Warren Buffett Invests Like a Girl: A Great Guide for Investors

Updated on February 8, 2018

Warren Buffett's Eight Principles Every Investor Needs to Know, According to Motley Fool

Billionaire Warren Buffett and the women of the world have one thing in common: They are better investors than the average man. That's what the jacket copy of the book Warren Buffett Invests Like a Girl says, and author Louann Lofton does a yeoman's job trying to prove that thesis.

This book does a good job in laying out a range of principles that you should use to guide your investments. Tying the guidance to Warren Buffett catches the eye, but really this is a good book for anybody who wants to learn to invest with discipline and purpose.

What Buffett and Female Investors Have in Common

The Key is Temperament

Author Louann Lofton spends the first quarter of the book setting up the premise that Warren Buffett invests the way female investors do. She explains that studies have shown that women tend to approach investing with a calmer and healthier attitude, which enables them to avoid taking the risks and losses that most male investors suffer.

In one survey of 35,000 brokerage accounts, it was shown that men traded their stocks 45 times more than women did, exhibiting an overconfidence in their ability to pick winners from losers. And with all those extra transactions came extra trading costs, dragging their returns down more than women's.

Lofton does a good job keeping the statistics readable and flowing, setting up the comparison to Buffett very well in this section of the book. She says Buffett's calm temperament is what he has in common with women, and then moves onto explaining how that temperament manifests itself in eight characteristics of female investors.

Eight Traits of Female Investors - Warren Buffett Shares Them Too!

Author Louann Lofton identifies eight characteristics of female investors that she says also guides Warren Buffett. The book does a great job in expanding on each of the characteristics, how Buffett exemplifies them, and how you can benefit by following them as well.

  • Women tend to trade less than men
  • Women exhibit less overconfidence
  • Women shun risk more
  • Women are more realistic
  • Women tend to research more
  • Women are more immune to peer pressure
  • Women learn from their mistakes
  • Women are less willing to take extreme risks

Patience Is a Virtue

Buffett is the Ultimate Long-Term Buyer

All these characteristics that Warren Buffett Invests Like a Girl highlights results in one main strategy: Buy and hold. Buffett has famously said his favorite holding period is ''forever'' and that many times he has been better off by sitting on the sidelines waiting for the right opportunity.

The book does a great job in explaining why it is best that you follow a similar approach to investing: Research, find a stock you believe in strongly enough to hold it forever and buy it at a fair price.

It sounds simple, doesn't it?

Dividends and Stock Splits

Buffett Dislikes Both

For most of Warren Buffett Invests Like a Girl, author Louann Lofton applies the eight female characteristics to Buffett's record and showing how he has benefited. The examples she uses are strong and very instructive, and I think they will help most readers.

One of the key characteristics deals with ignoring peer pressure, and she points out Buffett's criticism of two actions that Wall Street loves: paying dividends and stock splits.

Dividends have been getting a lot of attention lately, with many financial pundits saying dividend-paying stocks are more attractive now. But hold on, Buffett says. Allocating capital in the most efficient and productive way is what a company should focus on, and if the best thing a company can think to do is return the cash to investors that's not saying much for management. So Buffett doesn't place a high premium on dividends at all.

As for stock splits, he just considers them pointless and a waste of time, money and energy. I agree.

Marginal Interviews and....

Cutesy Writing Tends To Wear Thin

Louann Lofton makes her arguments and illustrates her points over 170 pages, ending with a section she calls Foolish Investing Principles. The section is very straightforward, clear and to the point -- a really nice summary of what the book is about a plan of action for every reader. That section alone makes the book worth the purchase.

Do yourself a favor if you buy the book: Skip the 60 pages of interviews that are in the appendices. The interviews, with five professional investors, ramble and offer very little of value. They seem to have been included verbatim, so there are extraneous paragraphs that won't help you invest at all (One investor mentions a type of life insurance product called a viatical, and she asks what they are. The exchange goes on for half a page and is totally irrelevant).

The only other thing I didn't like about the book is something that the Motley Fool is known for. She includes several asides in the writing that are meant to be cute or humorous. Some are hits but most just fall flat. For instance, when she's writing about getting scuttlebutt on a company that you are interested in, she mentions that the word is also the name of a ''gentleman's club'' in Slidell, Louisiana. Who cares?

But when she takes on academics who argue that Buffett is simply a fluke, that it's too hard to beat the market, the humorous style works well.

Warren Buffett's Profile - The World's Greatest Investor

Most Americans probably have heard the name Warren Buffett. He is probably also well-known outside the United States, although for most of his career he shunned overseas investments. I assume anybody reading this article would at least be familiar with him.

But for those who don't know who Buffett is, or just want more details, here is the introduction to his profile on Wikipedia, with a link to the page:

Warren Edward Buffett (born August 30, 1930) is an American business magnate, investor, and philanthropist. He is widely regarded as one of the most successful investors in the world. Often introduced as "legendary investor, Warren Buffett", he is the primary shareholder, chairman, and CEO of Berkshire Hathaway. He is consistently ranked among the world's wealthiest people. He was ranked as the world's wealthiest person in 2008 and is the third wealthiest person in the world as of 2011.

Rule No. 1: Never Lose Money. Rule No. 2: Never Forget Rule No. 1

Warren Buffett vs. Motley Fool - Which Side Are You On?

Warren Buffett has become a billionaire through investing, and he says it is better to concentrate on just a few stocks of companies that you know a lot about and believe in totally.

Motley Fool says that's, well, foolish. Diversification, which author Louann Lofton suggests is 15 to 20 stocks, is better because it reduces the risk that one bad apple will spoil the whole bunch.

Because I tend to stick to mutual funds only (and index funds at that!) I don't really have a strong opinion on this issue. Though a part of me does think that a guy who's made billions through investing might know what he's talking about.

What Do You Think of Diversification?

How Do You Invest? - Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds...

Most of the investing in my family is done through our retirement accounts at work (401Ks) or on our own (IRAs). We long ago decided we really didn't have the time, energy or inclination to pick stocks, so most of our money is in mutual funds. And anyway, my company strongly encourages its employees to only invest in mutual funds because of conflict-of-interest appearances.

Do You Invest in Individual Stocks and Bonds?

See results

Be Greedy When Others Are Fearful, and Fearful When Others Are Greedy

More Advice from Buffett

I hope this review has helped you decide whether to buy Warren Buffett Invests Like a Girl. I think the book is certainly worthwhile if you are learning how to invest.

I also hope this article has sparked you to reflect on how you invest, or whether you should invest at all. Please share your thoughts on investing, the book, this article or anything else you think appropriate.

Thanks for visiting.

Questions & Answers

    Did This Review Help You? - Share Your Thoughts on Investing

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • shellys-space profile image

        Shelly Sellers 

        4 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

        I haven't seen this book about Warren Buffett before today! It looks like a great read.

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        5 years ago

        Great lens about a great guy I've always admired. Sharing this via Pinterest and will look for other places in my networks to recycle this.

      • tivlu profile image

        tivlu 

        5 years ago

        Interestingly Warren Buffett joined Twitter recently and his second tweet was about his new essay on why women are key to America's prosperity... Warren Buffett is bullish ... on women

      • Gypzeerose profile image

        Rose Jones 

        5 years ago

        Very enjoyable, Buffet is a king and a man who should be emulated. Bookmarked.

      • InfoCoop profile image

        InfoCoop 

        5 years ago

        Buffett is a genius.

      • TolovajWordsmith profile image

        Tolovaj Publishing House 

        5 years ago from Ljubljana

        We are all different characters, so I don't think there is universal 'best investment', but in most cases, for people who are willing to take some risk (and every investment is somehow risky), best is to have one's own business and have as much control of the cash flow as possible.

      • redrossero lm profile image

        redrossero lm 

        5 years ago

        I actually don't like investing in stocks. Too volatile for my liking.

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        5 years ago

        I could use help in this department. Guess I've got too much masculine energy! As a women I've had the worst luck with investments - too aggressive apparently. I'll check this book out. Thanks!

      • profile image

        ohcaroline 

        5 years ago

        I agree with the theory that women are better investors. My favorite book is by the Beardstown Ladies on investing.

      • profile image

        AlleyCatLane 

        5 years ago

        Very interesting and well written article.

      • Lynda Makara profile image

        Lynda Makara 

        5 years ago from California

        This is a great review. I've noticed the different investment styles between men and women. Good to know that Warren Buffet invests like a girl. Angel blessings.

      • ItayaLightbourne profile image

        Itaya Lightbourne 

        5 years ago from Topeka, KS

        What a cute title for this book! Great review and pretty accurate. I worked for many years with different investment firms and the women were usually more conservative for sure. :)

      • orange3 lm profile image

        orange3 lm 

        6 years ago

        Warren Buffett is the best when it comes to investment advice.

      • Scarlettohairy profile image

        Peggy Hazelwood 

        6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

        Thanks for the advice on which portions of the book are worth reading. That's valuable for this type of book so you don't get bogged down in the crud. Warren sounds like such a smart guy.

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        6 years ago

        I love this lens for promoting a book with a great thesis!

      • LisaDH profile image

        LisaDH 

        6 years ago

        I love the title of this book! I think Warren Buffett is a brilliant investor and we can all learn from him.

      • profile image

        julieannbrady 

        6 years ago

        I hadn't heard of this book before, but it is quite a compelling argument that women are better at investing with money than men! Like it.

      • goldenrulecomics profile imageAUTHOR

        goldenrulecomics 

        6 years ago

        @anonymous: and for a lot of us older ones as well!

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        6 years ago

        Warren Buffett is an idol for all of new Investors.

      • jethrosas profile image

        Jethro 

        6 years ago from Philippines

        I'm still planning to invest in mutual funds someday. I save a part of my salary monthly and then will invest them if they are enough. Thanks for this lens. :)

      • GeekGirl1 profile image

        GeekGirl1 

        6 years ago

        This is a useful lens. Big help to those who have plans of investing.

      • chezchazz profile image

        Chazz 

        6 years ago from New York

        Well written and interesting lens. My savvy brothers-in-law are big Buffet fans and that has served them well. But they didn't have kids and college tuition, etc. I invested in my son and the returns are better than any I would have had investing otherwise.

      • profile image

        anonymous 

        6 years ago

        Warren Buffet needs to run for president! Great lens, I enjoyed all the good info.

      • BLouw profile image

        Barbara Walton 

        6 years ago from France

        I found this clear and easy to read. My husband is a Warren Buffet fan but I like houses - if all else fails, you can ive in them! Interesting to note, though, that after so many years of feminism, the joke behind this title is that to be told that you do something 'like a girl', is still a gross insult for a man - instead, it should be a massive compliment. Thanks for a great lens.

      • Countryluthier profile image

        E L Seaton 

        6 years ago from Virginia

        Very helpful, keep up the good work.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)