Frugal LivingStarting a BusinessFinding a JobIndustriesBusinessReal EstatePersonal FinanceSelf-EmploymentScams & FraudInsurance

iWriter Review: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Updated on September 19, 2016

Quick Poll

Do You Have Experience With iWriter

See results

Note: I do include updates about iWriter in this long article, so if something I said is not valid anymore, or has changed in some way, there will be an update underneath it. Luckily (depending on how you look at it), not much as changed at iWriter since I wrote this hub, so there is not much to update!

If you notice that I have missed something, good or bad, please leave a comment at the end of this article and let me and other readers know!

Thinking about writing or requesting articles from iWriter?

Since I have been doing both for a while, I thought I would give you a to-the-point review on what iWriter is all about, and whether or not it is worth your time, money, or effort.

I have been there for a little while, and I think that I have some insight that would reflect many other peoples opinions and influence your reasoning for or against iWriter.p

Note: Since writing this article there have been many comments posted that reflect my opinions on the service, so take the time to scroll through some of them at the bottom of this page to learn more about what actual users are saying about their experiences.

Following is the good, bad, and the ugly of iWriter.

What's Good About It?
What's Good About It?

The Good of iWriter

For The Writers

As soon as you sign up to iWriter, you can start writing immediately. This means that, potentially, you could start earning some money for your writing today. It is probably the least painful way to start earning money online quickly, that is, if you can produce articles that the requesters are happy with.

Also, I have never seen iWriter miss a payment. The staff seem to be quite good at ensuring payments get sent out. The payment frequency is set by you (weekly, bi-weekly etc.) and the money is deposited into your paypal account. As of now, there are no other options for payments. I have my payment schedule set to every Tuesday.

Unlike some other places, iWriter has people actively looking for specific articles, which takes all the guesswork out of what to write. Just pick a request, not the keywords and the special requirements, and then write the article - it is that easy.

The requester can tip you. I find the requesters at iWriter are generally cheap, even when you over deliver and write an excellent article (it is after all a cheap place to get articles), and your tips will be few and far between.

It is important to note that the requester can tip you even after they have approved your articles. Even a year after, as long as it is sitting in their approved articles requested section.

For The Requesters

It is cheap to buy an article on iWriter. If you want, you can buy a 1000-word article for less than $10. You can even buy a 300-word article for less than a couple of dollars. You can't get much cheaper than that.

There are many writers waiting to write, so you can have an article within a few hours. Of course, this depends on the kind of instructions that you give. The more vague you are, the less willing writers will be to pick up your article.

You can reject the writers work if you don't like the article and it will go back into the writers pool to be picked up by someone else. This means that you never have to take an article you are not satisfied with.

After you find some writers you like on iWriter, you can pick them as your 'favorite writers' so that you get the same quality time and time again instead of wondering who is going to write your article and whether it will be any good. This saves a lot of time.

Elite writers are generally really good writers, and they worth the extra few bucks that you have to shell out. It is still cheaper to buy from them then from other people on other sites, and it's well worth the money. Take advantage of the fact that you can only promote your articles to elite writers if you want.

Your articles come in two formats: One plain text, just the way it was written, and one with spin tags.

Update Dec. 9/12 - Apparently you can upload the article written for you straight to your WordPress blog. I haven't tried this, but there are easy enough instructions on how to do it. Considering most of us use WordPress, this is a big bonus for convenience.

What's So Bad About iWriter?
What's So Bad About iWriter?

The Bad of iWriter

For The Writers

Starting out on iWriter, you can only write basic articles. You need to write 30 articles with a star rating of 4 or more to get into one of the next levels which comes with a higher payment. Basic payments are just over a dollar to about $7 (depending on word length and price point requester chooses.)

If you get 4.6 stars or more as an average, then you can move into the elite writers group and have your choice of articles from all three levels. The elite articles pay more.

Update Jan. 21/13 - Today a new option called the 'iWriter Fast Track Program' popped up for new writers. This program allows you to apply to skip the 30 day wait time by writing 3 articles around keywords that they choose. Then, they review those 3 articles and rate them, take an average star rating, and boost you up to a premium or elite level. BUT you have to pay a fee of $147 to apply. Their reason: so that serious writers apply and so they can pay the employees. I don't know what to say about this...I just hope the employees are fair in their reviewing.

Update March 30/14 - I had a woman comment on the Facebook page for writers at iWriter about the fast track program. Essentially she said that the ad for the fast track program said that she would get her three 'fast track' articles averaged, but instead she got an average of all of her articles already written plus the three articles. As she says, "Even if they had rated them at 5 each it would not have elevated my average enough to be promoted." So beware before you pay the money. If you have a ton of articles written, and your average is already low, those three articles are not going to raise your average. But if you have zero articles, then it could get you to elite fast if you can get 5 stars for each of them.

Moving on...

The requesters on iWriter can reject you for no good reason. I've seen all kinds of lame rejections, and you are literally rolling the dice if you don't know the requester or have never written for them before. Of course there is an approval rate under each requester, so you can see how likely they are to reject you, but there is no guarantee.

The requester can say what they want about you in the review, and they can make you look pretty bad when they are being ignorant. I've seen perfectly capable writers get blamed for plagiarism and spinning articles. Up until a few days ago writers were not allowed to critique back (this really should be in the ugly section), but now writers can at least make a statement that appears under the review of their work.

Also, you cannot write on word and paste into the provided text area on iWriter. If you do, weird characters get introduced. In addition to that, many times you will format your article inside iWriters text area, and submit it, only to find that the submitted product looks ridiculous. Somehow the formatting gets screwed up from messing around in the text area.

I personally put all of article in notepad, make paragraphs in there, and then paste it into the iWriter text area and LEAVE IT ALONE! Or, find a system that works for you and stick with it (I think different browsers have something to do with how it needs to be formatted - at least for me.)

You will get rejected if your article looks like crap, and until iWriter is kind enough to provide a functional text area and a preview button - I wouldn't risk it.

Update: August 5th

The editor seems to have changed. What used to work for me, doesn't work anymore. I can't tell you how frustrated I am that iWriter didn't communicate this new change, and it messes up my chances of getting approved for articles because they now look like crap.

Basically, when I copy from notepad into the iWriter editor, and format the text inside the editor, it looks like this now:

There is no space between each line
as if I am writing a poem.
I wish iWriter would communicate better
so this kind of stuff would not happen.

In addition, I used to hit enter twice to ensure there was an actual space in between paragraphs, but now that seems to double space the paragraphs, which adds to the ugliness of the submitted article.

Like I said, test it out and find something that works for you. I think it has to do with using different browsers, although I have no idea why that would make it different inside of the iWriter editor.

For The Requesters

If you want quality articles, then you may waste a lot of time trying to find them on iWriter. Since the pay grade can be quite low, you may find that many of your articles that you receive reflect the price you are paying. While you do have the option to reject the articles, you may waste a lot of time rejecting and, in turn, have to wait a while for a decent article.

However, if you find some good writers on iWriter, then you can save them to your 'favorite' list and use them consistently to ensure you get well-written articles quickly.

You can also always choose elite writers for your projects. As I said, the extra money is worth the headache you save, and there are a lot of good writers in the elite pool on iWriter.

When You Want To Rip Your Hair Out...
When You Want To Rip Your Hair Out...

The Ugly of iWriter

For The Writers

The requester determines what star rating to give you. There are many who will give a positive review but leave a 3 or 4 star rating. Because the star rating directly influences how much money you can make, this could affect your ability to make money if you keep running into unfair reviews.

Even though iWriter makes it hard for requesters to copy your article while approving, this doesn't mean that they can't jot down what you wrote and then reject your article. I have had an article rejected and used anywase, and since there is not much you can do about it (besides complain to iWriter and possibly get them banned) you are pretty much screwed out of your time and money at that point.

For Both Writer and Requester

Right now, iWriter is completely down. It's been down for a few days. Why? Well, if I didn't stop by the warrior forum, then I likely would not know. There is no communication between iWriter and your email regarding concerns like this; therefore, you are just left hanging.(Apparently they are changing servers.)

There have been many changes that have occurred in iWriter within the past few weeks that were not communicated to us, and to me that's just bad business. Writers and requesters are what make iWriter run, so you think that they would want to keep us in the loop and give us the respect of letting us know when they are going to change their servers with a notice in advance - or, an email.

I have heard word that there is going to be a blog, so that may improve communication a bit. Only time will tell.

Update March 1st/13 - Holy crap! I was checking my emails today and saw an email from iWriter. I thought that someone was playing a trick on me and pretending to be iWriter communicating in order to get me to click on a link or something. But no, it was actually communication from iWriter! Woo Hoo! The message was informing me about an article that I had not used yet, and letting me know that the queue is low right now and the chances of having an article written quickly are good.

Good one iWriter team. That is the kind of communication that you should be doing with both your writers and requesters. Even if it is a mass email once in a while that touches base about what is happening on iWriter, it makes us (or it made me) feel as if we are more than just money makers for you. It gives a message that we are actual clients that you give a crap about.

Update June 13th/13 - I have never received another piece of communication again. In fact, I learned new policies only after writing into the support system to find out what was happening with an article I wrote. So I still give iWriter a VERY poor rating for communication.

Update December 9th/13 - A few days ago they started a blog. Much of the blog so far is Brad talking about how he forget to communicate that new features were added, such as article re-writes.

However, one cool thing was that, apparently, requesters can now get a properly formatted kindle-ready book that you can upload into amazon. I haven't tried this, so I would be interested to see how it works. Writers cannot format with headings, and I've never been able to make a picture stick inside of the article, so I imagine it would just be chapters and text.

If you use this feature, please let us know how it turned out in the comments. Just be sure to include the words 'kindle-ready book' so that it can be easily searched for by anyone in interested in seeing it. (Otherwise, there would be a lot of comments to go through!)

The blog is geared towards requesters right now, but it is still nice to see something.

So is iWriter Worth Your Time?

For The Writers

If you have some decent writing skills and you can research, write, and review your articles in a short amount of time, then yes - iWriter can be worth your time. Especially if you get a bunch of people who specifically request you to write. Then you get some extra time to write the articles and a tiny bit higher pay.

But understand that if you write 10 articles in a day, get 3 rejected, and take 10 hours to write the articles, then you will likely only be making about $40-$60 a day for 10 hours of work (and it usually takes time.) That works out to about - $4-$6 dollars per hour. This is why it is important to write fast and find requesters that approve articles which are good.

Also, the above pay is only when you are an elite writer on iWriter. And because there are not always elite articles that you can write, you may find that you make less.

Otherwise, no...it's not worth your time if you are looking to make a full-time income. You can make some extra cash writing a few articles here and there, but if you can't research and write them quickly, then you may get more frustration and long nights than anything.

Update: Jan. 23/ 2013 - Today I noticed that I am getting paid more for elite articles. I'm not sure when this started, but I can tell you that the price difference is a few bucks, which can make a big difference. This is one of those problems with iWriter...they never sent out an email or posted anything about this change; instead, they just did it. While I'm glad that we will get paid more for writing really good articles, I wish they would start communicating with us better.

Update March. 5/2013 - Today I noticed that the prices had gone back down. Should I say how I really feel about this? Clients are too cheap to buy articles at a decent price so iWriter lowers the price. The writer earns less, the buyers pay less, and because requests have increased, iWriter earns more. No communication about this - like usual. Everyone wins but the writer.

For The Requester's

Yep. It is totally worth your time as long as you shell out a couple extra bucks and hire the best writers on iWriter (or not if you are not as concerned about quality). You are still paying less than you would anywhere else, and you get your articles fast and ready to spin.

The iWriter Affiliate Program

In case you didn't know, iWriter just developed an affiliate program. You have to be approved before you can become an affiliate.

They don't really give you much to go on besides a few stats.

Tip For Writers: Don't Cancel Your Article More Than Once

Today I had some problems with iWriter, and it was frustrating to say the least. Because there is zero communication from them to us, I had no idea about the 'rule' I broke and ended up spending an hour trying to communicate with someone from iWriter about the issue.

I decided that I would share this issue so that YOU don't have to go through this.

Cancelling Out Of Articles

I had a request today and I had cancelled the article once to look at how long the request had been there. I don't know why, I guess the question came to me afterwards, and being a little OCD I had to know the answer before I continued writing the article.

While writing the article, I had a formatting issue where the words started to become bold. I am assuming this was because I was re-writing an article for someone, and the bold formatting from the original got caught up in my editor - and became a part of my writing. There are no formatting buttons in the editor, so I don't know how to correct that issue, so I did what I normally do - I cancelled the article to go back in with a clear page to work with.


However, when I tried to go back into the article I received the message, 'Error: You have already opened that article for writing too many times. Please select a different article to write.'

After contacting the support system, with the following message:

I'm trying to write an article request, and the formatting in the article screwed up so I cancelled the article to come back in hopes that the formatting would clear up.

Now, I am getting a message that I have opened the article too many times for writing? What does that even mean? It is my article to write, so why does it matter how many times I have opened it?

Is there a way that I can get back in there now so that I can correct the formatting (since there is no way to do it while writing the article) and get on with writing?

I received a message saying:

You are allowed to start writing an article only for a limited number of times. You cannot cancel then create a new timer for the same article.


So I responded with:

The response I got was:

When you open an article to write it, you have X hours to complete it.
We had too many complaints from requesters about users that open an article, wait for the timer to end, open it again and so on, basically keeping that article busy and not allowing other writers to complete it.


The limitation to the number of "opens" was added somewhere at the end of last year. If you don't agree to this rule, I'm sorry, the rule is there to protect all our users and will not be removed.

So, I will still left wondering what to do about this. Plus I was a little ticked off that they are so keen to protect the requesters but not the writers...anywase, I asked again:

Okay thanks for clearing that up. Now I know.

However, what should we do in this situation. It was a request for me, so will it just sit there until the time runs out? If the requester re-requests it will I be able to do it?

Then, I waited for a while, contacted the requester and told them that they may need to re-request the article...even though I was not positive it would work, and then waited for a while longer to hear back from iWriter - a couple hours.

They did not respond back to me - so I had to ask again for a quick response about what I should do. It's not like I make money by the hour or anything...(I didn't put that in, even though I wanted to.)

Finally one of the helpful support people responded with:

Please inform the requester about your situation, Kari. Just so he can close the current request and open up a new one just for you to work on.

So, in conclusion, don't cancel out of your articles...

Update November 4th 2014

Yesterday, on a Monday, iWriter decided to move their website from one web-hosting site to another. There was no warning. There was no communication. It just happened, and writers were left without any ability to make money on the site for the day. This is just another unacceptable action by iWriter.

They have a Facebook page and they could have let everyone know what was happening beforehand so that we could come up with a plan of action, but instead they did nothing.

Rate YOUR Experience With iWriter

2.8 out of 5 stars from 227 ratings of iWriter

If you have experience with iWriter or concerns about iWriter please share!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Jacx 4 weeks ago

      I've been writing articles on iWriter for just less than a week. I've come across a requester who rejected my article saying the text was "not unique". I didn't copy it from anywhere else and it passed Copyscape too.

      Seeing some of these comments about requesters using articles that they have rejected makes me curious. I will keep an eye on the website that the requester needed the content for, in case the same thing happens to me.

      Also, I've seen a requester who posted a project for 300 words and then specifying in the Special Instructions that writers should write 500+ words if they want to get a 5-star rating. That's such a cheap move.

    • profile image

      jamesmash23 7 weeks ago

      I had a really bad experience on iwriter. A requester rejected my article for a false reason and used it on their website anyway, the entire article word-for-word. So, I reported the issue but all iwriter support did was to discontinue the requester's account. However, my efforts to have them remove the low rating and bad review from my profile bore no fruit. In fact, Jerther, the customer support agent that handled my case wrote, and I quote "Unfortunately, no matter the circumstances we cannot remove any ratings or reviews that are given."

      What's worse, the review I wrote for the unfair rejection never showed up as a response on my profile page. It is sad that they don't do enough to protect writers from fraudsters.

    • profile image

      Denise 7 weeks ago

      If you are a writer with decent skills, I would not waste time working for iwriter. They allow their requesters to make unfounded accusations about plagiarism publicly. They allow their requesters to rate your work with absolutely no rating rubric whatsoever. It's arbitrary according to their mood or according to how well they wanted you to read their mind with very little instruction. If you give iwriter a whirl, two pieces of advice, do not pick up a request for an English piece from anyone who seems to use English poorly. For instance, my third requester wanted me to write a piece about, and I quote, "HOW SOMEONE CAN MEDITATE" (their caps not mine) and then rejected a 150-word short snippet on the subject (150 words? really? to teach meditation?) for and I quote "good trial, you never captured the areas" I should have known it was a disaster in the making when it was requested with the only instructions of "HOW SOMEONE CAN MEDITATE" in 150-words. 2nd, make sure your requester gives actual instructions. Keyword usage is not enough. I had an article rejected for not using keywords but the requester did not read the article. Iwriter's software did not pick it up, and it was word for word five times in the article. Steer clear of scenarios like this and you might do better. One star for iwriter. I give them their one lonely star because they built it and people came.

    • profile image

      Felix 3 months ago

      I am a Journalism graduate writing for myself on the side. I obviously got some kid in Kenya, who they said was "elite". I've never seen such atrocious grammar, word repetition, nonsense sentences etc. It is absolutely apalling and they call him an "elite" writer. I'm in the middle of a dispute with them right now. Stay away from these people if you aren't willing to pay their VERY high prices for "elite plus" writers.

    • profile image

      Jeron 3 months ago

      iWriter used to be a great writing platform. Unfortunately, rogue requesters have taken over. A requester declined my article claiming it was "nonunique". Two weeks later, I found the article posted online. I reported to iWriter, and they did nothing about it. So I hacked the website and took it down. iWriter have very dismal regard for writers. Period!

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 4 months ago from Brazil

      Thank you for your review of iWriter. I was going to start writing with them, but now, I don't think I want the hassle. Thanks for the heads up.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 4 months ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Ankit - I was told that all those projects you see when you are a level down are actually there but they include private requests, which means they don't show up in the pool for just any writer. So, that's what's happening. I'm assuming they do that to trick people into thinking there are more available requests then there are since they use the word 'available' to describe the requests. It's unfair and dishonest for sure.

    • profile image

      Ankit 4 months ago

      Hi,

      I recently got promoted to Elite Writer; but once I clicked on 'write content' section, all the 100's of elite projects disappeared, and there were just a few left, like 2 or 3 or maximum 5. When I asked my fellow writer, who is a premium writer, to look at his 'writer content' section, he told me that he can see 100's of elite request. But as an elite writer, they are not showing me those elite request, instead they are giving me 2-5 elite project request. Is it a scam or do I have to wait for a few days or hours? Please help me here. I am losing motivation to write on this site.

    • profile image

      Mike 5 months ago

      Cancelled an order, got the error that i cannot pick it up again. Frustrated, no one is answering my messages. Had the completed wrk seating around. Meen. The struggle is real.

    • profile image

      Jacky 6 months ago

      I was a writer before and truth be told iwriter is a place to be.

      Aint sure whether other writers experienced. whenever i had a problem with my account and needed immediate attention, the iwriter support team were never available. They will never get back to you or reply your mails. I woke up one morning tried to log into my account but i couldn't. I sent countless emails to the support team but got no response.

    • profile image

      Sarah 6 months ago

      There are many scam requesters on iwriter who reject articles without good reason. A request could also decide to mess with your ratings for no good reason. I recently got reported as submiting copyscape articles for an article i spent 5 hrs researching and writing myself.

    • profile image

      shawn dwayne 7 months ago

      First, I’d like to point out that Iwriter is a legit company, at least from my experience. I am an elite writer and make over $300 weekly. I don’t know Brad Callen or any Iwriter employee, yet I make good cash. I think it’s all about doing quality work and being a professional. Like, for instance, what do you think the people who appear on the highest and most prolific writers’ lists earn? They probably make lots of money. The secret is simply, strive to get to the top and you will definitely have good cash. We are ethical writers on Iwriter, and I have met ethical requesters as well. I must point out, though; we have some disgruntled requesters who will reject your work outright without any sensible reason. But there are ways to identify and avoid such requesters!

    • profile image

      Preciate Rivers 8 months ago

      Hi Kari,

      Having read your article, now I fully understand the reviews on webs like sitejabber. What is beyond my scope is that even 4 years after your initial write-up, users are still experiencing the same problems!

      Quick question, as a writer, I can only rate requesters a solid 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 stars. How are requesters able to rate writers 4,5?

    • profile image

      John 9 months ago

      The quality of writers has gone way down, if your looking for an english article you will get an article in broken english and poor grammer I used to get 3 articles a week now I rarely go there.

    • profile image

      MaMiZa 10 months ago

      I didn't read all comments thru, but I get the idea of what is going on with iWriter. I would like to share with you my experience. Since English is my second language, I was looking for a site where I can develop my skills and practice writing, spelling, grammar, etc. (even thou I am a very good writer in my language), so it seemed logical to me to start on iWriter. And it was a very good school for me on account of experience and what to expect. Let me start from the end. Last thing with iWriter is that I've made about 115$ in less than a week writing only in first star rank, taking only articles that were paid 13 bucks. They were all approved, with good review but ranked not higher than 3 stars. I got fed up with that, since I realized that it is very hard and it would take too long to upgrade, so I didn't write anything for a year. Finally, I remembered that I made some money on iWriter and went back to collect it, but for the past few week I've been truing to get them to transfer certain amount from my credit to my pay pal. Even thou everything is set as it should be, that is not happening. For that reason, I've been searching on iWriter and found out that they have tendency not to pay, but you stated that they do. What do you thing, what is going on? Second, I believe that there are people on iWriter who have more than one account, playing roles of employers and writers, giving themselves assignments (special writer requests) and ranking themselves with five stars, raising up their expert level. By coincidence I took a request that was "special" and received very angry, treating msg from the requester to leave that job or I will be banded, ranked with one star and so one. I apologized, because I really overlooked that it was special request, but it left me wondering. So I started to follow some of these accounts and I saw pattern. I even took on purpose few of assignments, just to see the reaction, and every time it was unnecessary very aggressive, just to emotional for simple article request (agenda was clear). That disappointed me, since I was writing and following the rules "by the book", but still getting great reviews, and only 3 star average for 30+ articles. One more issue, that was very annoying is the automatic program that checks copyscape. Every time when I used some common phrase (can't remember exactly what, but something ridicules like "green dollar bill") I was warned about copyscape and charged with a 0.05 fee. I also paid for a requested keyword as copyscape. They charged me even when I wrote a name of someone famous. Honest to God. Completely idiotic program. And I agree with you that it is too cheap and unfair platform for writers. For now, all I want from them is to pay me what I've earned, and erase them from my memory.

      All the Best, MaMiZa

    • profile image

      Ashwin 10 months ago

      I have just started out with iwriter and so far my experience has been good, even if I have written just once. Most of the comments on here dampen your spirits but I guess i can understand given their experience. Are there better platforms for writers?

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 12 months ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Linwright - What do you mean 'you'll get another blog'? Do you mean you will get another article at no charge?

    • profile image

      Linwright 12 months ago

      NEVER, EVER USE iWRITER - Seriously. Here's the deal, if you are going to use iWriter, check the blogs through Google (not Copyscape) every single time. I woudl say a good 50% of every article that I buy from iWriter is duplicate content...this is no joke, 50% OF EVERY ARTICLE I BUY FROM iWRITER IS DUPLICATE CONTENT.

      As long as you're aware of this, and you check all article before posting to your website, you should be fine. Simply open a new ticket with them, let them know you want a refund and a new blog, and you'll get another blog at no charge.

    • profile image

      Fatima 12 months ago

      I had 18 dollars in my account and an article pending review and they banned me out

      They won't even let me transfer my money, they just stole it !

      These people rob millions in this manner and then ban writers

    • Sunkist123 profile image

      Sunkist123 13 months ago

      @Arun: Now that you mentioned this, there's also their so-called "Fast-Track" option- they actually CHARGE writers to access higher-paying jobs... an 'application fee' of $147 !!!!

      I'd never heard about them banning people, but somebody's certainly making a lot of money, and it isn't writers !!!

      I was with them for a few weeks, and the only reason I even reached the minimum for payout at all was one client liked my work so much that she gave me "tips" and a "special request" (direct order).

    • profile image

      Arunodaya Singh 13 months ago

      They earn via fraud so my advice is that you stay away from it. Even decent writers getting banned because they calculate your ratings based on rejected articles. so its obvious that the people who have rejected your articles is gonna rate you with 1 star or so. hardly seems fair to me. And what iwriter does is, it takes your account balance and just ban your account. Even if they are banning 100 writers everyday, i think they are doing good. New writers usually earn $10 in 3 days and after that they just get banned. you wont even get an explanation or even be able to see who banned you. The customer service is really bad as you wont even get a reply.

    • profile image

      Arun 13 months ago

      Its actually a fraud company. Dont go for it because they just make money like this: banning others accounts and taking away their cash. Now just imagine if they ban 1000 accounts everyday then how much can they make?

    • Sunkist123 profile image

      Sunkist123 13 months ago

      I was looking for a site to make a few extra $s and found iWriter. I've been freelancing for nearly 10 years, and never had any of my work flat-out rejected before iWriter. Of the 7 articles I wrote, 3 were rejected with comments like "not what I want" and "not what I'm looking for." I Googled and found 2 forums & a writer's blog with MANY complaints about the company- including numerous comments that the clients reject material and then go ahead and use it without paying for it. I don't think that many people could be mistaken or lying.

    • profile image

      SallyR 13 months ago

      I just joined iWriter today. I believe just like any other site, there are real people (with real ethics) and real writers. So the idea is still great.

      But OMG how hard is it to find information on just the website? I mean things like: how do I cancel a request? how do I search for a specific writer? How do I send a special request to someone?

      The FAQ is like, so uninformative. So that's my problem with them. But in saying that, I am still hoping the end result (article) is worth it in the end.

    • profile image

      Lol iWriter 14 months ago

      I don't understand why people are surprised at how finicky the clients are and how lazy the writers are.

      The pay offered there is horrendous. It's abysmal.

    • profile image

      Bob 15 months ago

      Regarding your Notepad to iWriter posting problem, have you tried avoiding the truncated text by clicking on the Format dropdown menu and unchecking Word Wrap before pasting? I think that would do it.

    • profile image

      privi 15 months ago

      Hi Pro, what you say is right. As my elite status account was blocked by iwriter, I opened a new account. There are only one or two articles available for standard writers, but I can see that there are hundreds of articles for premium and elite writers.

    • profile image

      Pro 15 months ago

      The Fast Track program is the boldest scam I've ever willingly been suckered by. Out of morbid curiosity, I just decided to throw $147 into the fire so you all didn't have to.

      Now as they promised, after pledging my money, I was provided three "trial" articles to write. I wrote those articles. So far, so good.

      My articles apparently got an average of 4.5 each, (just 0.1 short of Elite status at 4.6), but I was promoted from Standard to Premium. No feedback was given on any of them, so there's no way to tell if anyone read them or not.

      Now, here's where things got interesting.

      Iwriter determines your rating based on an average from the quanity of jobs you knock out. I had only ever written 10 articles for Iwriter, (plus the 3 for their Fast Track program). For some bizarre reason, after doing the Fast Track program, my rating was now calculated out of FORTY assignments instead of the 10 I'd actually done.

      I assumed this must just be a temporary glitch, but after completing another assignment, the number went up to 41. For reasons yet unexplained, Iwriter added a total 30 nonexistent articles to my work history.

      Now here's where things transcend interesting and just get disturbing.

      Many others have mentioned how they were uncertain about the availability of articles on Iwriter. A common trend is that writers almost always seem to find articles at their level scarce (4 or 5 on a good day), whereas the higher levels appear to have hundreds available at a time.

      When I was Standard, I had always seen that there were several hundred articles available at Premium level. I assumed this just must be because, naturally, more people are willing to be pay for better quality.

      Now, with my newly-appointed Premium ranking, I go to survey the available Premium jobs.

      Three.

      There were three available.

      24 hours ago, there had been 150. Now there were three.

      Not content to jump to conclusions, I decided to do a little experiment. I relocated to another IP address, made a separate account, and then looked at the job listings again with the new account's Standard rating.

      Premium job listing?

      150+ available Premium jobs visible to the Standard writer (who they eagerly proposition the $147!Fast Track program to), but only 3 available Premium jobs available in reality to the actual Premium writer.

      Hmmmm.

      The next thing I realized was that an extremely high amount of the jobs available on all of the listings appeared to have been submitted at random dates; some of which as far as 2 weeks into the past. An article submitted on 5/24/16, directly above one submitted 6/02/16.

      This bizarre inconsistency was consistent at the higher levels (Elite and Elite+) as well, which gave very ominous implications. At Premium level (with 150 jobs available to a writer who isn't Premium, but only 3 available to one who actually is), I could see that both Elite and Elite+ apparently have over one hundred available.

      So, what's to make of this? Well, at a 4.5 rating with 41 articles (only 11 in reality plus Iwriter's ghost articles), it would take me approximately 20 more consecutive 5-star ratings to actually see Elite level, and an awe-inspiring 60 5-star ratings in a row to get an inside look into Elite+.

      Frankly, if I truly possessed the time, energy, talent and luck to achieve such a momentous feat for the sake of discovery, then my time would have been better spent making my own website to approach real clients and write 70,000 moneymaking words for them instead.

      And even if I were to fall short of reaching the ratings necessary just to SEE if there were any real jobs available, Iwriter would still get a cut from my prostitution.

      I decided that this little recon mission had come to a close. To any brave soul of well-enough means and dead-enough spirit to pick up where I left off, vaya con dios.

    • profile image

      Say Yes To Life 16 months ago

      The number of types of articles fluctuate from one day to another. If there are only a few standard articles today, there will most likely be more tomorrow. I recommend working your way up that way, rather than buying in.

    • Mihnea Manduteanu profile image

      Mihnea Manduteanu 16 months ago

      Hello.

      Firstly, thank you for this article. I've been thinking about joining iWriter for quite a while. Since I am not am American, my online freelance writing options are limited and this one seems very good. Looking over their site though I see that standard articles are beginning to be very limited. Today for example there is only one, just one request. So for me it's either the fast track or nothing at all. I haven't seen a lot of comments about Fast track...did anyone actually use it? Is it worth it? I mean there are a lot more Elite requests than Standard ones and I know my level is good enough...I've been writing on my own review site for years now and I have become a known figure in my field (I am a member of the International Film Music Critic Association) and I know my writing is good. The point is...Before taking this 147$ leap of faith (and it is a steep one) I'd like to hear someone actually tell me that they used the fast track and it's worth it, somehow...

      Thank you.

    • profile image

      privi 16 months ago

      I have been writing for iwriter for the past four years. I am an elite writer and a favorite writer of many requesters. But, recently my account has been blocked because one requester has reported me for plagiarism. They just blocked me and did not give me a chance to explain. Moreover, my one month's earnings has also been blocked. The money I have earned is for the articles that have been approved. So, how is it be fair to take my hard earned money!

    • profile image

      Yaz 16 months ago

      Nowadays all the standard articles are mostly fake Amazon reviews (which you must post under your own Amazon account) or they are flagged for the requester's "favorite writer". Which is ridiculous. I have only been able to write a few articles because of this, so the chances of making it to premium look slim.

      I think I'd rather spend my time writing my own Kindle eBooks or website and trying to generate money that way.

    • profile image

      Ian 17 months ago

      Hey, what is happening with iwriter text editor. I have had two articles rejected because the essay looks completely different from what i wrote. Is anybody else experiencing this and how can i go around it?

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 17 months ago from Alberta, Canada

      @stacie writes - Yeah, I hear you. It doesn't matter how good of a writer you are, you can be rejected for ridiculous reasons on iWriter. You have to find a few good clients, and that can be hard to do.

    • Stacie Writes profile image

      Stacie Writes 17 months ago

      Couldn't walk by, without throwing my 2 cents. My experience with iwriter isn't rich. I started writing last month.

      What can I say, I have written 8 articles, 5 of which were rejected. Aside that their payment is low, they do not even give you any guarantee. The buyer can just reject your article, without leaving a comment with proper explanation of the reason, or write something like "it's not what I expected". Well, shouldn't you write exactly what you expected? Sorry for my ranting, but I am quite frustrated. If they would have at least a modification button, it would have been different. At this point, writing for iwriter is like playing Guess it? game.

      The only positive thing about iwriter is that they pay instantly and you can choose any topic you want.

    • profile image

      iwriterguy 18 months ago

      i know it s an old post but I'm with ya 100% These guys need to refund me a bunch of money. Many people the articles written are safe because they use copyscape but if you simple copy an random sentence and paste it into google with quotations...99% of the time you will get a hit of a copied article. try it out yourself "your random sentence, etc" and paste into google. make sure you include the quotation marks. https://www.facebook.com/IWriter-is-Horrible-Stay-...

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 20 months ago from Alberta, Canada

      @marion - Yeah, the iWriter editor is different for every browser. When I format the article properly in one browser, all the paragraphs disappear, and in another browser with the same formatting, all the paragraphs double space. Now, I format the article in the editor before submitting according to the browser I know. It's a bit ridiculous.

      And, yes, if it passed Copyscape, then it is not copied and pasted. That's ridiculous. People are ridiculous!

    • profile image

      Marion 20 months ago

      Just had my first article from iWriter rejected due to formatting! They said there was double spacing all through the article was a red flag that I had copied and pasted. Well they were right, I had, but only within the article as I moved things around as most writers do. How is this considered an acceptable reason for rejection when copyscape can detect any plagiarism? Think I will give iWriter a big miss and focus my efforts on sites with integrity in future.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @dina - Yeah, there is not a lot out there. Iwriter kind of has the market.

    • profile image

      dinaleaves 2 years ago

      hi, I just took my time reading this article review all the way back from 2 years ago and to say the least, I think I will stay away from this site (iwriter ). I have applied for the account but am yet to waste my efforts writing a single article for them. I sure could do with recommendations for other writing sites. I tried applying for accounts on sites like writer bay, essay shark etc but too many rejections to count.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Patrick - 3 stars is a low rating, so that may be why it got banned completely. From what I've heard from others, you can't get your money back. And you can't get your account back.

    • profile image

      patrick 2 years ago

      Well well well.. at last an not alone thank you guys for sharing. I joined iWriter a few weeks ago and currently have had no article rejected. Just when i thought my dream was coming true i got banned due to low rating. All of my articles have been rated 3 star and others auto approved. Today was another day that i thought i was really going to achieve my weekly goal only to find my account blocked with three articles pending approval. Surely what does this mean? can i get my $10+ i worked for last week. Is there another way to get your account back? i will be happy to learn

    • profile image

      New Writer 2 years ago

      Well, I signed up and began writing. I am not the best writer but I am a good writer so I thought I could use my skills and get better as I go. Well, I wrote three articles - all of which were accepted - then today I log on to write another article and my account is locked out stating that my rating is too low. How can they lock me out for my rating after only three articles all of which were accepted? I feel they just want to get articles and then lock you out so you do not have to get paid for the hard work that you have done. BE CAREFUL WITH THIS SITE!!!!

    • profile image

      Bambi Majumdar 2 years ago

      They are extremely unethical!!! They will use stolen content without any guilt whatsoever. They will take articles from anyone without verifying copyright issues or sources. When confronted with stolen content issues, they are super casual with answers like sorry we can't help. It shows despite being in the content industry, they have no respect for writers. One should be very very careful before putting in all the hard work.

    • profile image

      Bonface 2 years ago

      I have been working for iwriter for the last two years. At first things worked very well, it was very difficult to find a client rejecting your work rather they asked for rewrite. Today the requester are cancelling the job with very shoddy reasons.

      The iwriter support are very biased to the requester. They does not listen to the complain of the writer.

      Nowadays they are failing to pay for new accounts. When you contact them why they have not send your payment, they block your account without your knowledge and the only message they send to you is that "your account has been closed".

      I don't recommend any one willing to start freelancing to work here if you don't want frustrations. You will work then refuse to pay you. I have been training writers for the past one year but they discourage me for lack of payment. My student write articles of very high standard and most of them land to elite and elite plus but they refuse to end payment. It has forced me with my whole group to find work somewhere else. Please don't expect to make your end meets with iwriter. Look for somewhere else, there are many websites that are paying triple compared to what iwriter pays.

    • The Wary Traveler profile image

      Thomas Waldron 2 years ago from Chesapeake VA

      @Relationshipc To be honest it's not even the rejections that upset me. If they don't like it then they don't like it. But to ban my account because my ranks didn't go up in two days writing only three articles? That's ridiculous. Three articles is not enough content to gauge someones ability as a ghost writer period.

      That's just poor management, and how much do you want to bet that I will never see that money that I did make for selling that article? Oh the wonders of internet scams.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @The Wary - Your story is a great example of what is wrong with iWriter. Obviously you can write. The first rejection was for a bogus reason, but they got away with rejecting it even though it wasn't really a rejection. And, to be honest, the the third article was probably rejected because the person couldn't speak English and thought your grammar was bad (I see that rejection a lot!)

      In short, they are basing writer's ratings off requesters opinions. Not fair.

    • The Wary Traveler profile image

      Thomas Waldron 2 years ago from Chesapeake VA

      So, even with all the forewarnings I decided to give IWriter a shot. And here are my results.

      I submitted 3 articles in total. The first article was for a mobile carrier post, to which their little make sure I'm not posting someone else's work doodad took two parts from two different sentences and basically charged me 5 cents for using words and phrases that are commion in mobile carrier descriptions. One was "Unlimited domestic calls and text", this post was rejected , the reason the job gave was "They already had the job done.". Fine, no biggie.

      My second article was a piece of fiction for a blog site, they accepted. 4.05 prize. Not bad, made me feel good. I'm assuming the third article was rejected however. Why? Because now I am banned from logging into my account due to "low quality rating" . Mind you, I've only had the account two days or so and have only submitted three articles in total.

      End result: Terrible system, poor communication, and ever poorer management.

    • profile image

      Wary Traveler 2 years ago

      Ugh, all of this. It scares me so!

      I'm not going to lie, I've wanted to write for a living for a long time. When I first started reading IWriter seemed like my golden answer!

      Sure, it doesn't pay highly, but if you're an unknown content writer with no background in the industry that's likely how you're going to start anyway. And even if you're only making thirty bucks a day it's enough to get by, at least at the "Starving Artist" level.

      But as I look at the content requested. A bunch are about garage repair companies in random states. How am I supposed to review a garage door repair company in Denver Colorado honestly While living in Chesapeake Virginia? And their special instructions can be very vague, asking for things like the "freshest and newest information on biological studies.". I know most of this is jitters, but all of this alone makes it difficult to dip your toes in the pond to begin with.

    • profile image

      ZamZam 2 years ago

      Thank you very much for sharing this with us. I have had to work with iwriter for quite some time. Requesters have more protection than writers making some of them take advantage of that. Lets face the facts.

      The lowest withdrawal amount is $ 20, for your safety when you get to that amount withdraw it, make your withdrawals in a weeks time.

      The longer you wait the risk of losing your hard earned cash.

      I have had two accounts banned for no good reason luckily this happened after i had got my cash on Tuesday and Wednesday my account was banned.

      Iwriter is like a gambling club you never know.

      Searching for better sites now.

    • profile image

      Sid 2 years ago

      I am an Elite Level writer and have found it tough finding good projects to write this week. I only write for requester who have an approval rate of above 90% and star rating of above 4.9. I wonder where have all the good requester suddenly disappeared.

    • profile image

      Hayley 2 years ago

      Ok thanks, I was reluctant to contact them in case it was required. They said you only need to provide it if you're making over $500 a year.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Haylet - Contact their support and ask them. It's been so long that I don't remember if I had to add that!

    • profile image

      Hayley 2 years ago

      If anyone could help me with this I would appreciate it:

      I just signed up for iWriter, and I'm about to get started. However, when I went to add my PayPal, I saw there was a field for Social Security number. I don't want to have to give out my SSN. If I leave it blank, will I still be able to get paid? I don't want to earn a lot of money and then find out I can't obtain any of it.

    • vhayward profile image

      Valerie Hayward 2 years ago from Michigan

      I agree with relationshipc, be sure to take your time choosing the right articles for you. A short low paying job with a good requester can be worth more than a high paying article with a requester who has less than a 50% approval rating.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Japneet - If this is the second time it has happened to you, it is probably because of your writing.

      Also, don't pick requesters that reject a lot of people. Only write for requesters who have a high approval rate. In the standard category, a lot of the requesters are there to get WAY more than their money's worth, and because of how iWriter is set up, they can easily reject you, give you low ratings, and hurt your chance at making money.

    • profile image

      Japneet Kaur 2 years ago

      Hello all,

      Greetings!!

      I wrote 10 articles in all. Out of which i got 3 ratings after 4 reviews. 2 were rejected, and rest 4 pending approval. But before I could get reviews for nest 4 iwriter blocked my account for low ratings. As per FAQ its stands eligible for getting blocked only after 10 reviews. This is the second time its happening to me.

      Please help in getting through this. What tricks should I play to avoid encountering such issues. I would be really grateful.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @vhayward - Sounds familiar to me. I have found, too, that I'm often unable to leave a review of a rejection. So, the low rating and the review just sit there without me being able to define myself. I don't find that fair either.

    • vhayward profile image

      Valerie Hayward 2 years ago from Michigan

      Today I had my first truly bad experience with iwriter. I wrote an article (I'm was an elite plus writer) that was rejected. Fine, not everyone has to like my writing and that is the way the site is set up so it's not a surprise that they can reject willy-nilly. Here's my problem though, after rejecting my article the requester gave me a 1.5 star review saying it was repetitive. Of course it was , he wanted an extremely high keyword count in a short 150 word article, not to mention his keyword was actually a 3 word phrase.

      Like I said, it's fine that he rejected it and even that he gave me a low rating (unfairly in my opinion). Here's my issue though, I cannot rate him back since he didn't approve my article? That seems like a huge draw back to me. Further more it dropped me down from elite plus to just elite since I am fairly new to the site still and have not written a huge number of articles. It just seems as if this site is unfairly tailored to the requester. I've e-mailed asking for a review of my article and am waiting to see if anything happens from there as I've heard of other people who've written a complaint about an unfair rating and had it fixed.

      I am wondering if anyone else has run into this problem on this site?

    • vhayward profile image

      Valerie Hayward 2 years ago from Michigan

      Iwriter automatically runs each article through cooyscape so I wouldn't bother running it again.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @BloggerMe I'm assuming by quick and easy you mean free? PaperRater is one place you can check for plagiarism. And if you want to pay - Copyscape

    • profile image

      BloggerMe 2 years ago

      Hi there, I am doing some research for a website on making money from home, and came across iWriter. I was wondering if you know a quick and easy way to check that content has not already been published elsewhere, thus making it possible to check an article is authentic?

    • profile image

      Anon I Mous 2 years ago

      One iWriter requester, a certain Courtney something, was so rude to me in her message, I decided I would have nothing more to do with either her or the site. IMHO, iWriter isn't worth the effort if you are any good.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @vhay - You are so right. The word count is always off by a lot from word to iWriter text. I've always wondered about that, but totally forgot to include it.

      I am in total agreement with you. The site allows you to make some quick money (depending on who you write for), but you can easily get screwed. I get more people on my Facebook page telling me they were banned as they waited for articles to be approved, and then they lost all of their money in the process.

      In fact, I've even seen good writers get banned because of a crappy requester who chooses to give them low ratings for the $2 article they requested. It's not fair.

    • vhayward profile image

      Valerie Hayward 2 years ago from Michigan

      I have been writing on iwriter for almost a month now and this review has absolutely nailed it. I also have noticed that my word count from word to the website always changes. For instance, on word my article was 2054 words. When I copied it over to iwriter it went down to 1943! That's over a hundred words lost and it doesn't even allow me to submit it because it is now less than 2000. When I asked about this they said they don't count numbers in word count (even spelled out like "nine") but even then my article should have only dropped 10 words.

      I also don't like that requesters can rate you with half stars but you must give them whole star ratings. Also, I had an experience with an unjust rating (nothing was wrong with the article, it met all of his requirements and he rated me low because it just because...well no reason actually. Just wasn't for him.) When I went to rate him back I found that I couldn't go lower than 2 stars.

      Ultimately, the site is great if you want to make some quick money and is a great tool for beginners who want to make money right away. However, the site is unfairly tailored to the requester with little to no protection for writers.

    • nmcguire7 profile image

      Nicholl McGuire 2 years ago from Los Angeles County

      I appreciate this Hub so much. Thank you for your hard work.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      You can also read a 31-page eBook on how to be successful on iWriter here: http://behappytips.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/... I used to charge for it, but now it is free to anyone who wants to read it.

    • profile image

      Cecelia Harris 2 years ago

      The bad and the ugly have really scared me! Thanks for the post, it was informative. You could as well read here how you can become successful on Iwriter.

      http://www.freelancinginkenya.com/2015/01/how-to-b...

      Thank you

    • Thelma Alberts profile image

      Thelma Alberts 2 years ago from Germany

      Thanks for this useful and very informative hub. I really learned a lot from reading this.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Bobby - I hear that a lot from people - about not being paid. I don't think that's right, considering you earned the money, but it seems to be the norm for iWriter. What tax form are you talking about?

    • profile image

      bobby_hopkins53 2 years ago

      I was recently banned from iwriter due to the fact that when I moved from one location to another I never received some tax form and now I am unable to work and also they did not even pay me my last amount of money from my earnings.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Karen - Thanks for commenting. What sites are you on?

    • Karen Hellier profile image

      Karen Hellier 2 years ago from Georgia

      I had never heard of this site before today and found a post about it on Bubblews. Because I like to read reviews before I start writing on a new site, I googled Iwriter and found your hub about it. This was great and very helpful. I think I will stay on the sites I am on now after reading this. thanks for the very helpful info.

    • profile image

      Sarah 2 years ago

      @Relationshipc

      You weren't kidding about their awful communication. I saw that and it gave me a panic attack. Thank you for telling me. :) I'm definitely coming to this website more often now for updates. I can't trust them for updates.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Sarah - According to the Facebook group for writers, https://www.facebook.com/iwriterwriters - this is just part of the new process. I can tell you are a good writer, so I don't understand why they would review your articles, but it does seem to be part of their process now.

    • profile image

      Sarah 2 years ago

      I just got to 10 articles on iWriter, but when I checked the status of them it said it was under review by admin. Does anybody have any idea why they would review it? I know I didn't plagarize or anything and I have high ratings thus far.

    • JessyFreeland profile image

      Jessica Freeland 2 years ago from Florida

      I started writing for iWriter as well and while I do find some really fun articles, the timer does unnerve me, especially when clients aren't being specific in their directions. I'm finding Textbroker to be a lot better in this manner, especially since writers can rate a client's instructions. Plus, you get more money depending on the rating you start at.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @BeamMeUp - I would definitely do that. I think about that point Joe made often as I write for people. I haven't looked it up to see if anything has changed - mostly because I'm not requesting articles - but not much changes on iWriter from my experience.

      You can read selfefficacypubs comment above as well.

    • profile image

      BeamMeUp 2 years ago

      Kari, thanks for the article, and sorry for the frustration. I was looking for information on rejecting articles as I do not want to be one of "those" requester types screwing up someones day. New to the iWriter site, I just want to find a quality writer. May need to ask iWriter about Joe's point above. May need to check out Odesk.

      Scott

    • profile image

      akphilly 2 years ago

      The issue I have about iWriter is that the clients are just too damn vague. I mean really, someone asks you to write a 500 word article about something & their only instructions are basically the topic, & what 'tone' they want it in. How the hell is someone supposed to know what to write about? Like for example, 'write a 500 word article about a fragrance label, use friendly tone'. Um....ok, what the hell? Or how about 'Coffee house experience, friendly tone'. Again, what is that supposed to mean, do they mean your experience working at one, owning one, going to one? They're all so damn vague, & the only ones that give you at least a little something more to go on other than a vague topic are the 'Elite Plus' ones, where you either have to have a whole lot of articles already approved to get to that level, or for the bargain price of only $147 you can get there just by submitting 3 articles for the staff to review & bypass the other levels. Give me a break!

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 2 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Joe - Thanks for pointing that out. We've talked about that here before, but it doesn't seem to stop many people from buying content.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      splendgtlsolns: A 4-star makes your rating worse, not better. A 5 star would make your rating better. With a 4-star rating, it would move your average down lower and that is likely what happened.

    • splendgtlsolns profile image

      Rajeev Bagra 3 years ago from Kolkata

      My experience is this:

      Received an email dated October 13, 2014 with subject line: Your article was approved! You earned $1.02.

      You were rated a 4 stars by misterigl and you earned

      $1.02.

      Please review the requester by visiting here:

      http://www.iwriter.com/view_articles.php?show=my_a...

      Write more articles by visiting here:

      http://www.iwriter.com/view_listings.php?write

      Thanks for being an iWriter!

      The iWriter Team.

      When I tried to login, I could not and the message read: Your account is currently banned because of poor rating.

      I sent the email as my point is my rating only improved after the above article got approved, and if they wanted to ban my account, why they did not do earlier before consuming my approved article for free.

      Here is the response I received on October 14:

      Amanda Campbell

      I'm sorry, Rajeev; You are required to maintain a rating of 3.4 stars or higher at all times. The account has been closed permanently as your overall rating is 2.6.

      Additionally, the amount you have in your balance is too small for a manual payment. Also, due to the nature of this ban, the funds cannot be moved to a different account.

      I'm very sorry.

    • profile image

      Romio 3 years ago

      Great website, But I am using fullwriter which is better

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      I've found that using different browsers results in different outcomes. For example, in firefox I can just write normally and have my formatting turn out properly, but in Chrome, I have to hit enter three times after each paragraph to make the formatting work (otherwise my paragraphs are all together.)

      I say, when in doubt, double space between paragraphs, check out what the pending article looks like, and use that information to tweak the way you format it next time.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      Thanks Kristina.

    • profile image

      cmone 3 years ago

      I am just wondering whether the formatting for iwriter articles changed...I realized i may space articles but on submission my work looks skewed. any help?

    • Kristina Pitts profile image

      Kristina Pitts 3 years ago from Greenville, SC, USA

      Great article.

    • Iris Draak profile image

      Cristen Iris 3 years ago from Boise, Idaho

      Very useful article and comments; thank you all.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @self: I couldn't respond earlier because I was on vacation, but I found your article very interesting. I highly recommend everyone read it who writes for, or buys from, iWriter!

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @edward - As far as I know, a writer cannot be paid after being banned. IWriter has the right to do that.

    • profile image

      edward 3 years ago

      thanks for the helpful info. do you have any knowledge on what whether a writer can get paid after an account is banned if he had attained the minimum payable amount?

    • profile image

      alex 3 years ago

      I completely understand your anger. I am an Iwriter, but very dissatisfied because I am now required to reach 4.1 stars instead of 4.0 to be an elite writer. The site owners have deliberately interfered with the ranking system to make life difficult for me. No explanations have been given by the support team for this action, even after numerous protests. They even had the audacity to tell me to try the fast track program. I mean, why the hell should i pay 147$ if they had found me incapable of moving forward to higher ranks.

    • profile image

      selfefficacypub 3 years ago

      I commented earlier about not having rights to the content you buy from iWriter.

      To be fair, you do get a license to use the content, but it is non-transferable.

      Kinda makes it difficult to flip (sell) a website with their content on it.

      Anyway, I have been struggling to get rights to the book I was having written by an excellent writer I was using there.

      No luck...

      They just won't do it.

      Expensive lesson for me. I did a little research and found that most of the writing services I looked at DO transfer all rights to you.

      I wrote some of that up here: http://finelinereview.com/iwriter-review-do-they-k...

      But it goes to a blog, so please edit this comment if I'm out of line.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @peejay: Yes, yes, and yes.

    • peejay1980 profile image

      Paul Jellicoe 3 years ago from Neston, UK

      I agree, iWriter is a genius of an idea, but unfortunately the bad eggs ruin it, but that's the world of writing I suppose. I think there should be some kind of review team that look over the article before submission, I've heard many horror stories of articles being rejected and then being used anyway. I had an article myself rejected for no good reason, they also need to ask buyers to submit more information.

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      Your welcome peeples.

    • peeples profile image

      Peeples 3 years ago from South Carolina

      I appreciate the time you took to update this article multiple times. I have been writing on a personal blog and for HP for several years now. I am just venturing out to other things. I went to Google and typed in "iWriter review". Your article here was the very first Google result! I clicked on it without even noticing it was an HP article. Weirdly I trust it more coming from someone who has been here at HP for years! Thanks for providing us all with the positives and negatives before we invest too much time!

    • profile image

      Kat 3 years ago

      Thanks a million, Relationshipc!

    • Relationshipc profile image
      Author

      Kari 3 years ago from Alberta, Canada

      @Kat - Check out http://www.writersmarket.com/ for tips and much more. If you have a library nearby, check it out to see if they carry the book 'Writer's Digest University - and if it hasn't already been used, there is a code in there for a free year subscription to the site. Otherwise, the subscription is not that much if it is something you are really interested in.