BusinessFinding a JobFrugal LivingIndustriesInsurancePersonal FinanceReal EstateScams & FraudSelf-EmploymentStarting a Business

Review: HubPages vs InfoBarrel, Bubblews, Writedge, Daily Two Cents, Persona Paper

Updated on February 21, 2016
Source

With the recent demise of a number of writing websites, such as Squidoo, Yahoo Voices, Helium, and a multitude of others, there’s one mantra online writers are constantly having drummed into their heads: diversify! Don’t put all your eggs in one basket!

So, to supplement my contributions here at HubPages, I’ve been diligently searching for other writing sites where I can place articles I don’t consider suitable for this one. They all have their own pluses and minuses as avenues for diversification, and I thought it might be helpful to share what I’ve found.

The sites I'll be addressing

I currently write for HubPages, Bubblews*, Writedge*, Daily Two Cents*, and Persona Paper, and will share what I've discovered through those experiences. I have not written for InfoBarrel, but have spent quite a bit of time trying to determine if that site might be a suitable home for some of my work. I'll briefly share my conclusions.

Although I have never used Wizzley, or Seekyt*, I've included some of the information I uncovered about them in a couple of table listings. However, I won't be directly addressing the merits of those sites.

* See important updates concerning these sites below

Performance Comparison

Let’s start with some basic stats about each site’s online presence. Unless otherwise indicated, these stats are estimates from the hypestat.com website, and were recorded in mid-March, 2015. In my judgment the HypeStat numbers are not precise, but can be used as a rough indicator of the relative performance of each site in relation to the others. The number of users or members is as reported by the site.

March 2015

Site
Unique visitors per day
Est. Ad Earnings per day US$
Worldwide Site Ranking
Google Page Rank
# of pages on the site
# of registered users
HubPages
746,514
5,972.11
879
6/10
480,000
71,906
Bubblews
114,140
913.12
5,008
4/10
8,710,000
550,000
InfoBarrel
35,250
176.25
13,685
4/10
267,000
88,000
Writedge
9,115
45.58
57,077
0/10
7,200
2497
Daily Two Cents
6,908
34.54
66,508
0/10
60,700
3223
Wizzley
5,819
19.38
57,137
0/10
32,400
1262
Seekyt
5,424
18.06
68,901
3/10
152,000
45,000
Persona Paper
1,816
9.08
221,032
0/10
39,100
1352

NOTES:

1. HubPages claims 905,267 published hubs as of 3/13/15. But apparently only about 480,000 of these are featured, meaning that they carry ads and are visible to search engines.

2. 88,000 was the number of users claimed by InfoBarrel as of 2/14/12.

3. Seekyt filings at flippa.com when the site was being sold indicate a 3-month average of 1497 unique visitors per day, November 2014 through January 2015. The daily revenue during that period averaged $43.38. These numbers differ significantly from the HypeStat estimates. However, the HypeStat numbers are shown in the table for consistency with the other site listings.

4. The number of Bubblews users was estimated based on the profile URLs of the latest members of the site. Those URLs appear to be assigned sequentially, so the URLs of the newest members reveal the total number who signed up since the site began. Since Bubblews shut down in November of 2015, this information is of historical interest only.

Comments on site performance

  • The ad revenues for most of the sites (all except HubPages, InfoBarrel, and Bubblews) amount to less than the average daily wage of a worker in the U. S. In fact, many workers earn more per hour than some of these sites earn in an entire day. And, of course, each site's income must be shared among the users who post to that site.
  • I think this chart makes it clear why Bubblews no longer pays any significant amount for residual views. If view counts generated an average of even a fraction of a cent per day for each of their almost 9 million articles, the site’s daily revenue would be overwhelmed by the required payouts.

Viability Concerns

At the time of the initial publication of this article, Bubblews, Writedge, Daily Two Cents, and Persona Paper were all publicly stating that their advertising revenues were insufficient to cover their expenses. Bubblews has since closed down. Writedge and Daily Two Cents no longer pay writers directly (see update below). It appears that Persona Paper continues to sustain operating losses. The long term viability of these sites must be seen as highly questionable.

NOTE: An important update concerning Daily Two Cents and Writedge viability can be seen at the end of this article.

Site Posting and Payment Policies

The following table briefly summarizes the requirements for making posts to each site, and how writers are compensated. Note that Writedge and Daily Two Cents are sister sites, run by the same team of owners.

Site
Pay Rate
Article Length Requirements
Eligibility To Post
HubPages
60% of ad revenue. Payout: $50. (AdSense required)
700+ words recommended
Each hub must pass a quality assessment.
InfoBarrel
75% of ad revenue. Payout: $50.
Between 325 - 5000 words
At least the first 10 posts are reviewed.
Writedge and Daily Two Cents
As of 10/1/15 no longer pays per view [see update].
400 (Writedge) or 200 (DTC) words.
At least the first 3 posts are reviewed.
Wizzley [4]
50-60% of page impression revenue. Payout: N/A
400 words
At least the first 5 posts are reviewed.
Seekyt [1]
NO LONGER PAYS WRITERS
400 characters
Article must be accepted by editors
Persona Paper [2,3]
2 coins/view, 1 coin/comment you make on others’ posts. Payout: $20.
500 characters exclusive of punctuation and spaces.
Must submit a writing sample to demonstrate English proficiency.

NOTES:

1. IMPORTANT: Seekyt's new Terms Of Service state the following: "By submitting content to this site, you are agreeing to transfer your original copyright to Seekyt."

2. Persona Paper allows no more than 15 posts per day, and requires a 10 minute wait between posts. Current value of each "coin" is $0.0015. Since each unique view earns two coins, Persona Paper's pay rate is $3 for every 1000 views, which is twice the rate offered at Writedge and Daily Two Cents. It requires 13,334 coins to reach the $20 payout threshold.

3. As of March, 2015, Persona Paper has instituted a blacklist of countries from which it will accept no new members. The reason, they say, is because those countries get a lot of traffic, for which writers must be paid, but contribute little ad revenue to the site. The currently blacklisted countries are the Philippines and India. More may be added later.

4. On Wizzley payments are made directly from advertising partners, not the site itself. Ad network options include AdSense, Chitika, and VigLink. Affiliate linking to Amazon, Zazzle, and AllPosters is available.

Traffic and income potential

Here are my conclusions regarding the traffic and income potential of the sites based on my experiences and research.

HubPages

It seems undeniable that HP is now the undisputed traffic champ among writing websites. Although the site has suffered due to recent Google updates, I’ve seen no claims that any of the other sites come close to matching HP’s productivity in both traffic and income.

When a hub is first posted, it normally receives an initial burst of traffic from other hubbers. That internal traffic surge usually subsides fairly quickly. However, over time search engine and social media traffic may build and provide long-term passive income. This is the HubPages model.

Traffic growth over time of a HubPages article
Traffic growth over time of a HubPages article

One thing I particularly like about HubPages is that, unlike any of the other sites I’ve written for, it’s rare for any of my hubs to go completely dead, receiving no traffic at all. When it has happened, it’s always been with hubs on topical subjects. When that topic is no longer in the news, interest in those hubs naturally fades.

InfoBarrel

The InfoBarrel model seems similar to that of HubPages. However the anecdotal evidence is that for some reason, many IB articles are not being well indexed by Google.

Responding to concerns raised by Writer Fox, I conducted the experiment of searching for text contained in several articles that were featured on the InfoBarrel home page, and which had been online for about a month. That’s plenty of time for them to have been indexed by search engines, but only one of four was found by Google.

As I mentioned, I’ve never written for InfoBarrel. But all the commentary I’ve seen in my research concerning the site has been negative about the amount of traffic IB receives at this time.

Another issue to take into consideration when considering InfoBarrel is the fact that its terms of service give the site the right to display your work in perpetuity, should they desire to do so. You cannot directly delete your articles from the site, and must put in a request to their Admin to have it done. Legally they would be within their rights to refuse to do so.

Bubblews

Bubblews is well known for its history of initially offering writers an extraordinarily high rate of pay (in the beginning it was one cent for each view, comment, and like), but then simply failing to pay many of those who invested their time and energy in producing content for the site. With recent policy changes that have reduced pay rates drastically, while officially confirming that much of the money owed members for past postings will never be paid, writers have been leaving the site in droves.

[ See Bubblews: Maybe Not An Intentional Scam, But Not To Be Trusted ]

"Throes of Creation" by Leonid Pasternak
"Throes of Creation" by Leonid Pasternak | Source

Yet, Bubblews remains second only to HubPages in the amount of traffic it is now receiving. That traffic, however, no longer translates into substantial income for writers. I still have more than 600 articles on the site, some of which clearly were receiving traffic from search engines. Presumably at least some of that traffic is still being received (there is no way to know since Bubblews stopped reporting view counts). If Bubblews is paying anything at all for such residual views at this point, I haven’t seen it reflected in my “bank” on the site.

Yet, Bubblews still appears to rate highly (compared to similar sites) in terms of its per-article pay rate. Here are the results of a little experiment I did to compare Bubblews with Persona Paper, which, at $3 per 1000 unique views, has the highest promised per-view pay rate of all the sites.

I posted similar articles about the same topic on each site. Over about a 24 hour period, the following results were achieved:

Site
Views
Likes
Comments
Income
Bubblews
?
8
5
$0.04
Persona Paper
10
2
6
$0.03

The initial Bubblews pay rate for a single article actually compares well with what could be achieved on HubPages. However, there will be no passive income at all. That few cents the article generates when it is first published will be all it ever earns.

And of course, with Bubblews there’s still the issue of whether those earnings will actually be paid.

Writedge, DailyTwo Cents, and Persona Paper

All three of these sites are fairly new, and all are based, to a degree, on the model pioneered by Bubblews. Perhaps the best description of the idea behind these sites would be “Bubblews done right.”

Of the three, the best producer of traffic for me has been Writedge. Over a six-month period, during which I added 23 articles on Writedge and 21 on Daily Two Cents, Writedge produced a total of 1784 unique views while DTC recorded 555. In about five weeks on Persona Paper, my 18 articles received 176 views.

Source

Persona Paper is producing income for me at a greater rate than Daily Two Cents. Each view on Persona Paper is worth twice what it is on DTC or Writedge, and those views seem to come more quickly.

However Writedge has the advantage of also providing passive income over time. I see Writedge traffic every day, even when I don't add any new content. DTC has generated only a small amount of passive income, and so far, Persona Paper has produced none at all.

The lack of passive income on Daily Two Cents and Persona Paper may be due to the fact that my articles on those platforms, which require only about 100 words per post, are too short to be well ranked by search engines. My Writedge content, on the other hand, is usually in the 500 to 800 word range. It's very possible that if I posted longer articles on DTC or Persona Paper, they, too, could generate passive search traffic.

Wizzley

Most of the comments I've seen by recent users of this site has been to the effect that writers have gotten some traffic, but their earnings have been very meager. My conclusion, from what I've seen, is that achieving a decent pay rate requires writing articles that stimulate click-through sales. Since that's not the kind of articles I write, I quickly crossed Wizzley off my personal list.

Seekyt

This site has totally changed its business model. It no longer pays writers for articles. Far, far worse, in my opinion, its Terms of Service explicitly state that just by submitting material to Seekyt you transfer the copyright to them. In other words, anything you submit to Seekyt will from that moment belong to them, not you, and you will be paid nothing for it. Not a particularly good deal for a writer!

Poll

Aside from HubPages, which site do you think may best meet your needs as a writer?

See results

My conclusion: Writedge and Persona Paper are best for me

NOTE: My conclusions listed in this section have changed. Please see update below.

Since HubPages is my main site, and will remain so, my purpose in this exercise has been to choose one or more auxiliary sites for purposes of diversification and as places to post articles that are not well suited to HP.

As mentioned above, I quickly scratched Wizzley and Seekyt off my list because I don't write the sales oriented articles those sites seem best suited for. I also eliminated InfoBarrel from consideration due to concerns with search engine ranking, and with not having the freedom to delete my content from the site whenever I choose.

After considering the other sites, I've decided that for me the two best avenues for diversification are Writedge and Persona Paper.

Although there are viability questions with both sites, I've found the respective Admin teams to be helpful and forthcoming when I've contacted them. At this point I trust them to be open and honest about what is happening with their sites.

Writedge has proven that it can produce passive income. I've already reached the $5 payout once, although that happened before the reduction in the pay rate from $5 to $1.50 per thousand unique views.

Downsides to Writedge, as well as Daily Two Cents, include the fact that the sites have technical issues that prevent them showing the number of views each article is receiving. Also, outbound links are limited and must be embedded in the article text. For me, that means Writedge is basically useless for linking to my articles on other sites. But the site does produce search engine traffic for me, and that's vital.

I like Persona Paper because of its relatively high pay rate for each view of your articles, and because you can also be paid for commenting on the posts of others.

VIDEO: Persona Paper promo

A significant downside to Persona Paper is the payout threshold of $20. I looked at the profiles of a number of writers who have been active on the site for at least several months, and none of them appear to be anywhere near reaching payout. (However, one writer with a multitude of social media contacts did it in less than a month!).

Persona Paper differs from Writedge in that stand-alone links to other sites are allowed if done appropriately. Although its traffic numbers are very low at this point, I like the site well enough to give it the opportunity to prove it can produce passive income. I'm going to place some longer articles there, and see if they get any search traffic.

A final word

One important conclusion I reached as I looked at Writedge, Daily Two Cents, and Persona Paper is that passive income is an absolute necessity for these sites to be viable options. With their payouts of $1.50 to $3.00 per 1000 unique views, the amount of money I earn on these sites through the views my articles get when first published works out to literally pennies per hour. Unless my work continues to earn through search engine or social media traffic, posting on these sites is simply not worth my time.

My purpose in this report has been to share what I've discovered in trying to find ways of diversifying my own writing. My conclusions are heavily weighted toward what I think would work for me as an individual. I do hope, however, that the information that underlies my conclusions may be of use to others.

UPDATE 10/7/2015

On 10/2/15 the DTC/Writedge admin team posted the following:

New Pay Model

Effective immediately (Oct 1st) we are changing our pay model on Daily Two Cents and Writedge to adshare instead of pay per view. We’re not happy about doing so, but have come to the conclusion that it’s the only way to keep the sites sustainable so we don’t have to worry about ever having to take them offline. . .

We’re sorry, but it’s been over 2 years and we finally just have to admit that pay per view isn’t sustainable without 100x the traffic we’re getting.

Since I don't think an ad share model works for me personally, I can no longer consider Writedge to be one of my preferred sites.

UPDATE 11/15/2015

Bubblews has shut down, and the site (with all its articles) is no longer accessible. However, if you had articles on the site that you would like to recover, that may still be possible. Please see:

How To Recover And Reuse Your Bubblews Articles


Update 2/1/2016

On January 30, 2016 PersonaPaper announced that they will be shutting down.

© 2015 Ronald E. Franklin

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 2 years ago from West By God

      This is great that you have added all those sites and have given lots of information about them all. I used to use Bubblews and Have used or been a member of this HubPages for 6+years now. Wizzley never made me a penny so I pulled everything off of that site except 2 (I think). I used Zuzava and Triond with no success at all. Now I have 7 blogs and am happy with that as I can put as many amazon and other product advertising on them as I want. Freedom of speech is a bit better there as well.

    • DzyMsLizzy profile image

      Liz Elias 2 years ago from Oakley, CA

      Most interesting, Ron.

      I write here, and dabble at Bubblews.

      Since I can't even manage to keep my blogs current, (no new posts in over 2 years), I doubt I'll try any of the other sites, as I'd obviously be spreading myself way too thin.

      That said, after reading your analysis, should I ever decide to make that leap of diversification, it sounds as if WriteEdge might be the better fit.

      Voted up, useful and interesting as well as shared.

    • LCDWriter profile image

      L C David 2 years ago from Florida

      This is very interesting! I appreciate how much work and research you've put into this. All the figures are very enlightening and shows that Hubpages is still doing something right.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Lady Guinevere, and thanks for sharing your experiences. You confirm what I discovered: there simply aren't any truly viable alternatives to HubPages out there now.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      DzyMsLizzy, I think you used a great word for what to do with Bubblews now - dabble! I find myself posting one or two articles there every couple of weeks simply because something occurs to me that I'd like to share. At this point I have no expectation of being paid. Thanks for sharing.

    • Paul Kuehn profile image

      Paul Richard Kuehn 2 years ago from Udorn City, Thailand

      Thank you for sharing a very interesting and useful review of many sites that I have and am writing on. I agree with you that Hubpages is the best because of its good passive income. Initially I did well on Bubblews until they stopped paying me for redemptions after my last one at the beginning of October of 2014. Bubblews still owes me almost $300 and I will never go back there until I am paid. I am writing a little on Persona Paper but haven't even made a buck after having written 17 articles accumulated 630 coins. Lately I haven't received coins for commenting on other articles. Voted up and sharing with HP followers.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, LCDWriter. Given what's happened to other writing sites, I think Paul E. and the rest of the HP staff deserve a lot of credit for keeping the site relatively healthy.

    • MikeSyrSutton profile image

      MikeSyrSutton 2 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      This was very in depth and well written.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Paul Kuehn. According to their official announcement, I'm afraid you'll never see your $300 from Bubblews. Even after all that's happened I still see no evidence that they understand the lack of integrity they showed in their dealings with writers. I'm convinced the only way Persona Paper can work is if it can start generating passive income. Let's hope.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, MikeSyrSutton. I hope it's helpful.

    • SoundNFury profile image

      Michael Valencia 2 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      Very thorough and coherent breakdown of the pros and cons of each respective site. I agree that for myself, in addition to Hubpages I think my best second option for my style of writing is Persona. I see it as something that can possibly grow, but that remains to be seen. Voted up and useful!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, SoundNFury. I, too, am hopeful that PP will grow.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 2 years ago from Queensland Australia

      Thanks for researching these sites Ron and sharing your findings. I know I should diversify but I don't really have the time to write regularly for more than one site. Very interesting comparisons though.

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      same with you, i am writing for hubpages, writedge and persona paper but now writedge earning has dropped drastically.

    • LindaSmith1 profile image

      LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

      Wizzley all the way as far as writing sites go and the Google PR is not Zero.

    • PsychGeek profile image

      PsychGeek 2 years ago from UK

      Great article, thank you for all the research you have put into this and for taking the time to write it up and share it. Extremely useful information, especially for someone like me who is still considering and pondering how best to split my time. Voted up!

    • LindaSmith1 profile image

      LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

      I use Wizzley for articles that don't fit my sites.

      Bottom line: Your own site does the best. Since creating my own sites, my traffic is much better, sales have been better. Nothing gets unfeatured. If I decide I don't like something, I change it, or delete it. I don't have any scores to drive me nuts. My earnings are my earnings 100 percent and I know where they are coming from, which products are being sold. I don't have to play any guessing games. I review my content periodically, so it is human eyes that see it and a human that decides to change it or delete it rather than some computer.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Jodah. One advantage to a site like Persona Paper is that it carries on the Bubblews social media model. So, posts can be about whatever happens to be on your mind at the time - no research, and not a whole lot of attention to crafting your words. Posts can be done in a couple of minutes using time in your day that might otherwise be unproductive.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, peachpurple. Yes, both Writedge and Daily Two Cents reduced their payments from $5/1000 views to $1.50/1000. Big difference! And I think their traffic has gone down as well as some writers no longer find it profitable to contribute on those sites.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, LindaSmith1. I'm glad your own sites are doing so well, but it hasn't worked that way for me. My HP traffic is far beyond what my three blogs get. And I just don't want the hassle of handling the details of trying to monetize them. But I'm sure that for those who are willing to focus their time and energy on their own sites, they may well do better than any revenue sharing site could. Thanks for sharing your perspective.

    • Kappygirl profile image

      Kappygirl 2 years ago

      Thank you for all the work and research you put into this hub. Great info to consider! Voted up!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, PsychGeek. I'm glad the info is helpful to you. I think that having different outlets for different types of material is highly beneficial to a writer, so pursuing the search for good alternatives is well worth the effort.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Kappygirl. I hope the info will prove helpful to you.

    • Marcy Goodfleisch profile image

      Marcy Goodfleisch 2 years ago from Planet Earth

      Hi, Ron! We need this information - things have changed a lot in the past few years. I noticed the Bubblews' icon is still on the image at the top - do you know the status of that site, and its ups & downs lately?

      So glad to know you here!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Marcy. Bubblews is still going and people are still posting there, although there's a lot of complaining about the glacial growth of people's banks. In fact, Arvind is promising to soon roll out a new, improved version of the site. He says it's being internally tested right now. We'll see.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      Excellent and comprehensive article, Ron. I agree that HP is best in terms of traffic and earnings, plus, for me, I find it to be the most user-friendly and I like admin. I've tried Daily Two Cents but found that traffic and earnings were low. Writedge sounds appealing from the info you've shared here, I might give them a try--to diversify. I decided to do some writing at InfoBarrel because it seems there is some potential there, but I understand your concerns--I've have been thinking the same things about the site.

      I've totally avoided Persona Paper, for some reason the earning of coins turned me off, because I really didn't understand why they don't just say you earn a certain amount in dollars and cents. However, your review here has piqued my interest.

      I like your charts too, really gives us an easy reference with good information. It's interesting to see where each site stands in terms of earnings and rankings, among other things. Interestingly, the three sites doing the best in terms of earnings are the main three I've written for.

      Bubblews is an interesting case, and it's full of controversy. However, logically anyone who knows about ad revenue online knows the site could not possibly pay at the rate they were paying. It's as simple as that. Who knows where they go from here, maybe they'll last longer than it seems they would have, now that their payment system is more practical.

      Thanks Ron, very helpful article.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      I wanted to add that, like you, I've given up on the idea that Bubblews can provide any passive income. The only way earnings could be decent there is if a person has a sizable social media following or they spend hours a day interacting on the site; I don't have the former and not sure I want to do the latter, considering it would be more profitable to write more articles here and for my own sites. It's either that or post the periodic short article on Bubblews and wait for the year I make payout there.

    • cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

      Treathyl FOX 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

      OK. SO … few questions.

      The acquisition of Squidoo clearly did not adversely impact HUBPages. Yes?

      UM … How bad is it if your Google Rank is 0/10?

      Do you know if the other sites are as selective as HUBPages about the “Featured” mechanism – that shows the “cream of the crop” articles to the search engines?

      If the sites are not and if they were as choosy about which articles get picked up by the search engines, would that improve their ranking?

      RE: Income potentital - If you post longer articles, i.e. 300 to 500 words at DTC or PP? But Bubblews is right after HUBPages and nobody says anything about the 400 characters or is it that most people write long “bubbles”, i.e. 400 words as opposed to 400 characters?. It's fuzzy for me. (???)

      Do you suggest just trying to make earnest efforts working on your own home business blogs to see if you get them to rise above all the clamor, instead of directing all this energy to these sites??

      OR … or … do you suggest writing at these sites and then linking back or sharing the links at your blogs – killing two birds with one stone??

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, NateB11. I kind of like Persona Paper's coin idea. It gives them flexibility regarding rates. In January they changed the exchange rate from $0.001 to 0.0015 per coin, and suddenly all the coins people had in their banks were worth 50% more. Of course, it could go the other direction, but they seem to be trying hard to avoid that.

      Arvind, the Bubblews CEO, says that they're on the brink of releasing a major update to the site. Whether that will involve more revenue for writers they don't say. I'm not holding my breath.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Treathyl. Here's my take on your questions:

      HP's takeover of Squidoo occurred at the same time as a major Google update. IMO it was Google more than the Squidoo acquisition that negatively affected HP traffic.

      Google Rank is a measure of how much a site is being linked to. Since my own HP subdomain has a rank of 3, for a major site to have a zero rank is pretty telling.

      HP seems to be the only site that uses featuring to determine whether published posts are visible to search engines. With the others, as far as I can tell, if you're published, you're visible. All the other sites, except Bubblews, do manual checking of articles for quality until writers prove they are producing content that meets the site's standards. Presumably, then, substandard content never gets published in the first place.

      Remember that the Bubblews model focuses on traffic from within the site, rather than from search engines or social media. So short articles that would be unlikely to get a lot of external traffic are exactly what they want. So, though Bubblews' traffic figures are second only to HP's, most of HP's traffic is external and depends on good search rankings, while Bubblews is the opposite. So 100 characters is perfect for the Bubblews model, while 1000 words is perfect for HP. Unlike Writedge, DTC or Persona Paper, IMO the Bubblews editor lacks the formatting power needed for longer articles. Besides, on Bubblews no one would want to read a long article anyway.

      I've never worked seriously at monetizing my blogs, and don't want the hassle of trying to do so. I suppose it's may be a good way to go for someone who's main focus is producing income from their writing, but I'm not really qualified to say.

    • cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

      Treathyl FOX 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

      Blessings! Thank you so much. Your straight answers always clear things up. Except ... if the focus is on internal traffic, I still don't get why there are social media buttons for sharing at Bubblews. Why bother sharing to non-bubblers, i.e. external traffic?? (O.o) (???)

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      It wasn't that Bubblews didn't want social media traffic, at least not in the beginning. But that's not what the model was aimed at. As things got more out of hand with scammers on the site, they seemed to actively discourage having too much social media traffic. I know of bubblers who had their accounts closed when an article took off on social media because apparently the Bubblews admin team believed the traffic was illegitimate.

    • cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

      Treathyl FOX 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

      I just posted a bubble just now! I like "bubbling". It helps me clear my head. :) Thanks man!

    • UberGeekGirl profile image

      Michelle Harlow 2 years ago from Calgary

      The thing with PR is that google only updates it once a year and has clearly stated they intend to completely phase it out. So if you're less than 2 years old, your PR will be low.

      The reason your subdomain here is 3 is because google allows the main site PR to reflect in the rest of the site articles.

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 2 years ago from West By God

      cmoneyspinner1tf, what is the payout rules over there now? Are they paying at all now? They still owe me $100.95 and said that they aren't going to pay me for that.

    • melissae1963 profile image

      Melissa Reese Etheridge 2 years ago from Tennessee, United States

      Thank you so much for a fantastic and informative article. I write my own blog, here, PP, and Bubblews. None give me great income, but I enjoy all of them.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 2 years ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      Thank you for this very inclusive article. I have bookmarked it for when I decide to diversify. Thank you

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, UberGeekGirl, for that clarification concerning page rank.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, melissae1963. I think you're right on target: the important thing about writing for any of these sites is the enjoyment and satisfaction you get. Certainly, none of them will make us rich!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Ericdierker. I hope the info is valuable for you.

    • cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

      Treathyl FOX 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

      Pardon me @RonElFran - allow me to respond.

      @Lady Guinevere - Have not reached the cash out threshold. I signed up AFTER the famous "Nonpayment announcement". There are others who claim they have been paid since then. There are others who are getting signatures from those who were not paid to take some sort of action to get payment. Saw it on the Internet this morning. You can Google it. If you haven't signed up perhaps you can join those who are going after their money! For real! It's y'all money. But I've known folks who worked for companies and were screwed out of their retirement money! It's WRONG! But wrong stuff happens all the time. Sometimes people get justice and things get made right. Sometimes they don't!

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 2 years ago from West By God

      @cmoneyspinner1tf Thank you and I found it and signed it. The petition is on MoveOn.org

    • cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

      Treathyl FOX 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

      @Lady Guinevere - You are very welcome nice lady. Hope this helps.

      @RonElFran - You are very gracious sir. Thank you for allowing me to respond.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      You're very welcome.

    • nanderson500 profile image

      nanderson500 2 years ago from Seattle, WA

      This is a very interesting and useful article. I am intrigued by some of these sites, although I have not written for any of them yet. Writeredge seems like a good fit for me. Great job!

    • pagesvoice profile image

      Dennis L. Page 2 years ago from New York/Pennsylvania border

      It was 4:30 a.m. when I opened up this post and am glad my mind was fresh while taking in the variables of different sites you presented. Throughout the years I have lost count of all the various sites I've written for. Some were fine for a while and then started a downward slide. Viewshound was a fantastic platform out of the U.K. and the payouts were the highest I ever earned. Needless to say, they tanked. Plagiarism is another problem with some venues and I've learned to avoid them like the plague. I guess it all comes down to personal preference. I found Bubblews to be boring simply because I don't care to read about someone going to the doctor, grocery store, having the flu or preparing for the in-laws to visit.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      You've presented the important facts here for choosing a writing site, Ron. The way you compared the statistics certainly makes the attributes and negatives clear. I have written for InfoBarrel and find that the traffic is less significant but I do like their standards for articles. What I don't like is, as you've pointed out, you have to ask permission to delete articles and then, they ask for your reason. There's not as much interaction between writers as on HubPages and a lot of emphasis is placed on the two writers who are earning big bucks.

      Recently I started writing on PersonaPaper and when they announced their changes to the payout and their financial issues a red flag came up for me. I deleted five articles and noticed that my relevant coins disappeared when I did that.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, nanderson500. I'd say it's definitely worthwhile to check a couple of these sites out and get a feel for what works for you.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, pagesvoice. I certainly understand the "not worth reading" factor with Bubblews. You find some of that with Persona Paper, less of it with Daily Two Cents, and, in my experience, almost none with Writedge. Glad to provide some wake-up reading at 4:30 am!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, PegCole17. As you indicate, I'd heard that most of the traffic and revenue on InfoBarrel is going to only a couple of their writers. I hadn't been aware that when you remove a Persona Paper article the associated coins go away. Personally I don't think that's fair since the views that article received while on the site, and the associated ad impressions, were real and presumably brought revenue to the site. Still, I like Persona Paper and hope it succeeds. Thanks for sharing.

    • kschimmel profile image

      Kimberly Schimmel 2 years ago from North Carolina, USA

      I think I will give Writedge a look. Thanks for this informative comparison.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, kschimmel. I hope it works for you.

    • colorfulone profile image

      Susie Lehto 2 years ago from Minnesota

      This is an in-depth review of the sites out there for writers, Ron.

      Very useful hub to tweet to followers.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, colorfulone. I'm glad it's helpful.

    • wildbluefrontier profile image

      Nathan M 2 years ago from Tucson

      I think all of us at one time or another are having a look around to see if we can diversify. Thanks for doing the research on all these sites. I'm here and at bubblews, and was looking at Infobarrel. However it seems like there is only about 3 writers doing well on IB. It does seem like Hubpages is doing as well or better than anywhere else.

    • favored profile image

      Fay Favored 2 years ago from USA

      Appreciate this comparison Ron. I'm not familiar with some of the sites you mentioned, but the stats say a lot.

    • profile image

      Daytime Divas 2 years ago from Salem, Genoa City, Port Charles...

      I have written for Bubblews and Daily Two Cents. Both platforms promised great pay and disappointed (for different reasons). Bubbles paid for a long time then just stopped. Daily Two Cents kept changing the payment model and view counter until writing for them became unsustainable.

      Hubpages has paid more consistently for longer. It is the only revenue share platform I now write on.

      But, my own blog was slower in getting started - earnings wise - but now far exceeds Hupbages, Bubblews, and Daily Two Cents income....

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, wildbluefrontier. IMO there is no real equivalent to HP. InfoBarrel seems like it could aspire to that level if it could deal with its traffic and policy issues. I understand there's a site redesign in progress. I hope that gives them new life.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, favored . Glad I could help.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Daytime Divas. Part of what I enjoy about HP is that I get to write on a variety of subjects, none of which are ever going to be wildly popular. Though I have three blogs, each in a particular niche, they don't produce anything like the traffic HP does. But I recognize that having your own blogs is the ultimate diversification strategy.

    • Chriswillman90 profile image

      Krzysztof Willman 2 years ago from Parlin, New Jersey

      This was just the article I was looking for. I wanted to expand but I wasn't sure which writing sites similar to HP I should look for. You gave a thorough and well researched Hub that I learned a lot from. Excellent work.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Chriswillman90. I'm glad this info is helpful to you.

    • sallybea profile image

      Sally Gulbrandsen 2 years ago from Norfolk

      An excellent and well researched review of these writing sites. The work you have put into this is really appreciated. Thank you

    • profile image

      Hannah Writes 2 years ago

      I want to know where people are getting their information that only a few authors are getting paid for writing on Info Barrel. Everyone who gets to the $50 threshold gets paid. I have been there for over five years and while I do not earn as much as I used to there, I am earning.

      I have written at almost every site that has been mentioned here, but I now focus on my own sites and blogs, as well as two other small multi-author sites.. Earnings on large writing platforms, for me, are down across the board. People are now ad-blind.

      The bottom line is that you can earn money online at any site, but you need to write quality content that people are actually looking for. You can have the best, most well written article in your area of expertise, but if no one is searching for it, you cannot earn from it.

      Very informative piece!

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 2 years ago from West By God

      Hannah Writes, if only that were true.

    • profile image

      Hannah Writes 2 years ago

      Lady Guinevere, I do believe it is true if it is a very narrow niche. There is so much competition these days that you really have to hyper-focus. I know that I, and others writers as well, have finely written content that is not found because of internet trash that is still out there. Earning money online today is not what it used to be.

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 2 years ago from West By God

      Hannah Writes I have written here for over 6 years now and I do know how site owners work when they see $$$ in front of their eyes and how the writers get snubbed. Good or bad, it doesn't matter what or how good that you write...at least on here recently.

      I have written for a couple of other sites as well. Yes it is hard and is getting harder when Google is involved and how this stie caters to their dementia.

    • ChristinS profile image

      Christin Sander 2 years ago from Midwest

      Well researched and interesting. I had been doing some writing on Bubblews but don't anymore since I believe they are doomed to failure and are not being transparent at all with their users any longer.

      My recommendation would be for niche writers to start a free blog on blogger. You have to maintain it and stick with it for quite a while, but over time they do get good traffic. I have one niche blog that I haven't posted to in months that gets over a 150 page views per day on older posts/pages.

      I love HubPages, but I think those seeking to diversify may not want to depend on revenue sharing sites and instead create their own.

      Your data was very interesting! Voted up and will share.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, sallybea.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks for sharing, Hannah Writes.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, so much, ChristinS. I think each site, whether HubPages or your own blog, should have a specific purpose in your strategy. As you say, for niche writers a blog may do better than any revenue sharing site. One thing about a blog: once you start getting repeat visitors who regularly check in to see what's new, you are less dependent on the vagaries of search engine exposure.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 2 years ago from Long Island, NY

      Very well researched and written hub Ron. One thing missing from your poll at the end was "none" - since I could not consider any of them to meet my needs as an online writer, other than HubPages.

      Persona Paper may have been one to vote for, especially for short articles. But lately they are not careful with programming, such as bugs with images. Editing an existing post causes the image to get changed to the last image uploaded. Not sure if they fixed that yet after I reported it some time ago. I don't waste much time there.

      They also had a lot of trouble malicious code from an ad agency they use, that interferes with mobile user's experience.

      So, there's nothing out there right now for posting short articles that pays as well as HubPages. Guess I'll just have to stick with long articles.

    • Leptirela profile image

      Leptirela 2 years ago from I don't know half the time

      On behalf of the rest of us, a big thanks for the time, effort and hard work you have done to collect this information for us. I totally agree now that HP is the best place for those who enjoy writing , but also it is the best paid even if it turns out to be 20p at the moment you are still 20p better off than anywhere else. I have gone through many listed above, and HubPages is now again my second home. I am not extremely crazy about some of my hubs not being featured but I will work on that. You have totally broken this down to language everyone can understand.

      It is a very useful hub and I have no doubt it will answer many questions that online writers want answers to.

      Voted up.

      Also I would like to state that I agree with Hannah above too, simply because people ARE adblind and the content must be engaging otherwise it will fall into a non featured category not just on HP but the whole net so to speak.

    • Besarien profile image

      Besarien 2 years ago

      This is great! What a nice comparison resource for serious writers looking to branch out. I had never heard of some of these sites, so thank you. Voted up!

    • Maggie Bonham profile image

      Maggie Bonham 2 years ago from Missoula, Montana

      Thanks! Very useful!

    • Ronna Pennington profile image

      Ronna Pennington 2 years ago from Arkansas

      Thanks for the great info!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Glenn. I've not looked at Persona Paper on mobile - I'll have to make it a point to see how it translates. I was having image problems there a couple of weeks ago, but it seems ok now.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Leptirela. I really appreciate that. I think HP deserves a lot of credit for their commitment to doing what it takes to keep the site viable. Looking at the carnage of fallen sites all around, it's obviously not easy. As you say, we writers have to up our game to have any chance of success in this very difficult environment.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Besarien. I'm glad it's helpful.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Maggie Bonham. I appreciate that.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Ronna Pennington. I'm glad the info is helpful. Thanks for reading.

    • Leptirela profile image

      Leptirela 2 years ago from I don't know half the time

      I agree, totally.

      Once again, great hub.

    • RustyW profile image

      RustyW 2 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Very informative and well-written, it has caused me to again take inventory of my work and see how well its doing. Though I'm not in it for the money, as I consider my writing to be a labor of love; it is nice to see a few cents of appreciation from time to time...lol.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      RustyW, I'm with you on not writing for the money, but appreciating it when a little comes my way. I find that I have to constantly remind myself that an article's money-making potential shouldn't be my first consideration in writing. Thanks for sharing.

    • Kristen Howe profile image

      Kristen Howe 2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      Great hub, Ron. I used to be on Yahoo Voices (aka Yahoo Contributor Network aka Associated Content) for about four years, until it closed last summer. I never did get my final payout after it closed last summer, which was about another 20 cents. Some of my HP articles were from YV. Some of my articles I should've downloaded last summer and post it here--I don't have them anymore. I wish I did. I've been here for about six months and slowly making money (except for ebay/Amazon earnings). I might consider the other websites in the future. Voted up for super useful!

    • Drew Lawrence profile image

      Drew Lawrence 2 years ago

      Thanks for this. Great info!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Kristen. I, too, was on YCN, which, for me, was #2 to HubPages. My search of all these other sites has really been to try to find one to fill the gap left by YCN. Haven't found it yet! I'm sorry you lost some of your YCN articles. I have a several of my articles from there that I beefed up and republished as hubs. Most of the others I've distributed among the sites I wrote about here, but none of those have so far done as well as they did on YCN. Anyway, welcome to HubPages! And thanks for reading and sharing.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      I appreciate that, Drew. Thanks for reading.

    • MariaMontgomery profile image

      MariaMontgomery 2 years ago from Central Florida, USA

      You have some great information here. It's well-organized and concise. Thank you for all of that. I have 93 articles on HP 10 or 11 on PP and one on Seekyt. I have started one article on Wizzley, but have kept it in draft form, because I'm still not comfortable with how to use their editor., and haven't had time to learn it. I, too, see pros and cons with all of them. I also have 2 blogs, and plan to move my shortest hubs to the blogs or to PP where shorter articles are welcome. After all, there is only so much that can be said about a recipe. Thanks again for doing this research and publishing your findings.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, MariaMontgomery. Sounds like you're pretty well diversified already. PP is still showing low view counts, and I'm hoping to see them pick up as new people join the site. I hope your recipes do well, if you decide to put them there.

    • melissae1963 profile image

      Melissa Reese Etheridge 2 years ago from Tennessee, United States

      Ive used Writedge since reading your article. Ive commented once already. My question is...do you find the Writedge format to be confusing to the point of complicated?

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Yes, melissae1963, in the beginning I found the Writedge format quite confusing. Even though I'm familiar with Wordpress on my own blogs, I found WE's version challenging and made lots of mistakes with it at first. But now I'm comfortable with it. I understand they've brought out a new interface for those who didn't like the old one, but since I'm familiar with the old one now, I still use that. My experience is that if you stick with it, you'll probably be able to adjust after a few submissions.

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 2 years ago from Orlando Florida

      This is so well done. I appreciate the research you put into this. So far I have not written for any other sites besides HubPages. I have thought about it, and you have given me the information I need to make a decision.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Catherine. I'm glad you found the info useful. Finding other sites to supplement HubPages is not easy these days, so I'm glad I could be helpful.

    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 2 years ago from Fresno CA

      Very comprehensive and helpful. Thanks. Voted up++

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, PAINTDRIPS. I'm glad it's helpful.

    • Robert Sacchi profile image

      Robert Sacchi 2 years ago

      Thank you very much. This is good information. Your research is great and it made for a very informative article.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Robert, I appreciate that.

    • profile image

      RajaSiwale 2 years ago

      Great Job. I am new in this online money making business and I am really lost in the woods of all these sites. I didn't know which ones work and which ones don't. My Google research gave me conflicting results. One person would speak so highly of one site, and the page right below them would totally trash the same site.

      So I decided to try them all and see which ones work.

      The best site for me so far is Webanswers. I have 400 answers posted in 60 days and I earn between $1- $2.5 per day, usually $1.5 with minimal activity. (I have only posted five answers this month of April and have $55 lifetime Webanswers earnings).

      I am on Seekyt, InfoBarrel, Wizzley, Hubpages (of course), Bubblews (don't post much) and today joined DTC. We will see which ones actually pay.

      I so far love Wizzley and Seekyt while Hubpages is my favorite and I will make it my main home. I hate that InfoBarrel seems to make gods of two authors only, when there are other great writers there. It becomes boring seeing the same two people every time you log in.

      Thank you for your article.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, RajaSiwale. Sounds like you're systematically looking at possibilities, and that's great. I've not looked at Webanswers yet - I'll have to check it out. Thanks for sharing.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, angliterario. I've looked at elance and odesk, and I kind of keep them in my back pocket in case I ever get to a place where I have to depend on writing for income. But at this point I definitely don't want my writing to become a "job" where my freedom about what and when I write is constrained. But in terms of income, I'm sure sites like those pay much better than any revenue sharing site could. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      angliterario 2 years ago

      @ronElFran Actually if the only job you get from those sites are projects that only pay $2 per 400 article I think you'd be better off with hubpages, overtime you're hubs would probably generate more income than the one time $2. :-)

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      That's a great insight, angliterario. Thanks for sharing it.

    • American_Choices profile image

      American_Choices 2 years ago from USA

      RonElFran,

      I don't utilize other sites. I was thinking about a WordPress site.

      This information is fascinating. Great report! Thank you!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, American_Choices. I have 3 WordPress blogs, and I have to say it's tough keeping up with all of them. Takes discipline!

    • AuniceReed profile image

      Aunice Yvonne Reed 2 years ago from Southern California

      Hi RonElFran, Great and very informative hub. I just loved the table you put together. With everything going on with these sites, I'm beginning to believe they really are a waste of one's time. A co-owner of one of the sites, I can't remember which, just up and ran off with all the money! Oh yeah and Seekyt is no longer operational btw. I wonder if you'd be better off by moving most of your articles to Hubpages?

    • AuniceReed profile image

      Aunice Yvonne Reed 2 years ago from Southern California

      correction: Seekyt is still going. Someone else bought it, I think.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, AuniceReed. I'm glad you liked the hub. The site where one of the owners absconded with the money was the now defunct Elite Visitors. I think one thing the tables in the hub show is just how financial fragile some of these sites are. As you note, Seekyt was sold for $15,ooo. HP remains the most stable and profitable of the revenue sharing sites.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      I read somewhere that this site called CGP Gallery basically never paid anyone, so I guess you could say they absconded with the money. Last I checked, the site has disappeared. It was a copycat of Bubblews and always looked shady to me so I never tried it. The other one that I don't think is paying anyone is Milk the Blog. Not certain about that one, but it wasn't looking good; admin said they were having trouble making enough money to pay people. Too many sites have been trying the Bubblews model of paying a cent a view; just doesn't work. Bubblews admin has already admitted to that.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, NateB11. I see that CGP Gallery has disappeared again. Their site was suspended before, came back, and is now suspended again. Like you, I took a look at Milk the Blog and decided it wasn't worth my time. I'm not aware of any site built on the Bubblews model that's reporting a positive cash flow at this point, even with payout rates far lower than what Bubblews advertised.

    • Emese Fromm profile image

      EmeseRéka 2 years ago from The Desert

      Thank you for this insightful and comprehensive article. I only started writing online a few months ago. Although my first choice was and remains Hubpages (I just like the community of writers here, I haven't made money yet), it is good to know what other options are there. Your comparison helps a lot. Very informative.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Emese. It's difficult navigating all the writing site options just now, and I'm glad I could be helpful.

    • Thelma Alberts profile image

      Thelma Alberts 2 years ago from Germany

      Very informative hub. I have been a member on Bubblews (still is but seldom visit there), CGP and EV/BW. Hubpages is still the best for me. I´ll check Writedge and Persona Paper. Creating my own niche blog on

      Blogger as what ChristinS commented sounds appealing to me. I have to research though how to do it. Thanks for writing this well researched hub.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Thelma. Like you, I drop into Bubblews every once in a while, but it's definitely not worth spending any real time there. Now I use Persona Paper for the kinds of articles I used to put on Bubblews. Writedge continues to work best for me for mid-length articles that are unsuited to HP.

    • emge profile image

      Madan 23 months ago from Abu Dhabi

      It appears that you have done a lot of research. great credit for it. By and large your assessment is correct except for Bubblews which I feel will completely slide out in another 3-6 months

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 23 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      You may be right about Bubblews, emge. It seems adrift at this point. Thanks for reading and sharing.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 23 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, Pjgermain. With shutdowns seeming to happen every month, the writing site landscape is becoming a something of a desert!

    • facetube profile image

      facetube 22 months ago

      Useful topic, thank you for sharing! I hope those sites will upgrade continuously in future. Because good competition creates better progress.

    • UberGeekGirl profile image

      Michelle Harlow 22 months ago from Calgary

      Writedge and Daily Two Cents hope to be adding the ability to see views per post by adding google analytics for writers this summer (2015). Cross your fingers it can be done :)

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 22 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, facetube. You are so right - we need viable alternatives as outlets for our writing, and I hope these sites can become stronger competitors.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 22 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Fingers crossed, UberGeekGirl. That will make a huge difference, and I'm definitely looking forward to it.

    • UberGeekGirl profile image

      Michelle Harlow 22 months ago from Calgary

      It's just been added to Writedge. You're welcome to test it out (put your GA code on your profile).

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 22 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      UberGeekGirl, I got my GA going for Writedge and it's been very revealing. The articles getting the most views are not what I expected! This is very valuable info, and I'm really glad it's now available.

    • UberGeekGirl profile image

      Michelle Harlow 22 months ago from Calgary

      Glad it's helping :) It's on Daily Two Cents now too. I think I saw you there as well.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 22 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, UberGeekGirl.

    • kalinin1158 profile image

      Lana Zakinov 22 months ago from California

      Great review! My only experiment was Bubblews and...well, you know how it went. I liked the short article format though. Sort of "flash fiction" of online writing. So I guess I'll stick to HP! I'm a veteran (6 years) and the only way I'll leave is if the site goes down, but that's unlikely...right? :)

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 21 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, kalinin1158. I'm using PersonaPaper for my short articles these days. I post one on Bubblews every once in a while just to avoid the possibility of being shut down for inactivity.

    • Inspired Heart profile image

      Yvette Stupart 21 months ago from Jamaica

      Thanks for an informative hub, Ron. I find your suggestions quite helpful.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 21 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thank you, Yvette. I'm glad it provided useful info.

    • B. Leekley profile image

      Brian Leekley 21 months ago from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

      This comparison of sites is very helpful to me. I conclude that I will focus my writing time on writing and trying to market fiction and on writing HubPages articles and that I will only occasionally post to Persona Paper or Writedge.

      What about the possibility of posting in Persona Paper or Writedge or a competing similar site on some topic for a year or more and then gathering those posts into an e-book?

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 21 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Brian. I'm glad the info is helpful for you. IMO gathering Writedge posts into an ebook could work well, provided, of course, those posts have some depth to them. That's the reason I wouldn't try it with PersonaPaper - it's just not meant for long, in-depth posts. What you see there are a lot of personal blog or Facebook-type posts. If one of my PersonaPaper posts runs to 1000 characters (not words), it's a really long one, and actually likely to be less widely read because of it. To me, placing a serious informational article on PersonaPaper would be a waste; I would definitely use Writedge (or, of course, HubPages) for that.

    • profile image

      LindaOH 20 months ago

      Ronald, Wizzley is a new one for me. I'll have to check them out. Used to write for Hub Pages a couple of years ago. Bubblews has pretty much tanked. Currently I'm going to start my 2nd article for Daily Two Cents; and I plan to write for Seekyt. Just a little "heads up" (I hate people that use that term) :-D , Seekyt has changed ownership; and their requirements are totally different. Kudos on a great article. CYA on Facebook!

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 18 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, LindaOH. Somehow I missed your comment two months ago, and in that time a lot has changed. Bubblews has shut down, and Writedge and Daily Two Cents have changed their revenue models. The writing world seems to be in constant flux these days.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 18 months ago from California, United States of America

      It's looking more like HP is the only viable writing site and your own site(s) is/are the only alternative(s). At least, that's how I'm seeing it. I gave up on Infobarrel awhile back, especially after they took more than a week to review some of my articles and then smacked them with bogus corrections, I felt it wasn't worth it to me to get trickles of traffic and struggle to get published. So, anything I don't put on my own sites or HP go to Wizzley, which is a site I like and is still alive.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 18 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      NateB11, I signed up with myLot a few days ago, and so far so good. I think that's where a lot of Bubblews refugees will end up. Many are already there.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 17 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      You are an excellent researcher. This article is very helpful to writers. I used to write for Suite 101, then they changed and I have not checked out their new site and business model. I liked writing for them. They had high standards and I did well there, but not financially. It was hard to get a payout, but I must admit I wrote less than 20 articles and the first few were really bad. Have you looked into Examiner.com? They are really different. I don't write for them much anymore. It's hard to get paid and whenever you go on their site to read articles the pop ups are so crazy I don't know how anyone reads them. However, if you have a lot to say under your given category it's a good place to share information. Nice work Ron.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 17 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Thanks, lambservant. Interestingly, it was by running into someone who wrote for Suite 101 that I was introduced to online writing. I never signed up with them, but it was by way of them that I got to HubPages. Regarding Examiner.com, it seems to me that I don't see them show up in search results like they once did. My impression is that they are less of a factor as a writing site than they once were.

    • profile image

      Glenis Rix 7 months ago

      Very useful information, as I'm relatively new to writing content and only write for Hub Pages. It's a useful way to hone my writing skills but I'm not anticipating much money, so look upon it as a hobby. However, I am beginning to wonder if the hours that I spend writing hubs is justified.

    • RonElFran profile image
      Author

      Ronald E. Franklin 7 months ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Hi, Glenis. I'm glad you found the info helpful. I can't encourage you enough to stick with HubPages. I've been writing lately for sites that broker articles to customers seeking posts. I just finished one that specified 1250-2000 words for a price of $125. For me, that's like one of my hubs, which I write more for the joy of writing than for expected payment. I was offered the $125 assignment because they were very satisfied with my work on shorter pieces.

      When I started this more "professional" phase of my writing career, I realized I had already been well trained by writing hubs. So, although most of my hubs will never bring in that amount of money (several do, but certainly not most), my effort has not been wasted. Besides giving me the satisfaction of being able to write about what interests me, HP has trained me well for any writing assignments I might want to undertake.

      So, my advice is to enjoy writing on HP for the enjoyment of writing, and for the training it will provide on how to write for the web.

    Click to Rate This Article