Self-publishing Tips: Should You Worry About Reviews?

Updated on March 12, 2018
heidithorne profile image

Heidi Thorne is a self-publishing expert, nonfiction book editor, author of 21+ books and eBooks, and a former trade newspaper editor.

Source

Desired and Dreaded Book Reviews

You've just finished your self-published book and it's up on Amazon for sale. That also means it's up for review by both readers who love it (or love the author) and hate it. Y'all ready for that?

Authors, especially new ones, can fret so much about the possibility of getting a bad review that it can paralyze them from even publishing the book in the first place.

Let's get one thing straight: If you put yourself and your work out there—whether it's online or offline—people will judge you and what you do. Not prepared for that? Then find something else to do that will keep you as incognito and invisible as possible.

Writing and self-publishing a book is, by its very nature, a public activity. The etymology of the word publish can be traced back to the Latin publicare which means to "make public" (Online Etymology Dictionary). The cloak of invisibility that many writers desire is an illusion that has been ripped away by the Internet. It all seems so "private" publishing from the comfort of one's home when, in fact, publishing is more public than it's ever been.

With self-publishing being a public activity, you need to be prepared for both desired and dreaded book reviews.

Could Negative Reviews Kill Book Sales?

Short answer? Maybe or maybe not.

Judging from my own experience (and I'm sure you could relate), I'm not reviewing five different books, comparing for price and the one negative review tips me over into non-buy mode. Books ain't toothpaste.

True, a great review might tip an on-the-fence buyer to actually buy a book. However, if you are actively marketing your book or ebook, and actively building your audience, readers may be primed to buy your book and may not even think to look at the reviews. I know I rarely look at the reviews, except for curiosity's sake. Why? Because I tend to read books that were recommended to me by REAL people I know and trust. Luckily, Amazon has the "verified purchase" designation which does give some reviews more credibility.

And let's remember this. Your book is a unique creation. Sure, there may be dozens, if not thousands, of books addressing the same market or topic. But it's what you bring to the market that will encourage them to buy.

Silent and Squeaky Readers

Happy customers can be the quietest customers on the planet when it comes to expressing their good experience with a product, service or vendor. Their expectations were met. They've moved on to the next thing. Even worse is that once they've purchased a book, they are not going to be repeat buyers of that book. Again, a book ain't toothpaste.

But unhappy customers? They're the proverbial squeaky wheel (or reader in this case), all too anxious to express their displeasure with anything relating to a purchase... even if the source of their unhappiness is the most minor or irrelevant of issues.

Unfortunately, as many small business owners can attest, this is a maddening scenario that currently has few viable solutions. Thankfully, on Amazon Kindle books, when the reader is finished, a starred, easy-to-complete review opportunity pops up when the book is finished. Even if they don't write a review, at least the book might easily earn some stars. As well, Amazon does send emails reminding buyers to review their purchases. Sadly, both can be ignored.

Do you fret over your negative book reviews?

See results

The Book Launch Review Bonanza or Bust

Many authors scramble to get their friends to read a book pre-launch in the hopes that as soon as it publishes, their friends will quickly post a (hoped to be positive) review on Amazon. Not a bad strategy and I encourage authors to solicit as many early reviews as they can. But I'd like to offer some experience I've had.

When I've distributed review copies (usually a PDF version watermarked with a notation about being a sample or review copy on every page), it is difficult to get friends to actually post a review. They're busy and that's just one more thing they have on their burgeoning To Do list that won't get done. I am NOT a high priority. Plus, some are s-l-o-w readers. So I have a decision to make: Should I badger them to post a review? Or should I let it go and move on to more friends?

With the low cost of PDF review copies, cost is not a huge factor to soliciting warm and fuzzy reviews from a wider audience. But consider this: How many of those friends could be book buyers? Giving away too many review copies could hurt sales, too, especially in super niche markets where sales volume may be low anyway. And there's always the chance that they'll "share" the review copy with others, further reducing sales opportunities.

Some will take a "giver" stance and say that the more they give away, the more that will come back to them. Okay, I understand that universal principle. But where do you draw the line? Should you draw the line?

What to Do?

  • Get as Many Positive, Warm Book Reviews as You Can. Even though it might be difficult, get as many warm, fuzzy book reviews from friends and fans as you can, especially in the pre-launch and early book launch period. But don't stop then! Encourage reviews throughout the book's lifespan.
  • Don't Panic over Bad Reviews. Everyone, even the most successful of authors and artists, gets bad reviews from time to time. Again, if you're in a public profession, be prepared for this to happen. It's inevitable.
  • Ignore the Trolls. There will always be haters and pontificators, noisy "trolls" who are looking for attention more than anything. Ignore, don't engage.
  • Watch for Trends and Valuable Critiques. While it's best to ignore the ignorant trolls, in some less-than-positive reader reviews, you may observe trends and treasures of insight. Use these valuable bits of information when preparing new books, next editions or revising marketing plans.
  • Build Your Review-Resistant Fan Base. More than anything, authors need to build a loyal fan base and community eager to read their latest work. This requires consistent branding and engagement with that audience. Don't just build a book, build a fan base!

Disclaimer: Both the publisher and author have used their best efforts in preparation of this information. No representations or warranties for its contents, either expressed or implied, are offered or allowed and both parties disclaim any implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for your particular purpose. The advice and strategies presented herein may not be suitable for you, your situation or business. Consult with a professional advisor where and when appropriate. Neither the publisher nor author shall be liable for any loss of profit or any other damages, including but not limited to special, incidental, consequential or punitive, arising from or relating to your reliance on this information.

Questions & Answers

    © 2015 Heidi Thorne

    Comments

    Submit a Comment

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Good to hear, Suhail! Enjoy the holiday weekend!

    • Suhail and my dog profile image

      Suhail Zubaid aka Clark Kent 

      2 years ago from Mississauga, ON

      Hi Heidi,

      Read this informative hub today. I got what I was looking for.

      Regards,

      Suhail

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      You've made a good point, breathing, that writers should always be concerned with what will resonate with their target audiences. Thanks for stopping by!

    • breathing profile image

      Sajib 

      2 years ago from Bangladesh

      Good reviews are always a bonus and encourage the writers to write more good words so that the readers can come back for more. In case of self-published writers, bad reviews do not have a significant effect on the book sales as the author suggests. But why take the risk? Yeah there will be criticizers of your book but try to write in such a way that you get maximum amount of positive response from your target readers. If you have sufficient amount of positive reviews, then the negative ones will not be a big deal at all! So try to get the writing to a level which attracts readers and get you positive reviews.

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Hello again kalinin1158! Isn't that an interesting result? I know I've had similar experiences with not only books, but YouTube videos, blog posts and more. Never ceases to amaze me. And I think we'd all rather have the authentic reviews, than those we had to push. Thank you so much for adding that great insight to the conversation! Have a great day!

    • kalinin1158 profile image

      Lana Adler 

      2 years ago from California

      I didn't self-publish, but I went through many of the stages you're describing - badgering friends, realizing friends are too busy, realizing I have very few friends, realizing my friends aren't readers etc. Some of them did post the reviews. Others were less than helpful. And I still get amazed when I get a review from someone I didn't solicit, and it's a glowing one. Wooooooooooooooow...Great advice Heidi!

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Hi teaches12345! Indeed, once we step on the self publishing stage, we're setting ourselves up for it. "Goes with the territory" as the saying goes. Luckily, we have encouraging and supportive writer friends on HP that can help us keep our spirits up. Thank you for adding your thoughts to the conversation! Happy Weekend!

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      2 years ago

      I try to ignore the trolls in general, good tip! I think writing makes one vulnerable to these critics but we one must be brave.

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      True that, Larry! I get mad every time I think of how much of my life I've spent worrying about the opinion of others. Luckily, the older I get, the less I care. One of the benefits of aging. :) Thanks for stopping by and have a great week ahead!

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Indeed, purl3agony, oftentimes we're our own toughest critics. It is easy to slip into worry zone, wondering if our work is good enough. But then, one day, we realize that we have something wonderful to share with the world and it starts to go away. So glad you haven't been worried enough to keep you from posting your beautiful hubs here. Thanks for starting your week here and hope it's a good one!

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Well, Sunshine625, I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who has to argue with myself. :) Indeed, most writers are their own worst critics. Glad to see you overcame any fear and decided to share your wisdom and cheer with us here on HP. Thank you for chiming in and have a delightful week!

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Sadly, FlourishAnyway, you're right. There will always be trolls. One of the greatest accomplishments a writer can achieve is to be brave enough to write and publish, regardless of how others think. Thanks for starting your week here. Have a delightful day!

    • heidithorne profile imageAUTHOR

      Heidi Thorne 

      2 years ago from Chicago Area

      Just glad to provide the humor, billybuc! Agreed, if you want to write, you gotta be ready for a more public life. Thanks & Happy Monday!

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 

      2 years ago from Oklahoma

      Always nice to win acclaim, but you can't spend your life worrying about what others think.

    • purl3agony profile image

      Donna Herron 

      2 years ago from USA

      Wonderful hub, Heidi! I'm definitely someone who would worry about potentially bad reviews. But you make some excellent points about happy customers being silent customers. Thanks for the great advice on how to build positive reviews and silent the worrying voice in my head. Thanks for sharing!

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 

      2 years ago from Orlando, FL

      If I was concerned about other people's opinions I would never have published my first hub years ago. So, I sure as heck am not concerned about other's opinions on my self-published books. Well, except my own and I am my worse critic. Oh well...I will continue to write and argue with myself. Haha!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      2 years ago from USA

      I love that line too! Books ain't toothpaste! You provide excellent encouragement for authors to just get out there and ignore the trolls. There will always be trolls.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      2 years ago from Olympia, WA

      "Books ain't toothpaste." I'll be laughing over that line for the rest of the evening. A writer afraid of a negative review should not be a writer...period.

      Thanks for the dose of reality for those who need it.

      Have a great week!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, toughnickel.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://toughnickel.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)