Is Cashback Research Legit or Just Another Scam?

Updated on April 23, 2016
Cashback Research
Cashback Research | Source

These days more and more people turn to paid survey sites as source of extra income without doing research on the companies. They spend so much time and effort completing surveys to barely get anything in return or if anything at all, before giving up.

It can be very hard to find a site that is user friendly, reliable and actually provides you with surveys to complete.

In this Hub I share with you my Cashback Research review.

Their Claim

"Take Paid Surveys Online for Cash. You won't get rich, but you will get paid! Welcome To Cashback Research, a 100% free service that provides people like you with a means to be rewarded for giving opinions in online surveys. We are not a get-rich quick scheme or even a realistic part-time job, but we are a GREAT way to earn a little cash and have some fun to boot!"

Registration And Profile Surveys

Signing up for Cashback Research was quick and easy, overall the process took about 5mins and I earned $5.00 for doing so and $0.05c for my first log in.

Note: You will earn $0.05c for your first log in each day

Next I completed the 10 Profile Surveys which would allow Cashback Research to qualify me for future surveys. The 10 Profile Survey topics included Interests, Work from home, Education, Auto, Home, Personal Finance, Travel, Shopping, Technology and Health. Each survey consists of about 5-10 multiple choice questions, took approx one minute to complete and earned $0.25c per survey.


Tip: After completing each survey click "BEGIN" which will take you to another site outside of Cashback Research dashboard. Wait for it to load then just click the "X" on that window, now refresh your dashboard and you will see your earnings increase.

Cashback Research Paid Surveys
Cashback Research Paid Surveys | Source

Activating Access to Daily Surveys

Not only do you need to complete the profile surveys to activate the daily surveys, you have to sign up for at least one of the other panels (survey companies) on the right. There were about 20 to choose from so I signed up for one which took just under 30 minutes to complete the process, including completing the profile surveys with that company. This did not activate my daily surveys, even after refreshing the Cashback Research Dashboard several times.

Maybe I had to sign up for one with the word "PANEL" in it, if so that is extremely irritating. I signed up for a "Panel" and sure enough when I refreshed the dashboard my daily surveys were active.

Note: I am not sure if this has anything to do with the word "panel" in the company name or if it just took a little while for the first one to register.

Bonuses

  • Joining Bingo Cafe through the Cashback Research Dashboard earns you $2 and $20 free play, this has now been updated on my total earnings.
  • Signing up for Mega Casino (2 minutes to register) through Cashback Research Dashboard earns you $8 and 5 free spins.
  • If you sign up for 12 panels you earn $10, so far I have now signed up for about 6. Out of the 6 only 3 registered.

Important information: In order to get credit (check mark) for registering with a survey panel, you must be signed in to your dashboard when you click and register with the panel. Survey panels you were already registered with do not count toward the requirements for the $10 payout.

The Good

The positive experiences I had with Cashback Research:

  • Quick and Easy Registration
  • Dashboard is clearly set out and easy to navigate
  • Quick response times to emails and to trouble tickets

The Bad

Here are the issues I have encountered with Cashback Research so far:

  • Cashback Research Dashboard does not show a true reflection of how many survey panels I have actually joined, only 4 out of the 12 are marked as completed.
  • I either do not qualify for the daily surveys, or when I did, nothing was earned for completing them.
  • Two of the Panels directed me to the registry page for panels I have already signed up for and two Panels were not available to register for (with no explanation)
  • One panel would not allow me to register due to "myself or someone else in my household already being registered" with them. No one in my house is registered with this company.
  • Received warning notices for viruses when trying to register with some Panels
  • The $8 for joining Mega Casino has not been credited to my Dashboard

The Ugly

After resetting my Cashback Research password the follow occurred as a result:

  • Earnings reduced from $9.75 to $6.05
  • The Dashboard is showing that I have not completed the profile surveys
  • Cafe Bingo is now not checked as being registered for

It looks as though my Dashboard has almost completely reset itself.

Getting Help

I emailed Cashback Research in relation to the issues I have come across and they requested I create a trouble ticket for each one.

I created ticket for the following:

  • 10 tickets one for each trouble panel
  • Cashback Research Panel resetting itself

Response to Trouble Tickets Created

I received an email response for each of the tickets I previously created.

The first says they will credit me for two of the panels, however ignores the rest of the ticket pointing out issues not allowing me to register with other panels. When I refresh my Dashboard only one has been checked off out of the two.

The second email is in reference to the Cashback Research Dashboard resetting itself which says, they do not know what happened to my account and that they have not heard of this happening to any other members. The email also states they would credit me for the Bingo Cafe registration however requests that I complete the profile surveys again.

I checked my dashboard and my earnings were increased to $8.05, however there is still no resolution for the panels I have signed up for.

Can you make money with Cashback Research?

I would say that my experience with Cashback Research was extremely frustrating and I am writing it off as a waste of time.

The only way I could see myself reaching the $20 minimum payout is by logging in once per day to receive the $0.05c. Which would take over 200 days to reach this amount.


There are Better Alternatives

Personally I find paid survey sites unreliable, extremely boring, very time consuming and not worth the effort that you are putting in.

There are much better alternatives:

Field Agent App Review - Is it legit?

8 Ways to make money from home


Your Experience With Cashback Research

What kind of experience have you had with Cashback Research?

See results

Stop Others From Getting Scammed

Share this article and stop others from wasting their time with Cashback Research and other companies like them.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      James Deo Dawson Sr 

      8 months ago

      The only way any of you would be having any sort of trouble would be because you are not using common sense.

      Any of the survey sites are completely overwhelmed and can use all the help they can get from their participants giving them heads up.

      As an example whenever I join a new panel, and want to make sure that I get credit for doing so, I simply write out a support ticket requesting credit for joining the new panel. Simple.

      It is VERY easy to LOOK for excuses to complain about one site or another. After all, in the end, they are just people trying to earn a living, just like you and I. We all make mistake, overlook something, get overwhelmed.

      Just go to the bottom of the site, click on "Help" and send in a support ticket! Easy enough, right!?

      I have Gold Medal Status. Joined 10 panels, got paid $10! And my last payment received from them what this morning:

      Transaction details

      Print

      Payment received from Michael Hetzer

      January 20, 2018 at 10:47:38 AM ESTTransaction ID: 8MW868609T0016041

      Payment Status: COMPLETED

      Payment Type: Personal Payment

      Gross amount

      $30.00 USD

      Payment details

      Gross Amount$30.00 USD

      PayPal Fee$0.00 USD

      Net Amount$30.00 USD

      Issue a refund

      Paid by

      Michael Hetzer

      The sender of this payment is Verified

      Payment@cashbackresearch.com

      Note from Michael HetzerCashback Research: Your $30 Payout

    • profile image

      salma qurram 

      14 months ago

      is it just me or should we sue cashback resarch

    • profile image

      Steve 

      16 months ago

      They stopped giving me $0.05 for logging in and none of the "daily surveys" appear to work. The ones that don't just say there was an error will say they don't have a survey, often after wasting my time on introductory questions. I have $9.00 in "rewards" which I wouldn't be able to request until it reaches $30.00 and I don't think it'll ever reach that point because it's impossible to actually get rewards.

    • profile image

      mustafa 

      19 months ago

      hello,

      before 2 weeks i sent the request for 30$ which i have earned from survey's but after i login and check my account then i shocked they reverse my account as before when i have got 18$. resolve the issue.

      i am dam sure this site is scam people dont register this site otherwise you will loose the time and money thanks

    • profile image

      KATHRYN 

      20 months ago

      Mostly bad, if you ever get close to reaching the cash out amount which is now $20, you will find they have changed their rules and raised the cash out amount. You will run out of survey panels to join and then they freeze your account. RUN! A waste of time!

    • profile image

      Tanya 

      2 years ago

      I cashed out almost 3 weeks ago and have yet to see a Paypal payment. It says within 30 days but who knows.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      carieg 

      2 years ago

      No problem at all.. Cashback research is not worth your time.

      In my opinion field agent is the way to go!! Check out this review https://hubpages.com/money/Field-Agent-App-Review-...

      I have used it myself and it is a great way to make money on the side!!

    • profile image

      pableoy@yahoo.com 

      2 years ago

      Thank you much! Very informative indeed!

      Really, all i need is $40 a day extra income to make both ends meet!

      Please help me find one! Thank you!

      pableoy@yahoo.com

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      carieg 

      4 years ago

      jjcase thank you for sharing your experience with Cashback Research!!

    • profile image

      jjcase 

      4 years ago

      Im at the point of $8.20 and now as the review stated, its very to make any more cash that rewards well. I signed up for all of the panels and was only rewarded for ten of them. Now its trouble to receive that Gold dashboard status!! Not very good rewards!

    • profile image

      jimmytrix 

      5 years ago

      Nice Hub. I wont be trying cashback research now, that's for sure.

    • profile image

      lsaloga 

      5 years ago

      Thanks - I'm glad I read your review - has anyone found any good surveys that pay?

    • Tom Schumacher profile image

      Tom Schumacher 

      5 years ago from Huntington Beach, CA

      Thanks for sharing. I'm always interested in learning new and ingenious ways to earn money. However, this hub clearly highlights valid reasons to stay clear of Cashback Research. Voted up for informative!

    • profile image

      has do 

      5 years ago

      some of this survey sites are so annoying

    • Jordanwalker39 profile image

      Jordanwalker39 

      5 years ago from NC

      great hub thanks for the review

    • profile image

      Tia 

      5 years ago

      Won't be signing up for sure. I had my doubts and specially with virus alert I am determined not to sign up anyway. Thank you for alerting us.

    • nilendub profile image

      Nilendu Bhattacharya 

      5 years ago from Moline, US

      Thanks for the honest review. Did you find any other legit site for making money online?

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      carieg 

      6 years ago

      Thank you for the comment Timothy. I'm glad you read my review before giving Cashback Research your time and efforts.

    • Timothy L Owens profile image

      Timothy L Owens 

      6 years ago from Tulsa, Oklahoma

      Thanks for the review. I was considering signing up, but as a result of reading about your experience and those above, I will look for other opportunities.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      carieg 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comments!!

    • profile image

      MCCreeper 

      6 years ago from Illinois, U.S.

      I've encountered this site from a third party company that offered me some money to register and do a survey from this site. The registration's easy, but the surveys they put in are long and irritating.

    • MrAhmad profile image

      MrAhmad 

      6 years ago from Edmonton, Canada

      this site is a scam to me

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)