. Mind you, I had to take time off work for each one of those, because they refused to be flexible enough to give me a window of time after work hours. Despite all these problems, they refused to allow me to cancel the service without charging me a termination fee (as if their crappy service wasn't a breach of contract). On the fourth visit, I finally learned that due to my distance, my bandwidth was too great, so I had to downgrade my service plan. They did that, and finally it worked. It worked after that. However, I later had other problems. When it came time to move back to my home state of MI, I called and cancelled service. In fact, just because I had a feeling that this vile, evil company would give me problems, I called *three* times to make sure they had me cancelled. Three times! They always said, "yes, we see here that you're schedule to be terminated." So, after three calls, and sending them back the router, I assumed I was good to go. Four months later, I get a bill for 129.31. i figured it was some bullcrap termination charge, but I'm a very busy person and I don't have time to deal with these issues. So, I called and just paid the bill. Then, at the end, the annoying recording said, "your service will be restored shortly." What???? This wasn't a termination fee! They never cancelled my service! I have to call and try to get my money back, but there's no doubt that I won't be able to because they're a large, powerful company and I'm powerless to do anything about it, not to mention that I really don't have much time as I just started a new job and can't take much time off. I'll just be screwed out of my money. Wow. Everyone at this company should be ashamed of themselves.

    • profile image

      Carol Blanding 

      2 years ago

      att sucks,, as soon as my phone is payed off we are outta this clique!!!!!! back to Verizon I go!

    • profile image

      Donald james louk jr 

      2 years ago

      I am an AT&T customer first of all I'm very dissatisfied and not happy at all you people change and upgrade too much you messed things up around you don't put no kind of help up on each app you're always upgrading and messing up my phone I am so sick and tired of everything changing for bad instead of for better,,, you people ruin every as possible and I am so sick and tired of you people upgrading and changing it every damn stinking hour of the day I am tired of it and I wish you people leave me the hell alone I am tired of people ruining my apps upgrading my phone I'm sick of it you messed everything up I can't you people leave stuff alone thank you goodbye

    • profile image

      Tom Kinnard 

      2 years ago

      do not know what failed but do know no one at at&t cares.

      had two service tech,s try to fix my digital life which would not record and when it did record only two or three hours I was unable to erase it. I gave up , now my e-mail is really messed up and i no longer want anything to do with AT&T. When i get ready to move AT&T will be left on the roadside simple because they do not care anymore. ADT, Verizon, and Time Warner are looking real good now. It seems that it is OK to lose customers instead of trying to keep them.

    • profile image

      Beverly Stroup 

      2 years ago

      My complaint is with their package, tv, phone and Wi-Fi. Here is what I wrote: As I told your agents, after being transferred, put on hold for long periods of time?, I am paid up to date on both me AT&T Uverse and also on the Direct Tv accounts. A few months ago I spoke to your agent, Bernard or something like that. I explained I was paying for my sister's Direct Tv for her home at 507 Blanche Dr., 63125. I fully explained it would only be for 2 or 3 months, as she was selling her home there and moving to a senior condo development in Lake Ozark, MO. At the condo, the cable fee is built in to maintenance fee and so she has to switch to Charter when she moved. I explained since it was for such a short duration, I wanted to be sure there were no early cancellation fees in this situation. He assured me that under the circumstances I would NOT be charged the fee. Especially since the entire condo has cable included in monthly resident fee. I trusted him. When she sold her home I again called your company as I was instructed and the sent us a box to put the equipment in and return. I was told I would get an adjusted bill soon. It never came, so I went ahead and played both my bill for Uverse at my home, and the latest bill for the Direct tv. Only recently did I receive a bill for almost 700.00! for early cancellation fees! I have been a loyal Uverse customer since 2009, always paying on time. I put up with your horrible customer service, especially in the last 3 years, being transferred over and over again, being put on hold for ridiculously long periods, having to explain the current problem over and over again with each transfer, and on one occasion, after over an hour I was disconnected! I am, believe it or not, a very patient person, but after getting your last bill and dealing with your inept customer service reps, I was so upset I was in bed for 2 days. I am disabled. Very low income, and have terribly high medication expenses. I do not owe the early termination fee. Perhaps Bernard or whatever his name is, who assured me it wasn't an issue, should pay it. If this isn't resolved, I will relate all this to local news, the attorney General's office and the BBB. Also I will publicly share it on Facebook! This is inexcusable and if not resolved, at the end of my personal contract for Uverse, I will be immediately switching to Charter.

      Beverly Stroup.

      Ps.. my accounts are paid in full. You do not have the right to my bank info.

    • profile image

      Eleanor Gray 

      2 years ago

      AT&T cancelled my service without notifying me. I am 83 years old and even though my number is not in use they will not make an effort to give it back to me. This makes me so sad as all of my family and contacts know my number ... it would be extremely difficult for me to learn a new number. I do not know what department or number to call so AT&T makes an exception and restores my number which I had for many years. If you have any advice I would greatly appreciate how to 'restore" my number...it is out there unused and I feel certain there must be a way to get it back.

    • profile image

      Valleria Davi 

      2 years ago

      I had a go phone as I,am 75 years old I paid in store for the service. I decided it was to much trouble to go to store & pay . I switched providers and got a contract with a different provider. I then requested a refund of 51.72 cents. Because I paid in cash and not a debit card AT&T refuses to refund my money. The store says they can't refund the money AT&T can't refund my money where is my money. I was told if I paid by debit card they could refund my money but because I used America cash. They cannot refund my money that I paid in store.

    • profile image

      Susan 

      2 years ago

      When I called ATT&T last month to lower my internet service, I was told that I could cancel the U-Verse portion of my bundle at any time. I didn't want it anymore since the kids were moving out of the house. Now, after talking with a rep and a manager at AT&T I have been told that I had a 150 early cancellation fee. Slimy.

    • profile image

      Artist Without A Brush 

      2 years ago

      Amen to a lot of things I read. We are rural and have the wonderful touted Uverse system that controls my phone and computer. We are a rural community only 50 miles from St. Louis but you would think we were out in the boonies and used smoke signals. Our road is probably about 100 years old with telephone wires that date back to the 1930's. Now they want to tell me I can get wonderful service with uverse. Not. The wires cannot support the new technology and every wind wisp, thunder cloud or burp causes the system to go out. OK, now I can reboot and it will come on but that is not the point. ATT says it is 95% reliable. That is only when it is on. In any kind of lightning or thunderstorm you can expect it to be off. We are both aged and need to rely on a telephone. Whoops, don't have that either. Oh, I guess I can go back to the old fashion telephone but now I have no computer system that is fast enough to enjoy. Boy to they have you by the big kahuna's...do ya think. Guess I will have to write a long involved letter to tell them that their systems stinks. Will be using smoke signals for all other stuff. Even a cell phone has limitations and why should I have to have one to pick up the slack of an expensive uverse system that does not work.

    • profile image

      Fran in Atlanta 

      2 years ago

      Dealing with AT&T "customer service " is like the revolving door nightmare. I was lied to about having an escalated case submitted and one CSR started saying, "Hello? Hello? I can't hear you!" when she got tired of talking about my issue and the conversation was getting tense. ALSO, I read an article tonight online that claims the company will take legal action against those writing their president! I would be dumbfounded and flabbergasted if that's true! I feel like they're too big, inefficient and crooks! It's one-way communication with no resolution to my issues. In the meantime, I have NO internet or TV service!

    • profile image

      Hosea Robertson 

      2 years ago

      AT&T Are The Worst provider Ever

      They Are So Rude & Call You a Liar

      Every time You Call Them.

      MAde Payment Arrangements On Line

      10/06/15 Did a Split Paymrnt

      Pay 114.00 On The 10/15 /2015

      Pay 114.00 On The 10/30/ 2015

      Paid on 10/15/2015 On The 10/19/15

      My Service Was Suspended For Non

      Payment said They Didn't See The

      10/30 Only 10/15 I told Them I had

      Confirmation she said when you pay

      The 114.00 That's When You Get Your

      Service back.

      These people are Cold Blood Bites

      They Have Hidden Charges And Lie

      About Everything And Talk To You

      Very Nasty Like You Want Something

      For Nothing about To Show You Who

      Boss!!! AT&T Stinks!!!

      Hosea Robertson..

    • profile image

      marvinlzinn1 

      3 years ago

      Yes, it has been common in the last couple months for technical and question calls to AT&T being cut off at the beginning of a conversation. Also finding something on the web pages often fails due to username and/or passwords that seem to be accepted, but with no other notice just direct to a different place essentially back to where I started. Most of this is due to customer service organization changing to pay less for employees or new technical program updates.

      The entire mayhem at AT&T is no different than most business in the United States. It is obvious results of customers wanting thing cheap without regard to the real cost of lower safety and quality (like made in China).

    • MrsBkay profile imageAUTHOR

      Britney 

      4 years ago from Southern California Desert

      I'm sorry you didn't see it but I clearly gave the address, Trix.

      " SENDING THE LETTER

      You may want to fax the letter so you can have the confirmation with the date and time stamp on it. The fax number is: 210-351-2071. Be sure to include a cover letter. For information on how to write a fax cover sheet see my Hub, How To Make A Fax Cover Page.

      Below is the physical address to send your letter (which is the way I sent mine):

      Randall L. Stephenson, CEO

      AT&T Inc.

      208 S. Akard Street

      Dallas, TX 75202"

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      4 years ago from New Jersey

      Now my last cell phone was "obsolete" this happens often, they tell you the battery that makes it run is no longer available. I was afraid I would fall behind tech wise, and got a Samsung Galaxy 4. It has so many features I will never need or use. I bought it at Staples though, so a phone person wouldn't pressure me, and the tech guy was young and said he had the same phone, that it would not be obsolete for years. But then I bought a new car, and the dealership people didn't even know how to connect the Bluetooth, I had to go back to Staples twice, and it's still not right. And the bill for myself and son is almost $200.00 now, despite the fact we use little to no long distance, and internet surfing and many minutes are supposed to be rolled over. I don't know how they get away with it.

    • profile image

      maggie ceballos 

      4 years ago

      AT&T always were trying to get extra mony from me in my bill most of all long distance even that I got che cheapest rate and They lock my number so nobody can make long distance calls. 'cause I only use it to get internet service from people pc, so we barely answer the phone, cause I have everything in my cellphone, including international long distance, but they still overcharge my last bill because they said a ''x company ask for the payment from a service I didn't have.that's ridiculous.the worst of all is that number is for chatting by phone with extrangers.I don't even think tha company exist .I hate AT&T .That company make many tricks to steal money from the costumers becausemany of them didn't realize it or they don't speak english , that 's terrible .somebody should do something.....

    • profile image

      Janet 

      4 years ago

      I am so sick of AT&T.. I have U Verse, and every month my bill is different, you call after 2 hrs, you still have no answers to your problems.. Just discusting!!

    • profile image

      Trix 

      4 years ago

      Ok, what is the ADDRESS for Randall Stephenson of AT & T? You kind of left out that very vital information.

    • MrsBkay profile imageAUTHOR

      Britney 

      5 years ago from Southern California Desert

      My first phone was a Nokia from Verizon as well! lol. $100 is absolutely crazy! Phone technology is not new, I don't know why they're charging so much. Especially if you have one of those new smart phones where you HAVE TO have a data plan. Currently I only have AT&T for my phone service. It's a 3 year old phone and it's prepaid. I pay $25/mo for 250 minutes and unlimited text. I hate them but until my phone breaks I won't buy another one.

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      5 years ago from New Jersey

      This caught my eye, and I had to read it! I have ATT and they are awful. My family and I never got into the habit of being on our cell phones all the time, we use them if we really have to say something or get info through, otherwise we use the landline and call home or wait until we are together in the evening. But my bill was so high for the little bit we use the phones. I called to complain. They gave me a different plan. I just got the bill, and although we all used less than 1 hour in a month, it was still over $100.00. The next time I get a new phone or carrier, I'm going to read every bit of fine print! My ATT Pantech phone is awful too. I'm moderately tech savvy, but I can't even get the thing to scroll correctly when I want to call someone. My first Nokia was my favorite cell phone! Thanks for the info.

    • MrsBkay profile imageAUTHOR

      Britney 

      5 years ago from Southern California Desert

      Obviously, I feel your pain. I since moved BACK into Verizon's service area but to be honest, they're not much better. Plus, the government only enforces laws that benefit them! If you don't pay the IRS they tack on fees and penalties right away. But if they forget to pay you- you have to file a special claim and wait for weeks! Ah! The system! ha ha.

    • Petra Vlah profile image

      Petra Vlah 

      5 years ago from Los Angeles

      In California (and I suspect all over the west coast), AT&T is a monopoly and they do as they please. To speak to a person, you have to be on line for 40 minutes or so, only to get more frustrated by their incompetence.

      Whatever happened to the antitrust law, I have no idea, but dealing with AT&T is a royal pain

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)