How to Write Great Book Reviews for Netgalley (and for First to Read)

Updated on December 17, 2017

1. Reviewing Books on Netgalley

If you love reading e-books for electronic advance reading copies (e-arcs for short), then Netgalley is the website for you. Two years ago, last month, marked my two year anniversary of reading and review books for Netgalley.com. If you’ve read my two book reviews, As the Crow Flies and Chip off the Ice Block Murder, those two books were from e-arcs I’ve read for the website. It’s free to join, if you have the time to read a book or two. You don’t get paid for reviewing e-arcs, since it’s free; but you’ll be helping the author and publisher out with praise and feedback for the book. If you have a book blog, website and/or review on Amazon, Good Reads, Shelfari, or social media, you can help spread the word out.

Reading e-books poll

Do you read e-books on your e-book reader?

See results

How I Got Started

Two years, I started with two authors and their street teams on Facebook and via email to join Netgalley and receive my copy for them. When I’ve read the e-arcs and send in my review, I let them know on Facebook and email that it’s done. I read six reviews back then. Last year, it was twelve, when I averaged one a month. This year, it’s two a month. Now, if you’re an avid reader who loves a good book, let me tell you how to get started.

Netgalley's new look

Signing up

To join Netgalley, all you need is an email address and an e-book reader. Kindle is preferred. But if you have a Nook, a Blackfire ebook reader, Sony or Kobo e-reader, you can read it via the Adobe Digital Editions format, too. If you don’t have an ebook reader, like when I first started out, you can read it on your computer’s desktop. (I’m doing it right now, since I’m having spaciing issues on my Kindle.) It doesn’t hurt to have a back-up plan.

As for the email, they would email what e-books are available right now, what’s coming up next, and other news to get you hooked. Mainly, the publisher would let you know, if you’ve been approved or they have denied your request. More on that later.

Last year, Netgalley revamped the website that I first saw two years ago, It’s user friendly and really organized. I wish I had an old screenshot of the previous website. But as you see with this screenshot I took last month, it’s so much more. To be a reviewer, you need a screen name, hook it with your Kindle email address, and create a profile with a bio about yourself as a reviewer. If you’re a book seller or a librarian, you would select that for your profile.

Avoid Denied Requests

Make sure you check their regional preferences for readers. If you see a flag symbol for a country, that’s what they preferred to hear feedback from. For example, I’ve selected two titles from a British publisher, last year, and was declined. So if you see a flag from USA or Canada, for example, on the book cover page, you wouldn’t have a problem. As a shortcut, you can see the flags by moving your mouse over to the cover.

Book Selection

After you’re all set, you can pick what genres you like to read in both fiction and nonfiction genres. It can range from romance to biographies, including teen/YA, picture book and middle grade. Mine was mystery/thriller, romance/woman’s fiction, Christian, and sometimes, but rarely, sci fi and teen fiction. So you can select any that applies to you for your selection. There’s no limit.

If you have a favorite publisher you like to read, whether it’s a traditional publisher, a small/indie publisher, or even an e-publisher, you can just select it the publishers listing by giving it a heart. I usually heart mine, if it’s an publisher that have accepted my reviews, and give it the favorite preferential treatment.

On the website, you have a choice of selecting the book that’s available now to read, what’s been added, what titles that’s been requested the most, by author or title, or even by the date that it’s being published. Just take a peak at their book covers and read the description of the blurbs to see if it interested you. You can be interactive by voting, if you love the cover art design, which has been a new feature. If it’s something you would like to read, you can hit the link, read the full description, and request the title. You can pick a new author you would like to read, or a favorite author that have listed their new book for you to read there.

If you wondering to check out a book that was published a month ago or a year ago, that would be all right. You might be lucky, if it’s the paperback version of the book or a newer re-issued book, like for romances as an example. Just check the archive date, since those older books are shelfed in the back of the listings. A Facebook friend of mine and fellow Netgalley remember read a book from a couple of years and was able to do it. But newer is always better and fresher.


Have a Full Detailed Bio to Avoid Rejection

Another way you can get declined is your bio not being fully detailed. This also happened to me last year by the same British publisher, when they wanted me to update my bio with more details. I did and replied back to them and never heard a word, knowing I was declined. So you rarely get declined for a review, except if it’s out of region. Make sure your bio is updated and detailed.

Free e-arc reading poll

Would you like to read free e-arcs and review them at either website?

See results

Your Virtual Bookshelf at Netgalley

Netgalley's Easy Feedback Form

Reviewing a Book

One way or another, you receive an email from the publisher accepting or declining your request. If it’s a traditional publisher and its imprint, it would be before a month before the book’s released. For example, if you selected a book with a May 24th, 2015 publisher date, you would hear from a publisher on or around April 24th, 2015. If i’s a small publisher or an indie publisher, you would hear from them within a week, usually a couple of days, depending on what day you requested the book, If you select a book from Amazon, there’s no waiting time to read their book. You automatically receive the copy and start reading!

When you do hear from the publisher, the book would be added to your virtual bookshelf on the website for you to read. That’s when you should start adding it to your Kindle, computer or other ebook reader. Make sure you mark your calendar for the pub date, so you won’t forget. Keep an eye on the archive date. That’s when the publisher archives the book, when the book can’t be transferred anymore. This happened to me last month, when I was locked out to read a book, since the archive date have passed. Lucky for me, that same author was on Good Reads doing an e-arc giveaway and contacted me with a copy to read on my computer. I was lucky to get her book done and on time. So when you first get your book, do it before the archive date, and do it before it expires, like the day before the date.

The rule of thumb for reading a book, depending on your schedule, is to get the book done, early if you can. Before the date is best, right up until the day before; on the same day works as well. What happens if you’re late sending a review in? No worries. This happened to me this year and last year. Just get it done the best you can, even if it’s a few days late or a week late. Like the old adage, better late than never. Netgalley won’t fault you for it.

Giving Feedback

Doing a review on the feedback form is real easy. Just like for Amazon, Good Reads, Shelfari, and maybe your own book review blog scale, you can give a book a star rating from one to five stars. Then you have a choice of posting your review in the box, or if you have a blog, you can post the link and the title of your blog in the boxes below it. Then it would ask you three yes or no questions: Are you reading the book for publication? (The answer is always yes). Would you recommend it to a friend or buy it yourself? (It depends if you love or hated the book on how you answer.) And would you be interested to receive email updates from the author. {Over here, it’s up to you, since there’s no wrong answer here.) If you have any comments for the publisher, which is applicable, you can write it down in the box. That’s it! Just hit the send now button, since it would be sent to the publisher. Your feedback percentage would go up, and will go down a tiny bit, every time you request a book to review. Now you can go back to the catalog and request another book.

Netgalley's Cool Stuff

There’s three other things you should know about Netgalley: pre-approvals, badges and sharing reviews. All of this stuff is really cool and make Netgalley more interactive with its members than before.

Pre-Approvals
There’s two ways you can get pre-approved for books you have to read, too. One is by email, when it’s available now to read and request. I’ve gotten them in the past, but passed on them. You can decide if you want to read the book if it interested you. Another way is by the publisher itself. This happened to me last year, before I read a second book from the same author. It’s really cool! If you do get pre-approved, it would show up on your profile page. If you see a book you like by the publisher, you don’t have to wait for them to approve your request. Just download it to read and off you go!

Blog badges

If you have a blog or website to review books like I do, you would instantly receive a professional reviewer Netgalley badge to upload on your virtual bookshelf, when you sign up. It’s encouraged to post any badges you receive from Netgalley to let blog readers know you use Netgalley badge. It also lets publishers know that you actively participate in Netgalley, and increases your chances for approve. Every new member start with that badge and can earn two other badges.

If you provide feedback for 80% or more of their approved titles, you will receive this badge. I’ve recently gotten mine back in February and added mine to my blog. Also, you can earn a top reviewer badge, if three or more of your review have been added to the Netgalley title details page by the publisher. To where which have been added, go to your shelf and under Feedback sent to see an icon next to the titles where your reviews now appears on its Title Details page. I haven’t gotten this one yet and would love to earn it someday.

Social Sharing

This have been a newly added featured to the new website last year. You can also spread the word and share your review with Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and other social networking outlets like with Hub Pages as well. (I haven’t done this yet, and will start this month.)

2. Reviewing Books on First to Read

There’s one other book reviewing website I wanted to let you know about; it’s First to Read from Penguin Books. It works a little bit differently than Netgalley. If you’re on Facebook, you can sign up and join on their website with your email account. Every month they send you an email with eight to ten selected books for you to read. For example, I just received an email yesterday about the titles to read for June release dates. If a title interests you, you can request a copy or claim the title. When you sign up and join, you receive points for every time you visit the website, make a request, claim a title or send in a review.

To request a copy, hit "request copy." Your odds are 50/50 of receiving it. On the bottom of the cover, it shows you how many titles are available. So you might get lucky: your name may be drawn, depending how many copies and people are requesting it. (Since I first started last fall, I’ve lost out on four copies.) You should receive an email whether you’ve received a copy or not.

Another way is to claim a title; you can do this if you have 1000 points or more. This way automatically advances your chance of picking the title. If you get it you'lll go down 1000 points. I’ve recently done this last month, before the same title was also available on Netgalley. If you want to do both e-galley websites, you can do that and give the publisher two glowing reviews.

On your profile page, you see the link where you post your review for the title you read. Just write it down in the box and send it to the publisher. Like Netgalley, you can also share your review via Facebook and Twitter, too.

Enjoy a Good Book!

There you have it! That's all to it! Now, it’s your turn to read free e-arcs and send it excellent reviews to the publishers and the authors as well. It's shown in the first screenshot on my logged in page, towards the left side. Happy reading!

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        19 months ago from Northeast Ohio

        Yeah Marlene! That's pretty cool. Which author? Good idea. Feel free to shot me an email if you have questions.

      • MarleneB profile image

        Marlene Bertrand 

        19 months ago from USA

        I enjoy reading and writing reviews. I JUST signed up for Netgalley yesterday. An author approached me and asked me to review his book through Netgalley. I signed up, downloaded the book to my Kindle and the rest is like you explained here. Your article is very helpful. I did a quick bio, but now after reading your tips I think I will go back and tweak my bio to make sure I get approved for more reviews.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        19 months ago from Northeast Ohio

        Hey Amy. Thanks for stopping by my friend with your awesome words of kindness and encouragement. I'll consider it next year, after I work on my Arizona one this week, before I shoot in off to you for final feedback. E-books are popular and the review sites are great to come by to discover new authors and new books to read. Keep in touch my friend.

      • Happymommy2520 profile image

        Amy 

        19 months ago from East Coast

        Great hub. You are an awesome writer. I opt for good old fashioned bound books but I will definitely keep Netgalley in mind when I decide to take the switch. This is another one of your hubs you might to submit to a niche site. Maybe letterpile. Just a thought

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Thanks Marlene for stopping by and commenting. It's real easy to read e-arcs on your computer or e-reader. You're welcome.

      • MarleneB profile image

        Marlene Bertrand 

        2 years ago from USA

        This is really interesting. I didn't know such a method existed for book reviewers. I enjoy reading and have the opportunity to do book reviews for authors wanting books reviewed before their books are released. I just kind of fell into it by chance. I don't get paid for it, but, my reward is being able to read books for free. I figure it is the least I can do for a free reading. I mainly read self-help books and have met some amazing authors. Netgalley and FirsttoRead sound like great places for book reviewers to participate. Thank you for the information and sharing your experience.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Thanks Patricia for your lovely and angelic kind thoughts. You should check either website out.

      • pstraubie48 profile image

        Patricia Scott 

        3 years ago from sunny Florida

        This is a very thorough review. I am not familiar with this site but it sounds like one that some people might enjoy.

        Angels are on the way to you, Krsiten. ps

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Thanks for stopping by Poetryman. It can be depressing, but if you avoid those issues, you would have better chances for acceptance.

      • poetryman6969 profile image

        poetryman6969 

        3 years ago

        Getting declined seems like it would be pretty depressing but an interesting avocation nonetheless.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        My pleasure, Linda. It doesn't hurt to squeeze some reading time in.

      • Sunshine625 profile image

        Linda Bilyeu 

        3 years ago from Orlando, FL

        Interesting concept for getting books reviewed...it is a win/win situation for authors and readers. Readers get to read free books and authors get free reviews. I lack book reading time and unfortunately writing time, but I appreciate you sharing these sites.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Thanks Catherine for stopping by and commenting, and saving it for future use. I always make time to read between hubbing and chores every day.

      • CatherineGiordano profile image

        Catherine Giordano 

        3 years ago from Orlando Florida

        This is very interesting. Unfortunately, ever since I started writing for Hubpages, I don't have any time to read. I just write and do the other tasks of a good hubber. Voted up. I'd love to read and do reviews and I will save this for future reference.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        You're very welcome Flourish. New books from new and favorite authors, My pleasure.

      • FlourishAnyway profile image

        FlourishAnyway 

        3 years ago from USA

        I've never heard of this, so thanks for profiling this. It sounds like a good source for new books to blog about, especially if one reads quickly.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        My pleasure. Sorry for the double post. It all depends on my cats.

      • tobusiness profile image

        Jo Alexis-Hagues 

        3 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

        Thanks kristen, amazon maybe my best bet. Hope you're having a wonderful day.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Hi Jo. You mainly need an agent and a publisher to get your book submitted to Netgalley or First to Read. If you do it via Amazon, I'm sure you can do it fine. Finding the time can be tricky and hard, unless you have free time. Thanks for the visit.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Good questions, Jo. You go to the website and select the books you want from the publishers to read. On Amazon, you can do it. But otherwise, you need a publisher and an agent. True, finding the time is hard.

      • tobusiness profile image

        Jo Alexis-Hagues 

        3 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

        Great article, very useful. Unfortunately, finding the time is the problem, but this seems like an excellent idea. How do they choose which books to review, can any writer get a book review on Netgalley? I'll be back to reread in more detail.

      • Kristen Howe profile imageAUTHOR

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        You're welcome Alicia. I've found out about it, two years ago. It's a really social interactive website. My pleasure.

      • AliciaC profile image

        Linda Crampton 

        3 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Reading books from Netgalley sounds like an interesting and enjoyable activity, Kristen. I don't have the time to read extra books at the moment. I'd hate to give a book a bad review, too, even if didn't like it! I'll keep Netgalley in mind for the future, though. Thanks for sharing the information. I've never heard of this website before.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)