Opinion Outpost Review: Legit or Scam?

Updated on June 14, 2013
Source

What Is Opinion Outpost?

Opinion Outpost is an online survey research panel. People sign up for opinion outpost and then start taking surveys for opinion points (see below). You can then change these opinion points for prizes. I'll go in depth more about this later.

Opinion Outpost Homepage
Opinion Outpost Homepage

What Are Surveys?

Surveys are a way for companies to get feedback from consumers. Surveys are on a wide variety of things including specific products and companies.

Opinion Outpost will send surveys to your inbox every few hours. When you receive a new survey you can click on it and start it. During a survey you will be asked screened questions to see if you qualify or not. These questions include demographics such as age, income, gender, race, geographic location, etc. If you qualify you'll be asked additional questions that might be yes/no questions, fill in the blank, or questions that require you to rate something such as a product or company on a scale from 1-5 or 1-10. Once the survey is completed, you'll be compensated with the number of opinion points specific at the beginning of the survey.

Winning Contests & Mini Games

If you don't qualify for a survey don't feel bad. You can still get a chance at winning the mini game if you click on "no thanks" when they offer you to take more surveys. You can win $1, $2, or $15 on these mini games. In my experience, I've won $1 twice, $2 twice, and $15 once. This is a very generous way for Opinion Outpost to give back to its members since I've won over $20 in mini games over the course of a year which is a small chunk of my income on the site.

In addition, Opinion Outpost gives you one free entry into the $10,000 prize which is drawn quarterly (4 times per year). Just like the lottery, the chance of winning this is slim. Some surveys only offer free entries into the sweepstakes for competing them. Be wary of these since they really aren't worth your time.

How Much Can You Expect To Earn?

Overall you will be compensated 5-50 opinion points on most surveys.

1 Opinion Point = $0.10

With that in mind, you should earn on average $0.50-$5.00 per survey although earning in the $1-2 range is more common. Surveys will range on average from 5 minutes to 30 minutes. Longer surveys can take 45 minutes to an hour but will pay better. The advantage to opinion outpost is that they will tell you the length of time and pay of the survey before you decide to take it. Sometimes this can be inaccurate which is discouraging but it does give you an idea whether the survey is worth your time or not based on the amount that you'll be compensated.

Prizes

Once you have a lot of Opinion Points, you'll be able to cash them in for prizes. Prizes include PayPal cash, Amazon gift cards, restaurant.com gift cards, and a few other things. The most recent problem is that Opinion Outpost stopped the Citi debit card program. This was a huge let down to many people but PayPal and Amazon are popular to many people. For rewards, you only need $5-$10 worth of Opinion Points to cash them in for a prize. This is a good thing because the payment threshold is lower than most survey sites. I've been on other survey sites that make you wait until you've earn $20 or even $50 before you can cash out. Did I mention that the Amazon gift card codes are given to you instantly. There's no need to wait days for your prize to arrive.

My Experience

Based on my experience I've earned over $500 in the past year from this site alone. For one hour of work per day I typically earned......

$4-7/day

$15-35/week

$100/month

I was lazy during parts of the year so my earnings could have been about double if I was more active throughout the year. Occasionally I did have the good paying $10 survey and once I had a survey that had a follow up survey. In that follow up survey, was a 3 day survey that took about an hour and a half to complete total and I was compensated $25. For a survey site, that is exceptionally well. Too bad I only got this opportunity once but some surveys did have these opportunities including follow up surveys and the chance to experiment new products that haven't been released yet.

Advantages & Disadvantages

***Advantages***

* Surveys in your inbox

* Lots of surveys to complete everyday

* Sweepstakes & mini games with good odds of winning

* 100% Legit (No scams, no sign up fees, no closing your account, or waiting for a prize that you'll never receive)

* Generous compensation (usually $1-$2 per survey)

***Disadvantages***

* Can spam your inbox (emails every few hours)

* Small selection of rewards

* Won't get rich taking surveys

Conclusion

You won't get rich taking surveys but it's a great way to earn extra income for teens, college students, stay at home moms, retirees, or the unemployed. It might not pay minimum wage but you don't have to go anywhere or find a job.

In my opinion, I think it's worth it if you have some extra time on your hands and want to earn some pocket money every week. If you could only pick a few survey sites, than this is one to add to your list of legit sites to sign up for.

Are You Likely To Join Opinion Outpost?

See results

How Much Have You Earned On Opinion Outpost?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Vincent 

      11 months ago

      Well they only require a $10 cash out (been a member since before 2013 never heard of $30 needed). They are legit for the most part, but have are fake drawing every month (I confidently say this after investigating winner: 'Jisun F' which turned out not be a real person in existence). They fake-out disqualification (like try to give you the non qualifying screen WHILE YIOUVE ALREADY COMPLETED the survey and were SUPPOSED to be redirected to the points, but instead are told you don't qualify.) They operate in IGNORANCE. I have been dealING with them this long and winning the battles I should not even be having, so I do not recommend new users.

    • profile image

      Sean 

      3 years ago

      NEVER USE OPINION OUTPOST!

      Opinion Outpost is a site where you take surveys for money. Every 100 points is $10. I had 265 points, there was a survey worth the remaining 35 I needed to redeem $30. I finished the entire survey but then was DISQUALIFIED at the very end. I then had to drudge myself up slowly to 295 points, at which point I was unable to do any more surveys for 2 days (the site will tell you to check back later). I could not do anymore surveys. When I went to redeem 200 points my account was frozen for "data concerns. "

      Not to mention I had emailed customer support about this issue with no response. Their support page doesn't even list customer support email. You have to have an error page come up to find it.

    • profile image

      crobbins@consultaro.com 

      3 years ago

      I don't think Opinion Outpost is a scam it is just not worth your time. Was disqualified from many surveys and then only awarded points for sweepstakes...this is a joke! Do not waste your time!!!!

    • profile image

      Claradfarmer 

      3 years ago

      Opinion outpost is a big scam! I tried joining and told me to type in how much I made$$, and all sorts of personal information. If I were you, I wouldn't sign up for this SCAM!!!!

    • profile image

      Jim 

      4 years ago

      MySurvey is one of the best survey companies.The problem with them is that they have not enough offers.If you want to make more money with surveys, you have to join many survey panels.That is the only one way.I make $1,000-$3-000/month ONLY with paid surveys.I found a list of legit surveys and a full education on how to make the maximum amount with them at:

      http://NationalOnlineSurveys.info

      I would highly recommend you this site.If you join there you can start making money today.it is easy.No skills needed.

    • Adept2012 profile image

      Adebayo Adeolu Ibrahim 

      4 years ago

      Thanks for sharing this, I will love to check this out.

    • Daniel5 profile image

      Daniel 

      5 years ago

      They were great back in 2011, I made $60 within 2 weeks. But it became harder and harder to complete and qualify for surveys so I gave up on them. Yes they pay, although the time isn't worth it anymore in my opinion.

    • profile image

      MakenzieTomlinson 

      5 years ago

      Can you cancel your account at anytime?

    • VictoriaSheffield profile image

      Author Victoria Sheffield 

      5 years ago from Georgia

      This is a question that I had because I signed up with them and they send me surveys all the time but I was unsure about how legit they were. thanks!

    • MrsBrownsParlour profile image

      Lurana Brown 

      5 years ago from Chicagoland, Illinois

      Very helpful, thank you!

    • profile image

      infostreamnetwork 

      5 years ago

      I've been using the UK version of the site and have had a little success. I find that best thing about Opinion Outpost is the very low payout threshold (at present it's £2.50). So if you get bored you can cash out quickly. I suspect a lot of sites make a fortune by having high payouts and leaving people to give up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)