The Truth About UHaul Truck Rentals

My Credentials

In order to be taken seriously, I need to bring some experience to the table of discussion. I managed an independent UHaul dealership for four years in Olympia, Washington, so I am intimately familiar with the corporation and how they manage their affairs.

I write this as a way to point out some of the pitfalls that people encounter when dealing with UHaul. Moving is, at best, a stressful situation, and part of that stress for many people is dealing with UHaul employees. They can be, on the best of days, a tedious group, and on the worst of days they can be downright rude and unbending in their rules.

Hopefully, by reading this article, you will be forewarned and better prepared for the moving adventure that lies ahead of you.

An insider's opinion of UHaul
An insider's opinion of UHaul | Source

Uhaul International….a Little History

UHaul was started in 1945 by Leonard Shoen and his wife in the town of Ridegefield, Washington. With an investment of $5,000, Shoen began building trailers in his garage and then splitting the rental fees with gas station owners who then became franchise agents. Today there are over 13,000 UHaul dealerships in the United States and the name UHaul has become synonymous with the truck and trailer rental business.

The Shoen family currently owns about 40% of the company; the rest is part of a conglomerate called AMERICO, and they are headquartered in Phoenix, Arizona.

A typical franchise operation
A typical franchise operation | Source

The Fleet

Trucks available for rent range in size from 10’ to 26’; pickup trucks, vans and trailers of varying sizes are also available. You can also rent two-wheel tow dollies and auto transports to move your passenger vehicles. In addition, most UHaul centers have storage space available. Storage space is rented weekly or monthly on a first come, first served basis.

In the past few years UHaul has made a great effort to upgrade their truck fleet. Many newer trucks with little wear and tear are available now, and the fleet is being upgraded continually. In addition, UHaul has an excellent record regarding road assistance should you have a problem with the truck.

A Word From UHaul

Fleet Availability

Now we get into a tricky area with regards to UHaul. The UHaul inventory at any center is divided into “in-town” and “one-way” inventory. Those trucks and trailers designated as “in-town” cannot be rented for a one-way trip, and the opposite is also true. This can be quite infuriating for customers looking to rent, who see quite a few trucks and trailers on the lot, and are told there is nothing available.

At corporate centers, rarely can you rent a truck or trailer for a 24-hour period, although most of the public believes that to be part of the rental agreement. Most corporate centers will rent for blocks of time, either six hours or twelve hours, but you will be charged the 24-hour rate.

Make sure when you are renting that you ask when the equipment is to be returned, and then make darn sure you are not late in returning. Five minutes late means another day of charges to your bill, and all of the arguing in the world won’t change that late fee. Remember, they have your credit card as a rental requirement, and they have the power and the right to tack on charges if you are late.

Having said all that, you are much better off going to an independent franchise agent; oftentimes you will be able to rent for the entire 24-hour period, especially if you are renting during slow times of the year.

A corporate UHaul center
A corporate UHaul center | Source

In-town rate structure for trucks

Truck size
Cost per day
10' and 14'
24' and 26'

Rate Structure

Now things really get tricky! One-way rates are determined by availability of equipment in any particular city. For example, if you are renting a truck in Seattle for a one-way trip to Tucson, the rate will be determined by how much equipment is in Tucson at that time, and the rates are constantly changing according to inventory movement. It is entirely possible that it is cheaper to rent a truck from Seattle to Orlando than it is to rent from Seattle to Tucson, a considerably shorter distance.

Armed with this information, it is important to deal only with independent dealers when you need a one-way truck. They have the freedom to do a little “shopping around” for you. What do I mean? Remember, the rate is determined by inventory, and that applies to cities in the same state. It is possible to find different rates for two cities that are fifty miles apart.

Back to the example of Seattle to Tucson; say on the day you make your reservation that one-way rate is $850. A wise renter would then ask what the one-way fee is from Seattle to Sierra Vista, or Green Valley, Arizona, two cities within 50 miles of Tucson. If the one-way fee is $700, then rent the truck for Green Valley, drop it off there after unloading in Tucson, and get a ride back to Tucson. Savings…$150!

As unbelievable as that may sound, that is in fact the way the rate structure works for UHaul. Live with it and learn to use it to your advantage.

Corporate Headquarters

A markerPhoenix, Arizona -
Phoenix, AZ, USA
[get directions]

Truck Inspection

Read this next section carefully! Before you drive your truck out of the UHaul lot, make sure you walk around the truck and make a note of every single scratch and dent on the truck or trailer. Repeat: every single scratch and dent. There may be quite a few, and it may take you quite a bit of time to do it, but do it for your own peace of mind AND for your bank account.

If, when you return the truck or trailer, there is a scratch or dent that was not identified at the time of the rental, you will be charged for the damage. Period! This basic fact is in your rental agreement and believe me, UHaul will inspect that truck when it returns and they will charge you for repairs.

Make sure you check your auto insurance to see if you are covered when you rent a truck or trailer. If you are not, do not leave that rental yard without insurance. It may cost you $15 for a day rental, or $100 for a one-way, but it is worth it for your peace of mind. UHaul Corporation has no sense of humor when it comes to damage incurred on their equipment.

Fill ‘er Up!

You, the renter, are responsible for the gasoline you use while you are renting. You are required to return the truck with the same amount of gasoline that it had when it left the UHaul lot. UHaul employees check this closely, and if you are short they will charge you greatly to replace the missing gasoline. They will not only charge you for the gasoline but they will charge you for labor fees to have it fueled, so make sure you do not scrimp on this requirement.

How Has Your Experience Been With UHaul?

  • I have never used their services or products
  • I have rented from them before and I was less than impressed
  • I have rented from them before and they were alright; not great, but alright.
  • I have rented from them before and I was happy with the service.
See results without voting

Compare with Other Dealers

Always get a price quote from UHaul, and then turn right around and get a price quote from another UHaul dealership. You just might be pleasantly surprised!

Also keep in mind that there are other truck rental companies available to you. Budget, Penske, and Ryder are just three of the alternatives you should check. Here is a bonus tip: Once you get a quote from one of the “other guys,” take your quote to UHaul and see if they will do better. UHaul is a business, and they face competition just like any other business, and they have been known to meet or beat a quote by another competitor. It is well-worth your time to shop around.

How Do You Rate This Company

3.1 out of 5 stars from 33 ratings of UHaul

Final Thoughts

It is important to repeat that you, the customer, are much better off dealing with an independent UHaul dealer rather than a corporate store. Rules are inflexible with corporate UHaul; you have a much better chance of being treated well by an independent dealer.

Customer satisfaction is not high on the priority list at UHaul, especially during peak rental periods like the summer months. It is an attitude that filters down from the corporate offices in Arizona and infiltrates each individual corporate center around the country. With that in mind, make sure that you take the precautions outlined in this article, and you protect yourself by following the suggestions I have given you. It just might save you hundreds of dollars the next time you need to rent a truck!

2012 William D. Holland (aka billybuc)

More by this Author

Comments 110 comments

Janine Huldie profile image

Janine Huldie 3 years ago from New York, New York

Great review Bill and truly some very invaluable information for those needing to rent a UHaul truck for their own personal needs. I truly didn't know some of this and sure others didn't either and will be able to benefit from your expertise. Have of course voted up and shared all over!!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thank you Janine; most people do not know this stuff when they rent a truck, and you really can save money if armed with this info going in. Thank you as always my friend!

carol7777 profile image

carol7777 3 years ago from Arizona

We have rented UHaul trucks so many times as we have moved a lot. We get packers to load and unload at the destination. save many dollars this way. When we left Florida after being caught in Charlie Hurricane..We lost our rental truck due to all the problems. They had one old one used for local and we took it a a much reduced rate. All kinds of problems ensued..however they took great care of us and all got solved. We have always gotten great service. Good job on this and they should hire you as spokesperson.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Carol, I don't' think UHaul wants me as their spokesperson; I have been rather vocal against them for a number of years because of their policy regarding customers. I find them to be rather arrogant.....maybe they should pay me "not to speak".....LOL

Thank you my friend!

midget38 profile image

midget38 3 years ago from Singapore

Thanks for sharing your expertise with us. Safeguarding yourself when it comes to buying or renting anything is truly important! Thanks for the reminders. Sharing!

carol7777 profile image

carol7777 3 years ago from Arizona

I was kind of being facetious...Still a great review.

Curiad profile image

Curiad 3 years ago from Lake Charles, LA.

This is good information Bill. Very helpful for anyone wanting to rent a truck.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Michelle, it is my pleasure; thanks for the visit.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Carol, I try to assume that others are not being as facetious as I would be a scary world if that were true. :)

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thanks Mark; I appreciate you stopping by, as always!

Laurinzo Scott profile image

Laurinzo Scott 3 years ago from Phoenix, Az.

Thanks Bill for yet another incredible hub that was definitely of interest to me in that I used to work for a moving company in Las Vegas, and I have heard of, and seen so many horror stories of let-down customers.

Years ago I read the inspirational story of Uhaul's founder... what a shame that our dreams can sometimes be sullied by greed and bungling by another generation.

I am somewhat biased admittedly; yet this hub was not ...definitely voted Useful.

tsmog profile image

tsmog 3 years ago from Escondido, CA

This is awesome Bill. Very informative and extends a hand offered with experience. I giggle remembering all the trailers hooked up at a Union76 station. The open trailers were always in demand during springtime with gardening and stuff.

I got an eight course meal out of this article and going now to dinner table to share.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 3 years ago from England

Fascinating review billy, yes some of those companies can be set in their ways, she says politely! lol! interesting stuff, and really useful to people about to embark on a move and needing help, nell

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Laurinzo, there are countless horror stories of people moving and being let down by horrible service. If this hub helps just one person avoid those let-downs, then it will be worth it. Thank you my friend!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Tim, very kind of you my friend. Summers are crazy times for rentals. I learned never to go to a gas station around five o'clock in the evening because everyone was gassing up the Uhaul trucks for return. :) Lessons learned!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Nell, most definitely set in their ways. I hope this helps a few people because moving is stressful enough without having to deal with a company that just doesn't care. Thank you Nell!

lrc7815 profile image

lrc7815 3 years ago from Central Virginia

The man can write a great review too! Am I surprised? Not in the least. It sure helps to have inside knowledge, doesn't it? This review is invaluable to the consumer planning a move. A little work up front could save them a ton of money on the back end. As consumers, we are far too trusting so realistic reviews are critical. You have not only written a great review but you have also served your readership greatly. Great job pal.

penlady profile image

penlady 3 years ago from Sacramento, CA

Never knew the history of UHaul. Furthermore, I never knew any of this information about UHaul. I just always assumed it was a fairly reasonable company. It’s just another good example of how a company that’s “heavily corporate” cares little to nothing about its customers – despite us being the ones who build their business.

Voted up, useful and tweeted.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Linda, I have witnessed so many disappointed people during my time at UHaul, that I just felt it was time to write this hub. There is no reason why people can't be armed with some good information prior to a move.

Thank you my dear; I'm working on new hubs today, sequestered in the writing studio pounding on the keys. :)

hugs to you my friend


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Penlady, that is exactly the problem...most people do not know this information and then find themselves at a huge disadvantage when it is time to rent a truck. Thank you for the visit and the sharing.

kelleyward 3 years ago

Hi Bill! This is a fantastic review of UHaul. I've used the trucks before when I moved from college to where I currently live and had no problems at all with the vehicle or company. Voted up! Good luck with the contest :) Take care, Kelley

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thank you Kelley! It never hurts to have a little information when you rent equipment; it just might save you some money. This will probably be my only entry in the contest so we'll see how it works. :)

ChristyWrites profile image

ChristyWrites 3 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

You present a useful and honest guide here Bill. I rented UHaul trucks a few times when moving and remember having to beat the clock so I would be able to get the truck back in time. Voting up and sharing too.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thank you Christy; I hope this article gives people the information they need to avoid headaches and hidden costs.

Pamela99 profile image

Pamela99 3 years ago from United States

It has been many years ago but I have also experienced moving with a UHaul truck. Things went fine in our case. I do think your advice is excellent, however, especially taking a good look at the truck before you drive off the lot. Voted up and useful

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

As always, Pamela, I appreciate you stopping by. On average,citizens in the U.S. will use UHaul four times during their lifetime. That is a lot of money on hidden costs if they are not forewarned. I hope this article helps.

Thundermama profile image

Thundermama 3 years ago from Canada

I am always impressed with the number of careers you have had bb, it amazes me. I learned a lot from this review, as I always do with your hubs. I appreciate your honesty.

tobusiness profile image

tobusiness 3 years ago from Bedfordshire, U.K

Having downsized recently, thankfully, I will not be moving anytime soon, but a great review.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Jo, I love simple means no need for UHaul!!!! Why didn't I think of that? LOL Thank you Jo!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thunder, you have to remember, I have been alive a very long time. To fight off boredom I just grabbed whatever job was available. :)

Thank you my friend; you are greatly appreciated.

Your Cousins profile image

Your Cousins 3 years ago from Atlanta, GA

I have used U-Haul a number of times and have found that the $29.95 price looks good on paper, but ends up being a lot more when all the moving is done. Thanks for your advice. Voted Up and Useful.

Radcliff profile image

Radcliff 3 years ago from Hudson, FL

Good info, Bill. The thing about rate differences is good to know. We've rented UHauls twice within the last year, and both times everything went smoothly. We did rent from independent UHaul dealer people, as you recommend. We actually turned our truck in quite late one time and didn't get charged for it. I will definitely keep your tips in mind for our next move!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Cousins, yes, that $29.95 sounds great until reality hits! Thank you for stopping by and I'm glad this was useful.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Liz, it is always a pleasure having you stop by. Thank you my friend and I'm glad you have had good experiences with UHaul. Sending you best wishes from across the country.

xstatic profile image

xstatic 3 years ago from Eugene, Oregon

Thanks for the great tips Bill! This could be a money saving Hub for a lot of people. I have used UHaul a number of times and it has worked out well. I am pretty sure each time was from an independent dealer. The last one was a one way from Eugene to Portland for my daughter. It was late, a cold night and I barely made it to the place I had to return the truck on time, before closing. There was some problem with the gas being short, but the young man that handled check in let it go. I was tired and ready to quit, so was glad he did.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Xstatic, I'm sure glad you got the right guy to check your gas for you; you can be two gallons short and they will charge you for a quarter tank. The gods were smiling on your that night.

Thank you Sir! Pass it along so we can save other people the problems that can arise at UHaul!

aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

I knew about everything but the corporate rentals, and that it could be less going with other locales to your designated city. Great insider info. Awesome and up!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Glad you stopped by, Deb; even if you don't use this info, maybe some day you can advise someone else.

Michele Travis profile image

Michele Travis 3 years ago from U.S.A. Ohio

Your hubs are fantastic. You can write about so many different things. Some of us, can write about one or two things. But having the ability to write about a lot of things is wonderful.

Hey, voted up:)

tillsontitan profile image

tillsontitan 3 years ago from New York

While UHaul may want to pay you not to speak we sure would rather you do speak. We could take up a collection to keep you speaking if that helps ;)

Having lived in the same house for the past 45 years I have very little moving experience...stick the, stuck in Tillson!

Thanks for another great and helpful hub.

Voted up, useful, and interesting. Shared and pinned too!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Michele, I consider that a great compliment. Thank you so much! I am growing as a writer; I just hope I'm growing in the right direction. :)

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Mary, I'll keep speaking; not sure anyone could shut me up. :) Sheez, 45 years in the same house. You are killing UHaul's profits. :)

Thank you Mary!

bdegiulio profile image

bdegiulio 3 years ago from Massachusetts

Hi Bill. Funny you should write about U-haul as I just used a U-haul rental truck a few weeks ago. I did go through an independent dealer and had no problems but the truck was very old and had over 165K miles on it. Luckily I was renting just for the day and only traveled about 30 miles total but I would not have wanted to take that truck any great distance. As far as the customer service they were very good. They did inspect the truck when I returned it and I had no problems. I will need to rent another truck in a few week so I will definitely give this a re-read. For the $15 I did take the insurance and it seems like a no brainer for the minimal fee.

Great job. Very timely for me.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Bill, I'm glad you had a positive experience with them; most people do as long as they don't deal with a corporate center. Thank you my friend, and best of luck in a few weeks.

bakingbread-101 3 years ago

The $19.95 ends up being closer to $88 by the time you pay for everything else such as insurance, mileage, etc. Definitely make sure you know when to return the truck. Uhaul sent the police to one guy's place for the "stolen vehicle" because he misunderstood the return time/day.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Baking, there is no doubt about it; most people are not aware of what expenses and penalties await them. Thanks for adding to the discussion.

shiningirisheyes profile image

shiningirisheyes 3 years ago from Upstate, New York

Billy - This informative Hub will come in handy to many who are moving due to employment issues as well as housing affordability. I consider myself fortunate. When I needed a mover, I hired a good friend of my brothers who was professional, cheap and personable.

It's a sad reflection of the current crisis in our country today but hubs like this will help considerably.

Blessings XO

always exploring profile image

always exploring 3 years ago from Southern Illinois

After reading this, i don't think i would use UHaul. Seems like it's a little one-sided. Good to know the facts you've given. I'm sure it will be helpful to those who will be using their service. Voted up and useful.

Jordanwalker39 profile image

Jordanwalker39 3 years ago from GA

Thanks for all the UHaul information it is very informative and interesting. voted up.

Suhail and my dog profile image

Suhail and my dog 3 years ago from Mississauga, ON

Very informative hub. I have rented UHaul truck for 6 hours and I now think it must have been an independent dealership in Brampton, Ontario, Canada. The service was very good. Thy guy on inspection walked me through each and every scratch and they were not fussy about time. But I am sure a crook could have taken me on a jolly nice ride because I lacked valuable piece of information that is there in your hub.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Hey Beckie, what a lovely surprise on this Election Eve! You are right, of course; it is a testament to the state of our economy, and I pray not too many people will need this information. Thank you dear lady and rest well tonight.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Ruby, my one and only attempt at the current contest. I just don't enjoy doing these hubs, but I thought I would try just one and see what happens. Thank you my friend; yes, stay away from UHaul if possible.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thanks Jordan; it's always nice to see you pop up on the reader board. :)

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Suhail, I'm glad you were treated well and yes, it must have been an independent dealer. You don't get that kind of service at a center. Thank you!

Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 3 years ago from United States

Great review, bill.

I have used U haul and would give my two thumbs up for their policies and services and flexibility.

Awesome review and you sure are a man of many professions, my friend. Versatile indeed :)

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Ruchira, I am just a man who has lived a long time....and a man who gets bored and restless if on a job too long. :)

Thank you as always my friend! Wishing you peace and happiness, today and always.


Mhatter99 profile image

Mhatter99 3 years ago from San Francisco

Plus... at SF's U-Hail. help is available outside gate (migrant workers).

rcrumple profile image

rcrumple 3 years ago from Kentucky

Bill, My I dealt with U-Haul twice. One moving to the South in '78, and once moving back to the North in '92. Seems like the prices doubled for about the same distance over that time. Also, the second trip was a nightmare as the truck barely had enough power to come up interstate 65 in Tennessee. I remember semi's with flashers on passing me as I squeaked over the hills at about 15 mph. Swore I'd never use them again after that. Interesting info, my friend!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Martin, great point! :) Thank you Sir!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Rich, yours is not an isolated story I'm sad to say. Glad you made it and you're not still out on the freeway somewhere. :) Thanks buddy!

Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

Glimmer Twin Fan 3 years ago

I have to honestly say the I rented a truck from UHaul many years ago. The transmission broke halfway thru my journey which meant that when I returned it I was late and as you noted, if you are late, they charge you so I spent a long time fighting that extra charge. It also took forever to get a tow and a replacement truck. I really did not have a good experience. I'm glad they are updating their fleet. I think that part of my issue was that the office I rented from was not very well run!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Glimmer, there are many, many horror stories like yours. I heard of one family that broke down five times moving from Louisiana to Seattle....five different breakdowns, tows, and waiting for repairs. Unbelievable that they charged you for being late, but it does not surprise me.

Thank you for sharing that experience; you did a great job of underlining my points.

teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 3 years ago

We rented a UHaul years ago to move from one home to another and we found the service adequate. I kind of liked driving the big truck, it was a feeling of adventure! I can't imagine what it costs today to fill 'er up. Great post, well written and very detailed on the pros and cons of UHaul rental.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Dianna, I took one of those big trucks across country, from Washington to Vermont....twice....and it was an adventure for sure. :) Thank you my friend.

Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 3 years ago from southern USA

Hi Bill,

We have rented U-Haul a good bit to help our children move, and then on our last move to the small town, we used a U-Haul and did it all ourselves. We were happy with it. My son was just offered a job in Tenn., near Nashville, so if he takes it, I expect we will be renting another U-Haul. The only upsetting thing is that would mean my grandchildren will be moving far away, and I won't be able to see them as much . . . life moves on (no pun).

Excellent review.

Blessings. In His Love, Faith Reaper

Denise Handlon profile image

Denise Handlon 3 years ago from North Carolina

Bill, this is a wonderfully laid out hub with a ton of useful info. I have used U-Haul and probably only used a competitor once. Since I moved no less than 7 times that makes me a satisfied customer. Remind me to tell you about my adventure driving a U Haul truck out of Alaska and to California with my Sunfire in tow on a flatbed. :) Rated up/U/I

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Faith, life does more on for sure, with or without our permission. :) Thank you my dear and I'm glad you have had good experiences with UHaul. As for your grandchildren, that would indeed be sad for you. :)

Blessings to you my dear,


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Denise, I can only imagine what a trip out of Alaska would be like; sounds like a future hub for you. :)

Thank you Denise!

fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 3 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York lengthy comment, for a change. (shock).....I am sure I have put some "U-Haul" children through college. I shudder to add op my U-haul expenses over my adult life of gypsy living!!!!..............UP+++

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Paula, I was thinking the same thing and I only have one son....but the number of times I have used this company for my own needs would keep them in business for quite some time.

Thank you my always!

shemiahl profile image

shemiahl 3 years ago from Arkansas

U-haul more like We-Rip U off.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Shemiahl, LOL for sure! Thank you for the visit.

mjkearn profile image

mjkearn 3 years ago

Hi Billy

Don't think this style of job application is going to get you back with U-Haul.

Always great to get the suss on a company from an insider. It's frustrating when companies get bigger they seem to get up their own rear end and forget the folk that got them there.

I've had some unreal car hire adventures resulting in getting arrested in Framce for travelling 200 feet from the hire centre in Switzerland to my hotel in France. You could literally see one from the other. Having a little French and calling the cops morons in their own language didn't help at first, but being in the days when splashing the cash worked well we all left great buddies.

The rates example you quoted for the one way trip really do seem bizarre and great job for showing how to save a very tidy sum.

Another great hub from a great man and fab hubber. Voted up, ticked and shared.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

MJ, I am quite certain I won't be working for UHaul in the near future. :) Thank you my friend, for the kind words. I hope you write a hub about that French adventure some day. I have no doubt many would find it amusing. In fact, I'm looking forward to hearing about it.

K9keystrokes profile image

K9keystrokes 3 years ago from Northern, California

A fantastic review from an insider! I imagine just about every person has (or will have) a UHaul truck rental experience at some point in life. Your knowledge and insight is a very helpful read. Great advice, sir. Thanks Billy! Up for sure!!


billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

K9, you beat me; I was just about to read your new hub. Thank you my friend; if you got some useful information out of this then great!

Have a great weekend!


SweetiePie profile image

SweetiePie 3 years ago from Southern California, USA

Your hub reminded me of his really nice Uhaul rental dealer, who also owned a local market. I took my niece down there a few time to by snacks, but it is sad because this man has since past away. I did not know him that well, but my friend that I went to school with considered him a close friend, and a fixture of their mountain community.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Well shoot, Sweetie, I didn't want to make you sad. :) Thank you for the visit and I appreciate your comment.

bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida

Bill, I rented a U-Haul truck to move myself from by boyfriend's house back to mine this past July. I must say, it was a good experience. The woman who rented me the truck showed me the gas gauge and warned me not to fill more than I used, or I'd be throwing money away. She exended my return time so as to avoid additional costs on my part and took me around the truck, marking off damage that wasn't already marked. Maybe it's because she was a single mom, I don't know. All I know is they were there when I needed them and didn't play any games.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Sha, that's the way we treated customers in our independent franchise; it's not unusual at all. However, if you tell me that happened at a UHaul corporate center I'll tell you that you are one of the very lucky ones, and to be very thankful. :)

Thanks as always my dear; I hope you are having a great evening.

love as always,


SilverGenes 3 years ago

Your article really shows both sides of this company and what to watch for before renting. Excellent job, Bill! I guess I was dealing with the wrong side of UHaul but after my pod was MIA from June to September and then they refused to deliver to the agreed up destination, I started looking for alternatives. I found a moving company that did all the loading and unloading directly to my home for less money and without a 15 hour trip through the mountains. But I digress... I agree about the small dealers. I'd used UHaul many times in the past and had really good service (except for that one occasion when it felt like we were walking into the parlour of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre family). Unfortunately for the good guys, this last experience was so horrendous that I'd choose just about any other company in future.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Alex, there are a great many out there who have had similar experiences. We had a great business built upon the people who would never return to the corporate store. LOL Their poor customer relations was our key to success.

Thank you my friend; have a great Sunday!

mdalaminkhaky 3 years ago

thanks i see your 3 photo best.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thank you mdalaminkhaky!

Jeff 2 years ago

When you were a local Uhaul dealer, did you have to collect and pay sales tax?

billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

Jeff, it depends on the state. In Washington yes.

Jeannieinabottle profile image

Jeannieinabottle 2 years ago from Baltimore, MD

This hub includes even more reasons why I hate moving. I think next time I move, I will pay professional movers with their own truck. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 years ago from Olympia, WA Author

You are very welcome, Jeannie. I feel safe in saying I'll never move out of state again. Thanks for the visit.

Aaron 23 months ago

We're moving to Steamboat Springs soon and were considering renting the 26 footer. How do they handle in the mountains?

billybuc profile image

billybuc 23 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Aaron, the newer ones handle fine, but make sure you get a new truck. There are still some older trucks being rented and they will struggle in the mountains.

Aaron 23 months ago

Is there a way for me to ensure that I get a newer truck?

billybuc profile image

billybuc 23 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Aaron, all you can do is request one...if you can't get a guarantee then call a different place until you do get that guarantee. It shouldn't be a problem during the winter months. UHaul needs the business during the winter, and they'll find a truck with low miles so they don't lose that business.

Aaron 23 months ago

Great. Thank you for your help!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 23 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

You are very welcome, Aaron. Good luck and have a safe trip.

CCross 23 months ago

Billybuc, some of your information is accurate while some of it is not. I am and have been an independent dealer for Uhaul for quite sometime and would like to point out some of your errors. While it is true that you will generally get treated better by Uhaul Dealers rather than corporate centers it is not accurate to say that the one way fleet cannot be used for in town rentals. It is accurate that in town equipment is generally only for in town use but that is a measure meant to protect renters. Older equipment that exceeds certain age or mileage limits is placed into this in town (rotational) fleet. It is not used for one way rentals to ensure the best possible reliability for the renters. The one way fleet however is used on a daily basis for local rentals. If the equipment is not already reserved it can be used local as much as possible. It would make no sense to turn away ten rentals for a day or two each and let the truck sit there for a month because there were no one way rentals. If it doesn't move it doesn't generate revenue. Damage, yes Uhual will collect for damage but what they charge is actually very very fair and in some cases from my experience not even what they should be charging. So if you are going on a one way rental your equipment will be very reliable in general and will be part of the newer fleet. It is not necessary to call multiple dealers and check rates. Uhauls system will automatically tell the staff checking you out if there is a cheaper rate by dropping off in a different location, and the staff will offer that to you the renter and let you make the choice. Finally Uhaul does not match rates at the center or dealer location, if you want to try for a lower rate you must call UHauls traffic department. The will do it on some instances but not very often and the reason why is Uhaul does not guarantee the lowest rate the guarantee the lowest cost overall. There are a lot of things you must consider to determine total cost. Late, that's a good one. The only time I have seen a center even get stiff on being an hour late or so is if being late impacted another rental. An on the 24 hour rental thing, yes they will always try to minimize your rental time because the more rentals the equipment goes on the better it is for the company however, even a center will give you the 24 hours at the same one day rate if you tell them you need it for 24 hours, never seen any argument there. Im not saying your lying in any way, only that perhaps things have changes since you were involved. Or maybe your MCO was run differently than mine here in Utah.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 23 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thanks CCross. I appreciate the information and the way you presented it. I do think the MCO here is run differently, but some policies may have changed since this was written. Anyway, good to have the accurate info, so I thank you.

Marc G profile image

Marc G 9 months ago from Connecticut - Florida - Canada

As a self storage owner I have found it hard to make money as a Uhaul dealer and even harder to delight our customers with UHaul.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 9 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Marc, I hear you and I agree. Best wishes, and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Jeff 9 months ago

Billy do you have an email address I can contact you at?


billybuc profile image

billybuc 9 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

MarleneB profile image

MarleneB 7 months ago from Northern California, USA

My house is on the market and if all goes well, I will be entertaining offers and selling soon. It's time to look into moving trucks so this hub is very timely for me. I found some very useful information here, especially the tip about one-way rentals and how it makes sense to see how much it would cost to deliver the vehicle to one location versus another location.

billybuc profile image

billybuc 7 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Marlene, I'm so glad you found it helpful. Make a few calls, test the waters, get quotes.....and then get new quotes a week or so before you are scheduled to leave. You just might find a better bargain later in the game. :)

Michelle 2 months ago

I would just like to say that I completely agree with an above comment. Your MCO ran things WaaaY different then mine. I am a general manager for a corporate location. We have 2 complete different views, lol, but that's ok.

I earned my position by my hard work & customer service skills. My MCO recognized that & I was given a brand new store to run with 563 storage units! My number one priority is customer service. That's satisfying the customer from the beginning to end. I do everything to work FOR my customers.

The only time a customer can not get a 24 hour rental is the extreme busy seasons, such as college kids moving. That is because we're trying to accommodate all the families moving; this summer we were short on equipment due to high demands; its heartbreaking to see a family in need and not be able to help right then.

We are very clear in how the pricing works;giving an estimated total based on mileage used. We even breakdown the fuel, how to get back to exact mark by the gallon, so u don't waste your money in gas. And I'm sure you will be glad to hear we do now match competitor rates, with ease and without a phone call! And like one stated above, the computer automatically tells us if there is a cheaper rate with a different drop off. Sometimes we even offer a discount to drop off in a Hot Destination!

I'm sorry you feel this way about UHaul, I have had an opposite experience, and love the company I work for! Unfortunately my experience with dealers is more like yours towards us corporate stores! Yes i have experience working with dealers as well, i worked in the traffic department at one point. I feel that dealers don't care as much as an actual uhaul does. They care more about their own business, and enjoy the commissions from rental income. Trucks are usually dirty and just generally are not taken care of. Luckily the dealers are monitored by corporate and have an AFM to report too, who makes sure things are ran correctly. In fact if wasn't for corporate or the corporate side such as the traffic department and MCO; dealers might not be as successful, considering they don't even have to make their own reservations, they're all just given to you! If you are a good dealer then you will earn repeat customers the same as I; excellent customer service.

Sounds to me like the MCO might need looked at! I know here in the Kansas City region, you will get the best customer service at any of our corporate stores!! My MCO is the best!!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 months ago from Olympia, WA Author

Thank you Michelle! I love the respectful way you disagreed. Truly! I really appreciate that and I appreciate your views on this.

Hart James 2 months ago

Great article. Thank you. I am actually moving back to Olympia, Wa. I have used the Haul It there. I thought they were very good. question...taking a Haul it from Olympia to Ft Bragg, Ca was about $500. Taking a U Haul It from Ft Bragg/Ukiah/or Santa Rosa, Ca is about $1100! Is it just California? As California has some very tricky ways of getting more money. Or can I get around this. I see that coming from Olympia to this area in Ca is still about $500. Any ideas/suggestions? Thank you!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 8 weeks ago from Olympia, WA Author

Hart, it's not California per se as much as it is the fact that there are a lot of trucks ending up in California and that means supply and demand kicks in....since they have such a huge inventory in California they can charge whatever they want because they don't really care if they get more trucks to California. It's a win-win situation for them.

Have a safe trip and thanks for the comment/read.

King Illustration 5 weeks ago

I am the artist that rebranded and created the U-Haul imaging campaign called "Supergraphics," the iconic imaging of one of the most recognized brands in North America. ​I was the Senior graphic designer for over 15 years at the corporate office in Phoenix, AZ. I no longer work for the company since 2013 and choose to use their competitors.

Unknown facts revealed here:

billybuc profile image

billybuc 5 weeks ago from Olympia, WA Author

Well I appreciate you sharing with us, King Illustration! Thank you!

Amy Wheeler 3 weeks ago

I have a question; this may seem like a crazy question, but I have to ask because I live in a huge city with a large crime rate. My question is; what happens when the Uhaul Van that has full coverage mind you.. Gets stolen. Luckily, we got all of our belongings out into our new home in South Carolina from New York, but returning the Uhaul.. We were saying our last goodbyes to our old apartment and all our memories.. But closing the door to leave we realize the Uhaul van was GONE! Stolen! The took the plate off, and a took the few things we had left like our bathroom tolietries. .. The van's been stolen! I don't know what to do! I'm scared I'm going to get in trouble because I only rented for a few weeks and its a day after. Should I call the police? Someone help?!

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 weeks ago from Olympia, WA Author

Without a doubt call the police, Amy! Then call UHaul and tell them immediately.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article