Best Identity Theft Protection - Unbiased Reviews

Updated on June 8, 2018

Have you been a victim of identity theft?

See results

Is identity theft protection worth it? And if it is worth it, which company's service is best? I am truly not affiliated with any of these companies—unlike most of the "unbiased" reviews on the topic—so, please, read on.

A very good friend of mine had her identity stolen about 12 years ago, and she was put through the wringer for years trying to clear her name. She even had an FBI agent assigned to her to help her wade through all the processes of getting rid of credit cards and other debt fraudulently created under her name. When you ask her about it, she sighs heavily and shudders, over a decade later.

So we know the threat is real, and with more and more information online and within reach of criminals all around the world, the threat is growing. (At the end of the article, I share a tip she told me her FBI agent told her to prevent fraudulent credit card use.)

Let's go over some of the leading ID theft protection services. At the end of this article, I'll give you my recommendations (Note: I am NOT affiliated with any of these companies or services):

  • LifeLock
  • Identity Guard
  • ID Watchdog
  • Debix
  • TrustedID
  • ProtectMyID
  • GuardDog

LifeLock

LifeLock is easily the largest and most well-known purveyor of identity protection services. However, it's a company shrouded in controversy and questionable business practices, so it's not necessarily the best choice out there. The company's CEO, Todd Davis, famously gave out his social security number out to the public a few years ago and challenged anyone to try to assume his identity fraudulently (criminals did—13 times through May 2010—which just goes to show you, that you shouldn't exactly court fraud in your name, no matter how well protected you think you are!). In addition, one of the founders of the company was jailed for unpaid casino markers, and the company has been sued for deceptive advertising by Experian (later settled) and fined $12 million by the FTC for the same. The company is endorsed by a few right-wing media personalities like Sean Hannity, Rush Limbaugh, and Fred Thompson.

Let me remind you that I'm not affiliated with LifeLock or any other identity protection company on this page!

So let's get to the service itself.

Cost per year: $99-110 ($99 if you can find an affiliate code), or $10 per month

What that price includes (see chart at bottom for comparison with other services): identity theft insurance ($1 million), recovery services, fraud detection across thousands of databases, monitoring of credit card, quarterly fraud alerts by "big 3" credit reporting agencies, removal from junk mail lists and preapproved credit card offers.

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer: ongoing credit card monitoring, internet protection (from phishing attacks, etc), and compensation/lost wage coverage. The following services require their "command center" service which costs an additional $55 per year: monitoring of: public records, court records, sex offender registries, file sharing networks, name & alias usage, payday loans.

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: B (due to FTC action against company)

Consumer Reports doesn't paint a particularly flattering review of the company: you're basically paying for the credit bureau fraud alert renewals every 3 months, and for requesting no preapproved credit card offers from the credit bureaus, or junk mail from the Direct Marketing Association. The latter two you can do so for free. You also get insurance, but that insurance is subject to exclusions and unclear wording, including for "consequential damages, including lost wages."

Identity Guard

Identity Guard, owned by Intersections, Inc., offers a similar suite of identity theft protection services as LifeLock.

Cost: $18 per month ($15 using an affiliate discount), which comes out to $216 (or $180) per year

What that price gets you: identity theft insurance ($1 million), lost wages compensation ($1000/week up to 4 weeks maximum), recovery services, fraud detection across credit bureaus, zone alarm and keystroke logging (Internet/Web fraud)

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer: junk mail list and preapproved credit card removals; monitoring of court records, public records directories, or sex offender registries.

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A+

So this is a similar set of protections, with a few added features (primarily wage replacement under the insurance policy, and some anti-phishing protection while you're online). With these, you pay a bit more - about $100 more per year. You might derive a bit more peace of mind knowing that the company hasn't been sued by the government for misleading advertising.

ID Watchdog

ID Watchdog, owned by Identity Rehab Corporation, says it focuses more on detection and resolution of identity theft, rather than providing insurance like the previous two profiled services, LifeLock and Identity Guard.

Cost: $20 monthly or $180 annually

What the price gets you: initial scan to see any existing or potential cases of fraud with your name or ID; quarterly credit bureau alerts; monitoring if any recent additions to your snapshot were made without your consent (i.e. fraudulent); assistance in resolving fraud and keeping your record clean.

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer: Insurance and wage replacement coverage

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A (most complaints relate to billing; all resolved)

If you don't need or think insurance is not particularly useful, ID Watchdog might be an alternative worth checking out. However, it is quite a bit more expensive, and it's not clear that it offers anything remarkably different from its competitors to warrant the higher cost. The service implies that it offers more hands-on assistance in resolving fraud issues.

Debix

Debix adds an interesting wrinkle to the usual panoply of fraud monitoring and amelioration services: the company gives you a special Debix phone number to use instead of your own number. When a call comes in from a potential scammer, Debix will check with you to see if you've authorized the request or action, and, if not, gives you an easy way to get Debix to take action.

Cost: $10 per month

What the price gets you: Quarterly fraud alerts with the big 3 credit bureaus; a phone number to use with any transaction that could potentially be fraudulent; insurance ($1 million); recovery assistance.

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer: initial snapshot and monitoring of other databases (public records, terrorist watchlists, sex offender registries, etc.), removal from junk mail lists and preapproved credit card offers.

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A (4 complaints over prior 36 months; 3 resolved)

Debix's approach is a unique one, one that allows you to accept or deny credit application offers through your phone. The inclusion of insurance and some sort of recovery assistance (as usual, the latter is quite unclear about what that includes) makes this a relative bargain at $10 per month.

TrustedID

With the tagline "total vigilance," TrustedID offers a fairly full spectrum of similar ID theft detection and protection services as its competitor, including a $1 million insurance policy. The only thing I can see which differentiates it from its competitors is the addition of health insurance fraud detection (checks to see if someone is using your health insurance benefits). The company also offers a family plan option.

Cost: $15 individual, $28 family (billed monthly); $125 individual, $240 family (billed annually); you can try the service free for 14 days

What the price gets you: monitoring of fraud (healthcare insurance, credit card, bank account and SSID scanning), quarterly fraud alerts with credit bureaus; insurance ($1 million); recovery assistance; junk mail list removal; anti-phishing software (online); lost wages compensations (4 weeks' or $5,000, whichever is greater)

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer: Virtually nothing, except Debix's OnCall phone service

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A (18 complaints, 15 resolved, over prior 36 months)

TrustedID offers an impressive spectrum of services, and a substantial discount if you want to cover your spouse, children, and other relatives living in your home. 

ProtectMyID

ProtectMyID is owned by Experian, one of the "big 3" credit bureaus. In addition to a familiar set of features, ProtectMyID also detects and reports to you any address changes in your monitored accounts. Unsurprisingly, the cost includes an annual full Experian credit report. Hawked by right-wing populists Laura Ingraham and Lou Dobbs, so it has a bit of the "sell your gold!" feel about it.

Cost: $10 per month (pricing not prominently displayed until you sign up); 10% discount for seniors

What the price gets you: monitoring of fraud (healthcare insurance, credit card, bank account and SSID scanning), annual Experian credit report; insurance ($1 million); recovery assistance; lost wages compensation (4 weeks' maximum at $1000/week max)

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer:  junk mail list removal; anti-phishing software (online); 

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A- (53 complaints, 40 related to customers not getting a refund as requested)

In terms of their offerings, ProtectMyID seems fairly comprehensive, but their high complaint level and the lack of transparency on pricing seem troubling.

GuardDog ID

GuardDog ID offers varying levels of options and pricing. The GuardDog ID Superior package is most similar to the offerings of its competitors, although it offers less-expensive, less-feature rich packages as well (down to the bare-bones Essential, $3 per month).

Cost: $20 per month. Essential ($3), Advanced ($10) and Premium ($15) are lower-cost options if you're willing to forgo some of the features in the Superior package detailed below.

What this price gets you: monitoring of fraud (healthcare insurance, credit card, bank account and SSID scanning), fraud alerts from credit bureaus; insurance ($1 million); recovery assistance; lost wages compensation (4 weeks' maximum at $500/week max)

What it does NOT include that some competitors offer:  Not much, except Debix's unique OnCall phone service.

BBB (Better Business Bureau) Rating: A- (few complaints, but in business less than 3 years)

GuardDog ID is a good option for people who don't necessarily need the full range of identity theft protection services, and would like to save a bit of money that way. That said, their lowest-price option is basically useless, so for any utility at all, you'll be paying something similar to its competitors which might offer a better bang for the buck.

Company
LifeLock
Identity Guard
ID Watchdog
Debix
TrustedID
ProtectMyID
GuardDog
Credit bureau fraud alerts
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Database monitoring
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Credit monitoring
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Health/Medical monitoring
 
 
 
 
X
X
X
Insurance ($1 million)
X
X
 
X
X
X
X
Wage replacement
 
X
 
X
X
X
X
Public record monitoring
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Sex offender registry monitoring
X
 
X
X
 
X
X
BBB rating:
B
A+
A
A
A
A-
A-
Cost/month (individual):
$10
$18
$20
$10
$15
$10
$20

Tip from a friend

I mentioned at the beginning of this Hub that my friend had the help of the FBI to track down and clean up her credit record as a result of fraud. One great tip he gave her that I've been using since:

On the back of your credit card in the signature field, write PLEASE CHECK I.D.!!! (This is assuming you carry your ID with you when you use your credit card) The merchant should ask you for your ID, giving a potential thief reason to not use your card or for the merchant to hold the card, or report it to the police or card issuer.

Recommendations

Lots of options! If you are worried about ID theft and want to pay for a little peace of mind, there are a few options that might appeal to you, depending on exactly the type of services that you might find useful.

I hesitate to make any specific recommendations, since a lot depends, for instance, on the sorts of exclusions and restrictions you find in the insurance policy and wage compensation provisions, something that's often buried deep in the fine print and subject to changes. It's also impossible to know what specific features might appeal to you: you might not need anti-phishing help, but insurance might be a critically important part of the package for you, for instance.

I would review the companies above to see that the offering you choose gives you the protection you need, and be sure to ensure that the same features are still being offered when you visit the companies' websites.

Another option is not using any one of these services - either another new company, or taking charge of monitoring your credit report, checking public databases, unsubscribing yourself from junk mail lists, etc. Ultimately, it's a decision of whether you'd like to do these things yourself, or have a third party take care of them for you.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • zaton profile image

        Zaton-Taran 

        18 months ago from California

        I wish I'd seen this article before someone stole my credit cards and opened up an account via which to defraud Walmart. This identity theft was an absolute nightmare, and I spent several days in jail on a bench warrant. I HATE identity thieves.

      • profile image

        Barb 

        3 years ago

        I know for a fact that I am a victim of the Anthem breach . It is a lifelong sentence as I see it . You cannot change your birthdate or Social Security number and it is now out there for sale most likely . Just which protection is the best one under these circumstances ? How can these health companies not use encryption with sensitive data ?!

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        3 years ago from San Francisco

        Thank you. Once your personal data has been compromised, you might just have to be more vigilant about your personal data being abused by criminals. I hope your data wasn't part of that terrible data breach!

      • librariegrrl profile image

        librariegrrl 

        3 years ago from Passaic, New Jersey

        Hi, Jason,

        I found your article "Best Identity Theft Protection - Reviews (really unbiased!)" an excellent resource. I was wondering if you can comment or post an update in light of the Anthem Cyber Attack (2/5/2015) which potentially impacts 80 million subscribers. I feel that I am one of many scrambling to protect my identity in a breach that revealed social security numbers and identifying info that may be used for decades into the future. ( see: http://www.anthemfacts.com). Thank you again for your clear and unbiased article.

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        4 years ago from San Francisco

        Bladnir: That's the unfortunate truth. No safeguard is foolproof, but the goal is to minimize risk and raise the number of hurdles that a fraudster has to jump over to use your ID or accounts.

      • profile image

        Bladnir 

        4 years ago

        Re the tip to put "please check ID" in the signature field:

        Chances are if a criminal has the cc, she also has the ID; back when I worked with the secret service, the stats were that something near 98% of the general public couldn't reliably distinguish between a real and a fake ID anyway.

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        5 years ago from San Francisco

        Yes, I actually do both, Jay: sign my card AND write "please check ID!!!".

      • Jay Dano profile image

        Jay Dano 

        5 years ago from New Hampshire

        With regard to "see I.D. " instead of signature, the USPS (in my neighborhood anyway ) does NOT recognize that and will refuse your card unless it is signed.

      • lesliebarker profile image

        lesliebarker 

        5 years ago from Washington

        This is such an amazing resource! I've been using Identity Guard for a while now. I first found out about them from Comcast because they were offering free service to members in my area (Seattle) and I love it so much I upgraded so I could use more of the paid services. I agree with JCales post that its worth the investment ID theft, bogus purchases, and crappy credit card services make this more important than ever. Fixing a damaged credit report is so timely (so I've heard) that I too agree it's like insurance.

      • joym7 profile image

        Joy 

        5 years ago from United States

        Great stats in the hub. Thank for sharing. This hub will help me for my next hub :) Thank you

      • profile image

        bellabecka 

        5 years ago

        Doe anyone know is there any site on the Internet that gives to you "totally free" with no fee or membership charged to your card for a free Credit Score? I thought that there was a law passes, wherein you are entitled to a free copy of your credit report and credit score once a year. That means no charges whatsoever. If any one knows can you email me at minuspa@aol.com

      • profile image

        C Nelson 

        6 years ago

        I would also like to see a way to

        Monitor stock accounts, especially those like at Schwab etc. where on line trades are possible

      • alocsin profile image

        alocsin 

        7 years ago from Orange County, CA

        Thanks for these resources to prevent identity theft. Voting this Up and Useful, and linking it to my password hub.

      • Anjili profile image

        Anjili 

        7 years ago from planet earth, a humanoid

        Thanks for your informative hub. Keep up with the good job

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        7 years ago from San Francisco

        Thanks, seajack. :)

      • profile image

        seajack 

        7 years ago

        Good info,you mention trusted id has health monoriting but chart shows it doesn't?

      • SJKSJK profile image

        SJKSJK 

        7 years ago from delray beach, florida

        This is a very informative hub. Thanks for this information. I will definitely use it.

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        7 years ago from San Francisco

        Thanks, Simone & Jcales :-)

      • jcales profile image

        jcales 

        7 years ago

        I think if you have lots to lose why not get one of these companies for $100+ a year. You can call it business insurance.

        $100 a year or possibly go through months or years of headaches trying to clean up your credit file.

        Stop it early rather than 1 to 5 months down the road being frugal. Crooks are smart so you gotta be proactive. A friend just had his stolen and he works in the finance industry. It can happen to anyone. You can put alerts on your credit acct to have merchant call you first before extending credit, paperless billing. BUT they still send you a statement every now & then.

        I've called Chase and Capital One asking why I receive a statement when I am on paperless billing for 5 years. They just say, "sorry" . $10 a month is a good deal.

      • Simone Smith profile image

        Simone Haruko Smith 

        7 years ago from San Francisco

        Wow, this is an AWESOME overview! The comparisons are really helpful. I feel like I'm the type that would rather run all those checks independently, but should I decide I want to have someone else do the work for me, I'll be consulting this guide FIRST!

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        7 years ago from San Francisco

        Thank you, Donna Lee.

      • donnaleemason profile image

        donnaleemason 

        7 years ago from North Dakota, USA

        Wow, very concise, well done

      • livelonger profile imageAUTHOR

        Jason Menayan 

        7 years ago from San Francisco

        Thank you for the kind feedback, Vic.

      • vic profile image

        vic 

        7 years ago

        This is an excellent hub. Thank you.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)